Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
 Description
 See on map

Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort

 

2.912.912.912.912.91 (2.91)
Based on 265 reviews

Overall Impression: #46 of 57 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #40 of 57 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #49 of 57 hotels.
Beaches: #48 of 57 hotels.
Families: #38 of 57 hotels.
Couples: #38 of 57 hotels.
Singles: #13 of 57 hotels.
Seniors: #37 of 57 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (47)

Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort Traveller picture - Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort

Travellers Reviews

All
10
73
94
59
29




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

 Super

Nous avons adoré notre voyage, nous retournerons à cet hôtel sans hésiter.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel

The weak points
La plage

Monarc.ca Certified

Josee Tremblay
La Malbaie, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2015-01-14 to 2015-01-21 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-23

 Resort is below expectations

If You have enemy You can recommended this resort .Food,internet, bathroom, is tragedy .
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
location

The weak points
Food and Internet

Monarc.ca Certified

Ryszard Tworek
Calgary, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Puntarena

Hôtel mal entretenu.ascenseur désuet..
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage et piscines

The weak points
Buffet et manque de reno

Monarc.ca Certified

Stephane Smith
Rougemont, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2015-01-09 to 2015-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-20

 Bellevue Puntarena Playa

Nous avons fait un séjour à cette Hôtel.
Nous avons eu un bon service à la chambre, ex: plusieurs serviettes, papiers toilettes, belle arrangement sur nos lits.Tandis que pour d'autre, le service n'était pas le même...(pas de papiers, les serviettes pas changer..)Au niveau de la nourriture, il y a une variété acceptable.(bœuf,porc,poisson,pâte,salade,fruits et desserts à chaque repas. À mon avis je trouve que cette hôtel est plus un endroit pour les jeunes qui veulent faire la fête. Trop bruyant le soir pour les familles avec les jeunes enfants parce que la discothèque est à même l'hôtel..Il n'y a pas de service banquaire à cette hôtel....
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Les 2 piscines sont belles et spacieuses.Le restaurant à la carte (chinois).La propreté de ma chambre et le service avec Lourdes..

The weak points
Pas de banque,pas beaucoup d'animation,la plage pas de parasol proche,pas de bar,elle a été nettoyer une seule fois durant notre séjour.

Monarc.ca Certified

Nathalie G.
St-Amable, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2015-01-09 to 2015-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-18

 Acceptable

le bris des ascenseurs,était un irritant, surtout pour ceux qui sont au 7e. La bouffe était acceptable. Moi je suis là pour le soleil, et j'ai eu ce que je voulais.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le soleil et les gens souriants

The weak points
refaire le site web, punterena et caleta ne sont pas ensemble. caleta est fermé. il y a 3 restaurants, le tennis, il y en a pas a moins de mettre une cloture autour de terrain, sinon vous aller courir après la balle.Pas mal de réno serait le bienvenue.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jean Dagenais
St-Denis-Sur-Richelieu, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2015-01-01 to 2015-01-15 (14 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Puntarena

Nice hotel, good facilities, very clean. I thought food was horrible but i am a chef and i dont expect good food in Cuba, i heard others say they liked it
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
pools, not crowded

The weak points
food music in disco until 2 am

Monarc.ca Certified

P Barton
Collingwood, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2015-01-05 to 2015-01-12 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-14

 Belle semaine au Puntarena

Mon mari et moi avons bien apprécié notre semaine au Puntarena. Étant difficiles sur la bouffe, nous avons été agréablement surpris par le choix et la qualité des mets servis au buffet. Tout était excellent. La plage est très belle avec des palapas et des chaises longues en grand nombre. Il y avait beaucoup d'oiseaux pélican; c'était intéressant de les observer.
La chambre était un peu désuète, mais le matelas et les oreillers très confortables. Le mini frigo et la clim fonctionnait bien. La salle de bain désuète aussi, mais tout fonctionnait (sèche-cheveux, douche). Tout l'hôtel était très propre. Les aires communes étaient bien aménagées. Il y avait plusieurs chats en liberté et on pouvait interagir avec eux; nous avons bien aimé leur présence.
Pour les petits défauts: les ascenseurs étaient délabrés et lents; on ne pouvait pas changer d'argent à l'hôtel;odeur de pétrole parfois la nuit; pas moyen de trouver des allumettes, ils n'en vendent pas à la boutique de l'hôtel(nous sommes non-fumeurs, mais pour le folklore on avait acheté des cigares cubains). Finalement le plus gros problème que nous avons eu, c'est la clientèle; heureusement c'est arrivé à la fin de notre séjour. Des jeunes québécois (18-21 ans) ont occupés les chambres adjacentes à la nôtre; non seulement ils ont fait du bruit, mais aussi des actes de vandalisme dans le couloir: bris de porte et fenêtres, arracher les lumières de sécurité et répandu du ketchup partout. J'avais honte de l'espèce humaine.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le buffet, la plage, le bar à café, le personnel, la propreté, spectacles de danse en soirée, les chats

The weak points
Les ascenseurs, pas de change d'argent, mauvaise odeur de gaz (surtout la nuit), certains clients délinquants

Chantalbel
Laval, QC
Stay from 2014-12-28 to 2015-01-04 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-13

 Bien dans l'ensemble.

Beau temps,belle plage, bon café et personnel accueillant.Tout inclus, mais plusieurs petits extras. salubrité dans les salles de bain, pas très agréable. Sollicitations quasi constante pour le pourboire (structuré ainsi), nourriture potable, beaux spectacles en soirée, jolis cocktails, vins de table sans qualité pour la bouche, belles piscines, bon service à la chambre, Taxis qui te chargent trop,taux de change désavantageux et petit change difficile à obtenir, services de boisson pour liliputiens, rencontre agréables assurées. Bien dans l'ensemble. Internet un peu cher.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, beau temps, personnel et rencontres intéressantes internationales.

The weak points
Salubrité, nourriture,sollicitations, produits chers (souvenirs).

Monarc.ca Certified

Carol Chabot
La Malbaie, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-12-24 to 2014-12-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-02

 Puntarena

Bottom line is for $704.00 all in plus 70 cuc to upgrade to a newly completed ocean view room though x mas time it was a hell of a deal. I have been to this hotel before so to be honest a new what to expect and if your into drinking, smoking, laying in the sun on the beach or at the huge pool here with swim up bar this is the place. Food was fine typical 3* food the pool side bbq was great. I would not bring small children here its more of an adult scene.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Easy to get to everything, good coffee had gin, whiskey and diet ku kola by the can at the bar. New renovated rooms

The weak points
Only weak point for me there was no bacon in the morning but my heart thank me for that

Monarc.ca Certified

D
Niagara On The Lake, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-12-20 to 2014-12-27 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-01

 Une autre belle semaine au puntarena

un 8 jours en occupation simple $709.00 moins la taxe fixe de $ 310.00 ( pour 2014 )il reste $ 399.00 pour l'avion et l'hotel .si vous avez envie de chiâler tournez-vous vers nos gouvernements et non la nourriture à l'hotel.si vous voulez toujours critiquer la bouffe à cuba C'EST PCQ VOUS ÊTES CHEAP ET CHIÂLEUX RESTEZ DONC CHEZ-VOUS À MANGER VOTRE BALONÉ !pour les autres BONNE VACANCES !
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
situation,plage ,piscines

The weak points
ça va aller mieux le playa caleta est fermé pour rénovations ensuite ce sera le puntarena

Monarc.ca Certified

Nelson
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-12-12 to 2014-12-20 (8 days)
Written on 2014-12-22

 Très bien pour le prix !!!

Nous avons séjourné au Puntarena du 13 au 19 déc 2014.
réception très rapide notre chambre était déja prêt à notre arrivé à 13:00 check-in en 10 min (bravo!!!). chambre au 7 ième (1736) vue sur la voie maritime. chambre propre lit king, frigo fonctionne bien pas manquer de rien. seul hic odeur de pétrole du à une refinerie pas loin (odeur sourtout la nuit et tôt le matin). toilette fontionne très bien (avec papier hygienique). air clim ok. eau chaude bien mais ne penser pas prendre un bain chaud la bas. le ressort vieux mais en fontion la section CALETA est fermé pour rénovations. la pire chose pour nous fut le buffet (le pire de tous a cuba je croit).. mais le restos à la carte sont très bien nous avons fait l'oriental 3 fois vraiment très bien !!! la plage très belle et très large mais un peu plus d'entretien serait apprécier. le personnel vraiment un des meilleur ça vaut plus qu'un 5 étoiles. ils sont vraiment super !!! le reste très bien le café au coffee bar est excellent les burgers et grill cheeze du midi au snack bar très bien aussi, le vin rouge et le blanc sont bien (vin à la bouteille) nous avons manquer de rien si ce n'est que il n'y a pas beaucoup de francophone à cette hotel qui est très prisée par les Russe mais ont y fait de belle rencontre si vous êtes ouvert aux autres (car oui il y a des russes désagréables mais il y a aussi des québécois comme cela). P.S pensez à vistier Varadero et y manger vous ne serez pas déçu
Pour les maniac d'internet le wi/fi fonctionne seulement dans le lobby 1 et 2 au cout de 5 cuc pur 1 hrs
payé 450 $ can/pers pour 6 jours
pas fait d'activitées cette semaine
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le resto oriental, le personnel, la vue, le cafe bar avec piano et artistes le prix

The weak points
le buffet, odeur de pétrole, les clients cheap et vilains !!!

Monarc.ca Certified

Lebubu
Vercheres, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-12-13 to 2014-12-18 (5 days)
Written on 2014-12-24

 Nice time at puntarenas

I have a good time make friend and enjoy my time at puntarenas
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
I have a good time overall,nice place,beaches,love the pizza the italian restaurant the best one

The weak points
elevator broken twice in 1 week

Monarc.ca Certified

Rafael Joaquin Joaquin Olea
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-12-06 to 2014-12-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-15

 Much better than anticipated

Having bought last minute and CHEAP we expected the worst room available, as seasoned travellers to Cuba (2 to 3 times per year) we were really Impressed with the Puntarena. The location was known to us we knew about the refurbishment. This Hotel far exceeded what we expected! clean, great staff good food even for Cuban standards
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff.

The weak points
None

Monarc.ca Certified

St. Thomas
St. Thomas, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-28 to 2014-12-06 (8 days)
Written on 2014-12-08

 Hotel Puntarena

We were there Nov 17-24th! We will not be going back to Varadero period! 2cd time there and nothing has changed. The place were we where this time has major flooding issues with the 3 days of tropical rain we had. The building itself is in need of structural work!! Fingerprints everywhere, ceilings and mold where evident, other patrons unfriendly if you didn't speak there language. Maid service was good and thats about it!! Food yuck same thing day in day out. Beach for Cuba bragging about there beaches was never raked, garbage all over mixed with seaweed. No activities what so ever, swim up bar not opened till last day, which when used, was like we where interupting the bartenders family day rude!!
Typical Cuban lack of effort is very apparent at this hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Building didn't fall down while we where there and all the elevators didn't quit still had the 2 that where iffy most times

The weak points
Everything! It is not a place to go

Monarc.ca Certified

Gayle
New Sarepta, AB
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-17 to 2014-11-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-27

 15th