Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
 Description
 See on map

Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort

 

2.872.872.872.872.87 (2.87)
Based on 243 reviews

Overall Impression: #48 of 57 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #45 of 57 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #50 of 57 hotels.
Beaches: #47 of 57 hotels.
Families: #42 of 57 hotels.
Couples: #32 of 57 hotels.
Singles: #17 of 57 hotels.
Seniors: #48 of 57 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (43)

Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort

Travellers Reviews

All
9
63
86
58
27


pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

 Solo trip

I stayed at the Playa Caleta last year and had no problems. This year I stayed at Puntarena I had a horrible room location, very noisy, many things going on in the hotel. I asked for a new room 3 times and got the run around. I was traveling alone and was willing to stay in the other building but got no where and had to suffer through it. I would recommend they up the min check in age to at least 21 to avoid having a bunch of immature kids running around.
They should also have bracelets in a different color for underage kids so I would not have to run into to drunk kids under 18.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
I don't mind the location I like that it's close to the airport. Friendly staff some remembered me from coming last year which was memorable to me. Beach is lovely, food was not too bad I could always find something, fresh bread daily was awesome.

The weak points
Last year this hotel was closed for renovations, I am not sure what they did as the room I got was not great. Air conditioner barely worked, bathroom was very run down. You can hear everything all the traffic and shuttle buses in the a.m.

Courtney Boudreau
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-04-06 to 2014-04-13 (7 days)

 AWESOME

I went to this resort by myself for a well needed holiday. Not knowing what to expect tavelling alone, I have never felt safer. I met awesome people and went a few times to the markets on my own. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely go back to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly. Beaches and pools were awesome. Close to downtown.

The weak points
Food and variety of food.

Ursula Dredge
Freelton, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-26 to 2014-04-02 (7 days)

 Puntarena Resort

room was adequate, good ac. and marked 110 volt outlet. Didn't find fridge until late and then would not use as it had mold on front of door. I would recommend sign or notice for reason patrons not to flush toilet paper. provision of filtered water and working, useable fridge would be a plus.
Beach could have been cleaned better. I found the steep incline to the ocean made it difficult to access.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
clean, comfortable room. polite and friendly staff. Good activities and entertainment. Safe environment. Helpful to have free shuttle bus service to town.

The weak points
Food often overcooked and bland tasting. Beach incline awkward for seniors or children to access. Filtered water and fridge not provided. Often too many loud, drunken party ers disturbing events.

R. Nicolucci
Brampton, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-21 to 2014-03-28 (7 days)

 Not going back to this resort

Requested non-smoking room - this didn't seem to exist as our entire floor seemed to wreak of smoke everyday (if you're a non-smoker this is not the place for you). The noise from the nightly entertainment was very loud every night until around 3pm (if you have kids this is not the place for you). On at least 3 days/nights the sulfur smell from the nearby refinery was extremely strong and very unpleasant. I, and a number of other tourists in the hotel, got sick from the food. I was sick for 3 days. After one day of rain, the potlight in the bathroom started to drip water.
The beach was pretty good, however and unfortunately, a male tourist from this resort drowned in the ocean while I was there. It was not the resort's fault - it was a tragic accident.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was ok.

The weak points
Everything else.

Not Impressed Traveller
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)

 Pour le prix,c correct

c etait mon premier voyage et je ne m'attendait pas a grand choses.pour 750$,loger nourrit,alcool,aller retour,transfert...je dirais que jen ai eu pour mon argent.la plage etait belle,la femme de chambre tres gentille et souriante,l'hotel est vieille et les chambre ont besoin d'etre renove du cote du puntarena,la bouffe etait...correcte.jai jamais essayer ailleur auparavant donc je ne peux trop en dire a ce sujet.le service,correcte mais des fois un peu long,certain(e)n'etait pas tres souriant.bref,pour le prix,faut pas s'attendre a grand chose pi apres on est satisfait!!!la plage contient beaucoup de coquillage casser.des fois des odeurs de petrole et d'egout,il fesait des reparations pas tres loin..
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
au fur et a mesure que la semaine avancait,le staff etait de plus en plus souriant et amical.la plage,le prix

The weak points
la nourriture du snak-bar et du resto de la plage.

tom
Laval, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)

 Don't eat, and be happy

I wish to warn you of a medical safety problem at this hotel. I am a doctor.

One after another, both of us contracted moderately severe gastroenteritis during our week at Puntarena, lasting about 3 days. (One of us was then reinfected, with a faster recovery.)

Of the people we mentioned this to during the trip, about half had also experienced gastroenteritis during this trip. Others were very surprised, saying they had been to this hotel several times before, and not heard of anyone being infected.

From the symptoms and course, this was almost certainly a coliform infection. It receded when we avoided all possible contaminated food and drink, returned when we ate and drank normally, and disappeared immediately when we returned to Canada.

The infection was not acquired from the sea or the swimming pool (one of us got ill before swimming). It could have been the local water. We never drank the water, but (a) we cleaned our teeth in hotel tapwater, (b) the milk and soft drinks are made from local water with milk-powder/syrup and CO2, (c) the salad greens are probably washed in local water. Avoiding all of these ended the infection.

We have no wish to complain. From the fact that vacationers at Puntarena were unaffected in previous years, we strongly suspect that something has gone wrong with the water purification system at this hotel, and hope this note will assist you.

Apart from the water infection, we enjoyed our holiday very much. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the hotel is well-designed (but getting old). The weather is PERFECT – hot but nice breeze to blow away insects. The beach is beautiful, with even a volleyball coach. Your own safe in the room, your own fridge, fantastic coffee free on every floor, beautiful pool, excellent day-trips, prices low, local people very friendly, wow!

We have three criticisms.

First, the level of drunkenness among the guests was very high indeed: very loud, clumsy people make poor company. We realize it is very hard to control this on an “all-included” trip.

Second, the food was varied but not very good. Again, we suspect Canadians are hard to please!

Third, there was loud latin music EVERYWHERE, all day long! Some quiet periods would be nice?

A. Carr and M. Taylor, 23 March 2014
carrt7@gmail.com, taylorm18@gmail.com
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, facilities, friendly staff, relaxed hours, amazing coffee all day, good security for valuables

The weak points
Contaminated water (or something), food varied but not great

Tony Carr, Matthew Taylor
Dundas, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)

 Third Time Back

This is our third time back to this resort - because we love Cuba and you can't beat the price at this resort. Don't expect 5-star, because it's not, but the pool area and beach are fabulous, the hotel and food are acceptable, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, albeit getting a little run down.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and water are second to none - absolutely beautiful. We also like the location - miles of beach to walk, and you can also walk into downtown Veredaro.

The weak points
The room are getting quite old, and could really use an update.

Harvey and Linda
Spruce Grove, AB
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-03 to 2014-03-10 (7 days)

 Disappointed

Cockroaches in our room,the buffet cooking area was not clean, the food had no taste and it was reheated and the same everyday.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and close to downtown

The weak points
Needs a reno and a good chef

David Belcastro
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)

 Just AWESOME !!!!

I have been coming to Varadero for the better part of 9 years. 6 of them here at Puntarena. It still suprises me that people come to Cuba thinking the star system of North America applies to a third world communist country with a embargo on it. That aside I was blown away this year. The staff the service all off the chart. My room the entire hotel all clean. The food was a bit repetitious but I never starved. A trip into town will help that situation. I will be back for my 7th year same time next year. I see so many negative comments associated with Puntarena and I think those people are just not going to be happy no matter what. VIVA La Puntarena my home in Cuba.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible Staff, Great Beach, Clean.

The weak points
Roof leaks. Buffet could use some variety.

Nathan Granger
Waterdown, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)

 Bellevue Puntarena

My mistake was sure I had booked oceanview,apparently not so. I don't think the hotel was full, but we ended up on the second floor directly above the disco facing the highway. So if you expect to sleep anything more than. about 3 hours a night do not except the room 1226. Apart from that everything was most exceptable.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff was amazing

The weak points
very loud

B & B
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-02-24 to 2014-03-03 (7 days)

 Pay for what you get

We took this booking as it was inexpensive. The beach is wonderful, clean, nice restaurant and bar on beach.
Food was better than 3 years ago. Rooms are run down and old.
Shower pressure was awful. A la carte restaurants were spectacular.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach!!

The weak points
Old rooms awful water pressure

Susan
London, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-02-12 to 2014-02-19 (7 days)

 Winter holiday

We had a lovely time - for the price, it was a great trip. The staff that were originally at the Playa Caleta who are at this resort were extremely polite and friendly.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool area and food has improved.

The weak points
Beach chairs need to be replaced. In very poor condition.

Donna Roggie
Pembrooke, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-01-24 to 2014-02-07 (14 days)

 Good not great

food and beach could be better
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
nice hotel poor food nice staff and good clean room.

The weak points
camera was stolen after flight from bag. no one helped use at sunwing or itravel 2000 wrecked the end of a trip with no pictures!!!!!! pretty sad

Aaron Page
Morinville, AB
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-01-26 to 2014-02-03 (8 days)

 Playa Caleta Resort

We stayed the week of Jan 24th, 2014 and had a great time. Please note, we have been here before and our expectations probably differ from those expecting a 5 star resort. It's an old hotel but it's clean, quiet and suits our needs to a tee. The only thing I'd like to see is an improvement in the food but it's Cuba. Food is the same everywhere I've been in Cuba which is to say, far from our Canadian standards.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, quiet, great ocean with a nice beach.

The weak points
Food is terrible.

Sandra Lee Thompson
Kanata, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-01-24 to 2014-01-31 (7 days)

 Awesome

awesome
perfekt
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Wow clean

The weak points
none ;0)

Nik
North Bay, ON
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-13 to 2014-01-27 (14 days)

 GOOD HOLIDAY

Worth the price, good holiday. Beach was great, food was good.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
GOOD TRIP

The weak points
BROKEN BED

Randall John Vanderzalm
Surrey, BC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-20 to 2014-01-27 (7 days)

 Puntarena Resort

This was a great hotel. Only a couple of cons as stated below. This was our 5th trip to Cuba and our 1st to this hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful room. Chambermaid was awesome. Coffee bar, tremendous. Clean

The weak points
The elevator broke down every 2nd day and we were on the 7th floor. Location-too far from downtown

Brian Wilson
Fort St. John, BC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-12 to 2014-01-27 (15 days)

 As expected

Resort was a little above expected on somethings but under expected on others, Hotel was good for third world country. Caleta was joined with Puntarena, which gave more restaurants, a coffee bar and 2 pools, 2 gift shops, 2 bars combined. Food was Ok, chinese a la carte food was good but service was terrible, International a la carte food and service was excellent. Hotel was right on the beach, rooms were clean and most of the people were very nice. A converter was needed to charge things. The only complaints I have about this resort is the beds were very uncomfortable and smelled a little mouldy, the pillows were very thin and they did not provide bottled water in room, (which other resorts provided along with a bottle of rum). The showers most of the time were only luke warm. Ocean was not like sugar, it was layered in broken shells which made it hard to walk in bare feet, water shoes recommended, there was a little drop into the ocean which made a little climb to get out,(hard for older adults) The resort would be out of Money exchange lots, we found changing money a hassle. There seemed to be lots of singles at this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Two resorts combined, on the beach and pools

The weak points
No bottled water in rooms, uncomfortable beds and pillows, luke warm showers

Karen
Lange Gardien, QC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-17 to 2014-01-24 (7 days)

 Puntarena

Bien pour le prix, assez éloigner de tout, navette gratuite
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
bien pour le prix

The weak points
vague trop forte

gisele martel
Chertsey, QC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-14 to 2014-01-21 (7 days)

 Voyageur

J'ai trouvé l'hôtel propre et un bon service.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service

The weak points
Nouritures

leonard st pierre
port carter, QC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-12 to 2014-01-19 (7 days)

 Not recommending Gran Caribe

Hotel has gone down in the last few years. Broken washrooms. Had to share 3 stalls at pool with men/women. Constantly out of toilet paper. Our room flooded and no extra towels to dry floors. I slipped on wet floor in lobby. Ran out of cups/plates on a regular basis. Rating is too high. Until some upgrades I will not go back or recommend. Staff fabulous. Would like some compensation for trip if I can. Thanks.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
24 hr bars. Coffee and beverages available all the time.

The weak points
Rooms need upgrading. Elevator floors are in pieces. Room flooded. Washrooms dirty, broken, and no toilet paper.

Lorraine Marie Bakelaar
London, ON
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-12 to 2014-01-19 (7 days)

 Cabbage Soup Again!!!

The food was repetitive at best. Same soup for days and Caleta too. Services were closed and or" we don't have that now" and was both hotels. There were no cups for tea or coffee much of the time,no glasses for juice,had to ask someone working there to wash a cup in the morning to get a coffee.Was usually one serving spoon for 6 trays of food. Reserved a la carte was similar. When booking these times was always "full" yet was near empty when there eating. I was there before in 1994 and was not like that. Staff discourages use of internet. Even our tour rep was gone Home early.When it was windy the balcony was noisy and preventing sleep.Roof leaks all over the place.Don't forget the insect repellant!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The tools are there for the most part and the Entertainers were great!

The weak points
Food and communication with outside world. Get hi speed Wi-Fi. and have available to all rooms at no cost,too much nickel and diming for services from Hotel and staff.

Back Home
Stoney Creek, ON
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-10 to 2014-01-17 (7 days)

 Cuba, c'est bien.

Chambres propres, nourriture convenable, eau chaude, site propre et bien entetenu. Personnel plaisant à quelques exceptions près. Vraiment pour un 3,5 étoiles à Cuba c'était génial, en plus le site consiste en deux hôtels fusionnés donc il y a plein de gens à rencontrer et plus de choix de buffets/snack bars/piscine.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Site, la bouffe était bonne et variée (si vous êtes des pincés, abstenez-vous, moi j'ai adoré plusieurs de leurs plats) la température, les Cubains sont toujours prêts à partager du bon temps.

The weak points
Odeur des raffineries de pétrole le soir et le matin à quelques occasions.

S Bolatre
Jonquiere, QC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-08 to 2014-01-15 (7 days)

 Puntarena Resort

The hotel is within 45mins walking distance to Varadero. A double decker bus runs 7 days a week. The beach extends 100 feet across and starts the many kms around Varadero. Staff were great. The hotel was colorful and the food is what you make it. It was nice to have 24 hour food and beverage service. No wifi
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
On a whole it was good. The staff really made the difference. Location was ok and everything was available

The weak points
I was booked for Caleta but when I got there I was put in Puntarena which is the sister tower. I heard Caleta was nicer. Do pay close attention to your bus return to the airport unless you want to cab it. Lots of people missed it throughout the week.

Jda
Calgary, AB
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-06 to 2014-01-13 (7 days)

 Spend more

Hotel ocean view room that we payed more for flooded from rain storm. Had to use bedspread towels anything we could get. Need more security on hotel hallways, party people shat ion floor 2 hallways floor and one night set off fire extinguishers . French Quebec people very loud and rude this should be party central and warn travellers what they are getting into. Banging on floors at all hours of night.
Food is awful and I am not fussy have been to two star and it wasn't this bad, no labels of what your eating except one day rabbit was labeled. Employes took food that had fallen out of bowl and replace it in it with are hands, cross contamination. Of good every day only a few serving spoons were offered so had to use to get other foods with it. Pancaked were not cooked well. Beach is gran not powdery white sand more coarse and very steep incline to water and another one in water made it deep very quickly. Hotel has fridge nothing in it and a safe. Only one 110 plug in bathroom.others are all 220
Nice room comfy bed and pillows, make sure you ask for room far from bars it's open 24 hrs. Very very loud. Nice grounds snack bars are not all opened.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds

The weak points
Food ,elevators and lack of security

Mexico papa
Winnipeg, MB
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-06 to 2014-01-13 (7 days)

 AVOID AVOID AVOID

If you can live on booze and little sleep, this place may be for you, for all others , do not go here. Food I would not feed my dog, a couple of dozen people or more had food posioning the week of jan 6 to 13, most had to see a doc to get through it. elevators sporadic at best, 9 floors a bit tough to climb in the heat, entertainment so so. Glass etc. in the sand at the beach. Second trip to Cuba, this one a huge disappointment over Santa Maria.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
good doctor on call

The weak points
food, music always far too loud, poor elevators

K Folstad
Archerwill, SK
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-01-06 to 2014-01-13 (7 days)

 Some good….mostly bad

never again….clothes were stolen from room only the maid had access, generally bad food, sulfur smell at night, ridiculous elevators when working, some staff demanded to be tipped…waste of time and money
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
coffee bar, beaches, breakfast buffet

The weak points
sulfur smell at night, terrible elevators..when working, clothes missing from room…maid?

billybob
Cultus Lake, BC
Previously GRAN CARIBE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2013-12-30 to 2014-01-13 (14 days)

 WARNING!

WARNING!!Do not stay at this resort. This resort is extremely grimy and dirty. Bottled water is not included in the all inclusive plan which they do not tell you untill you have arrived and have to purchase it for $2 a bottle. The elevators look and sound like they are about to break down. They are covered in filth and have holes worn in the floors. You cannot use the stairs they are rusted out and closed off. The buffet is very small and very limited in selection. It is very dirty all surfaces are covered in fingerprints and grease. The main pool is closed and the water is green. The front desk staff are not helpfull or friendly. We had to pay more money and be switched to a better resort we could not stay here. Do not book here!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
None

The weak points
Very dirty resort, all surfaces covered in greasy fingerprints and grime. Bottled water not included in the all inclusive plan. Elevators and stairs unsafe.

J Simpson
Kelowna, BC
Stay from 2014-01-03 to 2014-01-11 (8 days)

 Not bad if you get a cheap deal

Experience was good because of the company I brought with me, the beach, and the low price. It's more of a party resort. I wouldnt recommend staying here unless you are OK with being surrounded by alot of young irritating drunks.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is excellent, and was never very busy which was pleasant.

The weak points
Bathrooms in common areas rarely had toilet paper. In general, the bartenders were only nice to you if you tipped. Food was ok, wasn't much available outside of meal times. Staff always trying to sell you cigars even after telling them you dont smoke.

M
Ottawa, ON
Stay from 2014-01-03 to 2014-01-10 (7 days)

 Misrepresentation

The quality of the hotel for the price was very substandard. The bathroom was poorly designed. It was difficult to shower without wetting up the entire floor. The separators on the balcony was loose, unsafe and rattled all night. The restaurants did not accommodate for allergies (everything cooked on the same grill) I got sick New Years Eve and it wasn't until the second last day that we were there that I was able to eat. They ran out of a variety of things juice on two mornings, French fries throughout the property for at least 3 days, pina colada at a couple bars, bacon most mornings, ketchup and a few other things. One restaurant we had to wait 45 minutes to get a pizza and are still waiting. Food quality was not the greatest. Elevators did not work properly. The beach was nice, the cleaning staff were very friendly but most had very limited English.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff.

The weak points
Restaurants substandard, rooms and general hotel need maintenance, bars and restaurants that were supposed to be 24 hrs really weren't. Some of the entertainment staff were not very friendly. I would not visit this hotel again.

Mr. Thomas
Scarborough, ON
Stay from 2013-12-30 to 2014-01-04 (5 days)


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Melia Marina Varadero

Melia Marina Varadero

Varadero


96 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


457 reviews


Beaches

Club Los Delfines

Club Los Delfines

Varadero


173 reviews


Families

Sol Palmeras

Sol Palmeras

Varadero


172 reviews


Couples

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


457 reviews


Singles

Super Club Surprise

Super Club Surprise

Varadero


15 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


322 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry