Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life

  

2.892.892.892.892.89 (2.89)
Based on 316 reviews

Overall Impression: #48 of 60 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #41 of 60 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #50 of 60 hotels.
Beaches: #46 of 60 hotels.
Families: #32 of 60 hotels.
Couples: #41 of 60 hotels.
Singles: #16 of 60 hotels.
Seniors: #41 of 60 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (70)

Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
11
85
113
71
36
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

 Good bang for the buck

Or room was a renovated room on the 7th floor(1722), the view of the canal was very nice, a lot of people say you get the smell of the refinery (which you cannot see), we smelled it a couple times but it was not an over powering smell. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff was very nice. The tub was in a harder shape from wear of sand I assume, but not moldy. My only real complaint for the room was the little to no hot water pressure and the beds were very hard (all I did was laid on a couple blankets that were in the closet). The lobby was clean and I found most of the staff great. There were a couple of older ladies who worked the night shift when we were there that was rude. There were 2 out of the 3 elevators working and yes they were slow and could not really fit more than 6 people on it, because it would be overweight and the doors would not close, but it was not that bad. If I was only on the 2nd-3rd floor I would probably take the stairs. I think if the 3rd elevator was working, would eliminate a lot of the problems.
The Beach and pool were beautiful, when the sand gets close to the water it drops in quickly to about 4 feet of water, then for the next 100 feet out stay about 5-6 feet deep, then drops off deep. There is not bar on the beach; you had to go to the pool bar (about 300 feet from the beach or into the lobby bar). The beach was very clean; my only complaint was the lack of beach loungers. Maybe that is not even a fair statement, but if you don’t go there before 8am it will be hard to find shade for that day. I found a lot of people went early, put a towel on a lounger and left without coming back till the afternoon. I think this could be regulated better; this is also true at the pool. The pool area was very clean and the pool bar was open (not a swim up). The pool was warm and about 4’ deep. There were a lot of little lizards running around the whole grounds.
The food was typical for Cuba, I always found something to eat at the buffet and I never starved. I am not a fussy eater so this helps. I found the meat not to set well in my stomach (but again that was me, there were people in our group which it never bothered). The Chinese and Italian Restaurants were awesome, with great service. They always kept the wine glass full and my selections for food were tasty. You could eat at each of the 2 restaurants twice (4 total), we only made it 3 times and we booked it the day after we got there. The snack bar outside was just soso, not something to write home about.
Overall if you are on a budget and you are not looking for a place to tan on a clean beach or pool, enjoy your fun in the sun, this in my opinion is a good and for the buck (we paid $720pp a couple we ran into there got it for $640), yes the hotel needs some updating but how much time do you spend in your room. I should also mention if you want a beach view, get one on the 7th floor, OMG I looked into one, when a couple left, what a view. If you are fussy on your room or if the elevator will drive you crazy, go some where’s else. But you want to enjoy a cheap vacation in the sun and you are on a budget, you will enjoy this place. In MY OPINION most of the negative reviews of this place are from people who could not be satisfied at a 5 star resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and pool were amazing

The weak points
little to no hot water in the room

Quimmik
Porters Lake, NS
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life
from 2016-04-16 to 2016-04-23 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-25

 Wonderful week!

We have returned here many times as we are always satisfied with the beautiful staff who always go out of their way to make your stay awesome. The food was wonderfully prepared and lots of selection. Gorgeous beach and close to the town of veradero and Habana. We will be back.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Ronald B Sowinski
Sarnia, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life
from 2016-02-20 to 2016-02-27 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-09

 Perfect get away

Great had lots of fun , great people
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Ge
Wellend, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life
from 2016-02-15 to 2016-02-22 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-24

 As Expected

The week we spent was quite cool. I think the hotel could have had activities indoors vs. nothing at all. I think most hotels rely on the weather and people being outdoors mostly and aren't really prepared for the majority of folks to be inside. We experienced 2 days where there was no hot water.
On a positive note the atmosphere, staff, venue were amazing. I only wish the weather was a little warmer. This is my 3 time back to Veradero and the Bellevue was very pleasant to stay in.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and amazingly they spoke English very well. Rooms were very clean. Lobby was beautiful.

The weak points
Nothing planned by hotel during inclement weather. Hotel exchange rate for Cuban currency was outrageously high vs the bank and even other hotels on the strip.

Monarc.ca Certified

William Tomes
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life
from 2016-02-06 to 2016-02-13 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-03

 Ping li

Room condition is not good but it is still worthy with the price I paid. There are a lot sea grass on the beach were not cleaned. The swimming pool is not clean. One thing bothered me was there was a dog running around in the lobby free even at the show and barking as well every day.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Ping Li
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Beach Fun 4 Life
from 2015-11-26 to 2015-12-03 (7 days)
Written on 2015-12-05

 Not bad value for the location

Overall the hotel offers the value of a very short stay. Room needs to be renovated. Hot water in bathroom available all the time. Must be amongst the first at the buffet to find a quite selection of meals. No fish offered! Clean and warm beach, very pleasant. Trinidad tour is a must try. Good staff, however the hotel needs to offer a better quality for rooms and food
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The front hotel and hall are very pleasant and quite modern. Very nice ocean view at front room, very relaxing

The weak points
Very poor snack service. Buffet is a closed area with no air conditioning

Monarc.ca Certified

Kim
Toronto, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-08-09 to 2015-08-13 (4 days)
Written on 2015-08-15

 Puntarena

Arrived at hotel and room was ready which was nice. Front desk staff helpful but not all that friendly. Maid and a few bartenders and lifeguard the friendliest. killed a large bug in bathroom first morning, wind whistled through the room and water ran day and night through plumbing, walls paper thin and therefore, no sleep. Whole hotel not well cleaned in stairways or hallways, very old hotel, certainly not 3 1/2 stars. Playa Caleta is closed because stairwells are rotten!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Maid service, a la carte restaurants, beach, excursions

The weak points
Everything else

Monarc.ca Certified

John Leggett
Burks Falls, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-02-14 to 2015-02-21 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-25

 Pas contente

J'ai pas apprécié qu on est changé d hôtel sans nous prévenir d avance. Ma chambre avait de la moi si sur le lit n était pas confortable. On ne mangeaient pas bien c était toujours la même chose. Il n avait pas de bureau de change on a attendus le bus pour nous amené faire du change sans succès et un coup on c est rendue. Ça nous apris tout la journée parce. Il n avait pas ambiance sur la plage on entendait pas de musique cubaine. Pour ma part la ville est très belle ceux qui m insisterait à y retourner.mais pas dans cette hôtel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le repas a la carte on avait choisi avait été un succès la place était bien décoré le serveur était très polie et le repas satisfaisant

The weak points
Le repas étais pas diversifier. Il n avait pas assez le manque de bureau de changeet le bus qui ne pas pas c est vraiment contregnant.

Monarc.ca Certified

chouette
Laval, QC
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-02-07 to 2015-02-14 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-16

 Old and run down, No CALETA

The hotel is older, which is fine, but it needs repairs. Rooms are dated. The walls and doors offer no sound proofing. You can hear everything in the adjacent rooms and hallways, which resulted in very poor sleep. Between the doors slamming, people talking in the hallways, vomiting next door all night, smoking next door that comes into the adjacent rooms, good luck getting any sleep. Elevators are very slow and one of the three never worked. They occasionally stopped working altogether for half an hour. I just used the stairs most of the time. The floors in them are all tattered too. Food in the buffet is mediocre and that is considering that Cuba isn't known for the food. I was able to find enough to fill up. All the other reviews you will read are true about this resort, although some are a little too harsh. The grounds and beaches are great, pools are great, lunch at beach bar is slightly better than buffet. The staff was always friendly and I met a lot of great guests there. Although I doubt I would ever go back, if you can get a package for under $600 it's still worth it. IF YOU BOOKED THE CALETA, IT IS CLOSED AND HAS BEEN FOR A FEW MONTHS EVEN THOUGH IT SAYS IT IS STILL OPEN ON WEBSITE. Caleta is supposed to be nicer too, but I didn't see the inside for myself. It's just what I was told by others who have stayed there previously. This resort is supposed to be two hotels and access to both amenities, but Caleta is closed. Still get to use their pool, which has the swim-up bar and small lunch buffet.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, 24 hour bar, nice beaches, nice grounds, two pools, coffee bar was nice touch

The weak points
Run down, occasional smell from an oil refinery somewhere nearby, but nothing too horrible. It was windy most of the time so that may have kept the smell away. Occasionally no TP in public washrooms and never any paper towels.

Monarc.ca Certified

Paul H
St. Catharines, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-01-24 to 2015-01-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-02

 My friends hate me because I chose this resort

The beach was nice, and that's a lot of the reason for going to Cuba. The hotel, however, should be closed down.

I could hear everything going on outside of our room. I could hear conversations from the next room. Not just mumbling, I could actually hear everything they were saying. I was awakened by a crying baby several rooms away. My friends on other floors were wakened by people barfing throughout the night in nearby rooms.

The doors slammed. You could not always close them quietly, as they would stick at the door frame, so you kind of had to pull it hard, making a loud noise. I was awakened throughout the night and early morning with slamming doors. By the third night, I was using medication to make me drowsy so that I could go right back to sleep after the various noises. No kidding. The bed and pillows were comfy enough, it was the ridiculously loud noises and paper thin walls that made it impossible for getting decent sleep.

I could not step onto the elevator because it was so scarey looking. It broke down one time during our visit (that I know about) while I stood nearby talking with friends, but I rarely spent time near the elevators so it could have broken down more times than that. I knew before going, from the pictures of the hotel, that there were outdoor stairs. Our room was on the 3rd floor, but it was actually 5 floors up from the main lobby. The 1st floor up from the lobby has a coffee bar and restaurants, so as you go up the outdoor stairs, the next floor up has a set of doors that were always open. Inside those doors, it was like a floor under construction. Any young child could wander in there and get injured. The doors should have been closed and locked. The remaining floors were all hotel rooms. There are glass doors between each floor and the outdoor staircase. The 2 floors below us, each had one glass door that had no glass in it and only some of the landings were lit up at night, so it was a bit dark and hard to see where you were stepping in the evenings. There was no sign outside to say what floor number you were on, but I knew that the first floor I got to with 2 intact glass doors was my floor.

The bathrooms. The bathrooms in the hotel rooms need a makeover. Whatever, they were clean and had what you needed (except on our last day there, when the water didn't work at all in our bathroom). In our group, we had 5 rooms in total, on various floors. All were the same. The bathrooms outside of the restaurants, bars and pool areas were a different story. Quite often lacking toilet paper (every stall), you got used to checking for toilet paper first. Most of the time there was no soap, and always, no paper towel. Luckily my friends brought hand sanitizer.

I thought the food was alright. There was always something I enjoyed. I have 1 son that ate everything in sight and 1 son that ate only pasta for an entire week. Everyone's different and Cuba is not known for great food. I will say that as far as dessert goes, there is only sponge cake and ice cream, nothing else. I am a dessert lover, and ice cream got boring fast, however, I was always quite full from dinner so I really didn't need dessert. They have delicious hot chocolate that I enjoyed after dinner anyway.

The staff. Well, they weren't grouchy. There was only 1 bartender that was outwardly jolly and having fun at his job. The lady at the omelet station at breakfast said have a nice day after giving you your omelet. Other than that, I found that I was the first one to say 'hola' to anyone. There was one bartender that had to finish a text before acknowledging that I was there, and one bartender that finished serving a man as I walked up to the bar, then turned his back to me while he looked out over the pool. He had to have seen me because I walked up right beside the man as he handed him his drink. I don't get it.

My son left his running shoes at the pool area, and when he went back to get them, they were gone. My husband checked at the pool bar and the 'lost and found' and we never did see them again. I take comfort in knowing that someone in Cuba is enjoying a good pair of running shoes (although maybe a little cheesy smelling). My son, however, was not too impressed wearing his flip flops in the snow on the trip home from the airport. One of the maids approached my friend and asked her for some of her son's t-shirts. It's a poor country.

The most upsetting thing about this whole experience, is that I chose this resort based on the 4 a la carte restaurants. I don't want to eat buffet meals for a week, and this resort offered 4 nights worth of alternatives. I really liked that feature. Two days before we left for Cuba, I got an e-mail that said the Playa Caleta side had been shut down, and along with it, the 2 restaurants there. Then, when we got to our resort and tried to book the remaining restaurants, they were full for the next 5 days. We managed to get reservations for the last 2 nights of our stay, but my sister and her husband only got 1 restaurant reservation. I am really annoyed that the website continues to advertise 4 a la carte restaurants, even though the Playa Caleta side has been shut down for months. Yes, months. And they notified me of this 2 days before I left, not when I booked it. Maybe they'll be open again soon? Not likely. There wasn't any hint of repairs going on at that hotel. I'm just so annoyed at being lied to, when that was the deciding factor for me for staying at that resort.

I would not go back to that resort and do not recommend that anyone stay there. If you're already booked, try complaining about the restaurants that are shut down that you didn't know about when you booked. Ask for a refund based on that and maybe they'll allow it. Actually, demand a refund based on that.

The beach is lovely, the sunshine is great, but other resorts in Cuba have that too.

**So I can't submit this review until I tick who I would recommend this resort for, and since it doesn't give the option of 'nobody', I have to say 'for clubs and partying'.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach and sunshine. Palm trees.

The weak points
Interrupted sleep every night. Scarey elevators. C-c-cold pool. No water on our last day. Tepid showers.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cari
St. Catharines, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-01-24 to 2015-01-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-02

 Not bad.....but....

I am a non-smoker and there were alot of smokers who could smoke anywhere they liked.
You cannot use a credit card anywhere; not even in restaurants. So, be sure to take enough spending (don't forget about the 1.30 exchange rate)
There is a 1 1/2 hour wait at the bank to exchange your money to CUC so, you might as well do it at your resort.
I would not return to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, enjoyable pool area Great coffee bar Great beach

The weak points
Smoking everywhere Old, dilapidated bathrooms Balcony sliding door almost impossible to open Elevators unreliable Food very, very basic. Long waits for plates in the buffet

Monarc.ca Certified

Jennifer Waugh Parsons
Dundas, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-01-24 to 2015-01-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-02

 Resort is below expectations

If You have enemy You can recommended this resort .Food,internet, bathroom, is tragedy .
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
location

The weak points
Food and Internet

Monarc.ca Certified

Ryszard Tworek
Calgary, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Puntarena

Nice hotel, good facilities, very clean. I thought food was horrible but i am a chef and i dont expect good food in Cuba, i heard others say they liked it
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
pools, not crowded

The weak points
food music in disco until 2 am

Monarc.ca Certified

P Barton
Collingwood, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2015-01-05 to 2015-01-12 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-14

 Puntarena

Bottom line is for $704.00 all in plus 70 cuc to upgrade to a newly completed ocean view room though x mas time it was a hell of a deal. I have been to this hotel before so to be honest a new what to expect and if your into drinking, smoking, laying in the sun on the beach or at the huge pool here with swim up bar this is the place. Food was fine typical 3* food the pool side bbq was great. I would not bring small children here its more of an adult scene.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Easy to get to everything, good coffee had gin, whiskey and diet ku kola by the can at the bar. New renovated rooms

The weak points
Only weak point for me there was no bacon in the morning but my heart thank me for that

Monarc.ca Certified

D
Niagara On The Lake, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-12-20 to 2014-12-27 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-01

 Nice time at puntarenas

I have a good time make friend and enjoy my time at puntarenas
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
I have a good time overall,nice place,beaches,love the pizza the italian restaurant the best one

The weak points
elevator broken twice in 1 week

Monarc.ca Certified

Rafael Joaquin Joaquin Olea
Toronto, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-12-06 to 2014-12-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-15

 Much better than anticipated

Having bought last minute and CHEAP we expected the worst room available, as seasoned travellers to Cuba (2 to 3 times per year) we were really Impressed with the Puntarena. The location was known to us we knew about the refurbishment. This Hotel far exceeded what we expected! clean, great staff good food even for Cuban standards
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff.

The weak points
None

Monarc.ca Certified

St. Thomas
St. Thomas, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-28 to 2014-12-06 (8 days)
Written on 2014-12-08

 Hotel Puntarena

We were there Nov 17-24th! We will not be going back to Varadero period! 2cd time there and nothing has changed. The place were we where this time has major flooding issues with the 3 days of tropical rain we had. The building itself is in need of structural work!! Fingerprints everywhere, ceilings and mold where evident, other patrons unfriendly if you didn't speak there language. Maid service was good and thats about it!! Food yuck same thing day in day out. Beach for Cuba bragging about there beaches was never raked, garbage all over mixed with seaweed. No activities what so ever, swim up bar not opened till last day, which when used, was like we where interupting the bartenders family day rude!!
Typical Cuban lack of effort is very apparent at this hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Building didn't fall down while we where there and all the elevators didn't quit still had the 2 that where iffy most times

The weak points
Everything! It is not a place to go

Monarc.ca Certified

Gayle
New Sarepta, AB
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-17 to 2014-11-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-27

 15th-22nd November

The Staff were amazing, The food was OK 3* but there was plenty of variations to suit everyone, The pork and Chicken were great. The three Al A carte restaurants were very good. The chineese restaurant and the Shrimp was fantastic. The Coffee Bar was Second to none, There was no pressure to tip ! Unfortunetly it rained while we were there for 3 days and there is nothing to do !! We lost all the US TV Stations due to the weather. Entertainment was limited. Not a place for KIDs One of the 3 lifts were broken and the other 2 were a little on and off !!! Beach and Pools were Great.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Coffee bar, Pasta and Egg Bars, Al A Carte Restuarants, Hamburgers, Beach and Pools, Room & Bathroom

The weak points
Entertainment, Lifts, TV reception, Cost and Lack of Internet/ Wifi, Bathroom towels, Buffet fish,

Monarc.ca Certified

Daniel Morton
Seaforth, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-15 to 2014-11-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-25

 Need to improve in some areas.

no hot water in bathroom,sliding doors hard to open and close,no deadbolt room door,kepted running out of food,no currency exchange at resort,get what you pay for, did have a good time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
good staff, clean rooms,nice beach

The weak points
cold water in rooms,noisey,more selection in buffet.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cynthia Glutek
Duncan, BC
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-04 to 2014-11-19 (15 days)
Written on 2014-11-21

 No surprises.

Food was so so, peoples are exceptional, service was great, and they worked hard to keep hotel clean. We booked at Playa Caleta but were sent to Puntarena...don't get tricked like us cause Puntarena is a lot worst than Caleta where they renovated rooms.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The workers.

The weak points
Too far from city, beach isn't sand but corals, rooms need upgrade.

Monarc.ca Certified

Diane V.
L Ile-Bizard, QC
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-11 to 2014-11-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-20

 The best, the staff

Any deficiency in the physical part, is surpassed by the friendliness of its staff.
This has only come back for the third time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach and all staff

The weak points
Nasty smell in the bathroom and closing some areas

Monarc.ca Certified

Jose Moreno
Calgary, AB
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-10 to 2014-11-17 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-19

 Varadero and beyond...

Absolutely no complaints! Hotel also has a contact point for "Not Just another Tourist" which instilled the sense that my trip contributed somewhat to the community too.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, atmosphere, service. Even the resort pets were great! Hahaha great fishing, clean clean beaches, streets, very very safe, family friendly. I will absolutely go back and highly recommend this place to family & friends. towels We're shaped into swans

The weak points
The free shuttle into town never had enough room and no other was scheduled to take the remaining passengers. Elevator was "casually slow" haha

Monarc.ca Certified

Terry Spence
Toronto, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-11-01 to 2014-11-08 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-10

 Solo trip

I stayed at the Playa Caleta last year and had no problems. This year I stayed at Puntarena I had a horrible room location, very noisy, many things going on in the hotel. I asked for a new room 3 times and got the run around. I was traveling alone and was willing to stay in the other building but got no where and had to suffer through it. I would recommend they up the min check in age to at least 21 to avoid having a bunch of immature kids running around.
They should also have bracelets in a different color for underage kids so I would not have to run into to drunk kids under 18.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
I don't mind the location I like that it's close to the airport. Friendly staff some remembered me from coming last year which was memorable to me. Beach is lovely, food was not too bad I could always find something, fresh bread daily was awesome.

The weak points
Last year this hotel was closed for renovations, I am not sure what they did as the room I got was not great. Air conditioner barely worked, bathroom was very run down. You can hear everything all the traffic and shuttle buses in the a.m.

Monarc.ca Certified

Courtney Boudreau
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-04-06 to 2014-04-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-17

 AWESOME

I went to this resort by myself for a well needed holiday. Not knowing what to expect tavelling alone, I have never felt safer. I met awesome people and went a few times to the markets on my own. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely go back to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly. Beaches and pools were awesome. Close to downtown.

The weak points
Food and variety of food.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ursula Dredge
Freelton, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-03-26 to 2014-04-02 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-04

 Puntarena Resort

room was adequate, good ac. and marked 110 volt outlet. Didn't find fridge until late and then would not use as it had mold on front of door. I would recommend sign or notice for reason patrons not to flush toilet paper. provision of filtered water and working, useable fridge would be a plus.
Beach could have been cleaned better. I found the steep incline to the ocean made it difficult to access.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
clean, comfortable room. polite and friendly staff. Good activities and entertainment. Safe environment. Helpful to have free shuttle bus service to town.

The weak points
Food often overcooked and bland tasting. Beach incline awkward for seniors or children to access. Filtered water and fridge not provided. Often too many loud, drunken party ers disturbing events.

Monarc.ca Certified

R. Nicolucci
Brampton, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-03-21 to 2014-03-28 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-31

 Not going back to this resort

Requested non-smoking room - this didn't seem to exist as our entire floor seemed to wreak of smoke everyday (if you're a non-smoker this is not the place for you). The noise from the nightly entertainment was very loud every night until around 3pm (if you have kids this is not the place for you). On at least 3 days/nights the sulfur smell from the nearby refinery was extremely strong and very unpleasant. I, and a number of other tourists in the hotel, got sick from the food. I was sick for 3 days. After one day of rain, the potlight in the bathroom started to drip water.
The beach was pretty good, however and unfortunately, a male tourist from this resort drowned in the ocean while I was there. It was not the resort's fault - it was a tragic accident.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was ok.

The weak points
Everything else.

Monarc.ca Certified

Not Impressed Traveller
Toronto, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-23

 Don't eat, and be happy

I wish to warn you of a medical safety problem at this hotel. I am a doctor.

One after another, both of us contracted moderately severe gastroenteritis during our week at Puntarena, lasting about 3 days. (One of us was then reinfected, with a faster recovery.)

Of the people we mentioned this to during the trip, about half had also experienced gastroenteritis during this trip. Others were very surprised, saying they had been to this hotel several times before, and not heard of anyone being infected.

From the symptoms and course, this was almost certainly a coliform infection. It receded when we avoided all possible contaminated food and drink, returned when we ate and drank normally, and disappeared immediately when we returned to Canada.

The infection was not acquired from the sea or the swimming pool (one of us got ill before swimming). It could have been the local water. We never drank the water, but (a) we cleaned our teeth in hotel tapwater, (b) the milk and soft drinks are made from local water with milk-powder/syrup and CO2, (c) the salad greens are probably washed in local water. Avoiding all of these ended the infection.

We have no wish to complain. From the fact that vacationers at Puntarena were unaffected in previous years, we strongly suspect that something has gone wrong with the water purification system at this hotel, and hope this note will assist you.

Apart from the water infection, we enjoyed our holiday very much. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the hotel is well-designed (but getting old). The weather is PERFECT – hot but nice breeze to blow away insects. The beach is beautiful, with even a volleyball coach. Your own safe in the room, your own fridge, fantastic coffee free on every floor, beautiful pool, excellent day-trips, prices low, local people very friendly, wow!

We have three criticisms.

First, the level of drunkenness among the guests was very high indeed: very loud, clumsy people make poor company. We realize it is very hard to control this on an “all-included” trip.

Second, the food was varied but not very good. Again, we suspect Canadians are hard to please!

Third, there was loud latin music EVERYWHERE, all day long! Some quiet periods would be nice?

A. Carr and M. Taylor, 23 March 2014
carrt7@gmail.com, taylorm18@gmail.com
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, facilities, friendly staff, relaxed hours, amazing coffee all day, good security for valuables

The weak points
Contaminated water (or something), food varied but not great

Monarc.ca Certified

Tony Carr, Matthew Taylor
Dundas, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-23

 Third Time Back

This is our third time back to this resort - because we love Cuba and you can't beat the price at this resort. Don't expect 5-star, because it's not, but the pool area and beach are fabulous, the hotel and food are acceptable, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, albeit getting a little run down.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and water are second to none - absolutely beautiful. We also like the location - miles of beach to walk, and you can also walk into downtown Veredaro.

The weak points
The room are getting quite old, and could really use an update.

Monarc.ca Certified

Harvey and Linda
Spruce Grove, AB
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-03-03 to 2014-03-10 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-12

 Disappointed

Cockroaches in our room,the buffet cooking area was not clean, the food had no taste and it was reheated and the same everyday.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and close to downtown

The weak points
Needs a reno and a good chef

Monarc.ca Certified

David Belcastro
Toronto, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-11

 Just AWESOME !!!!

I have been coming to Varadero for the better part of 9 years. 6 of them here at Puntarena. It still suprises me that people come to Cuba thinking the star system of North America applies to a third world communist country with a embargo on it. That aside I was blown away this year. The staff the service all off the chart. My room the entire hotel all clean. The food was a bit repetitious but I never starved. A trip into town will help that situation. I will be back for my 7th year same time next year. I see so many negative comments associated with Puntarena and I think those people are just not going to be happy no matter what. VIVA La Puntarena my home in Cuba.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible Staff, Great Beach, Clean.

The weak points
Roof leaks. Buffet could use some variety.

Monarc.ca Certified

Nathan Granger
Waterdown, ON
Previously BELLEVUE PUNTARENA PLAYA CALETA RESORT for this review
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-09
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Ocean Vista Azul

Ocean Vista Azul

Varadero


51 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


528 reviews


Beaches

Blau Varadero

Blau Varadero

Varadero


478 reviews


Families

Grand Memories Varadero

Grand Memories Varadero

Varadero


93 reviews


Couples

Ocean Vista Azul

Ocean Vista Azul

Varadero


51 reviews


Singles

Bellevue Palma Real

Bellevue Palma Real

Varadero


540 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


387 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry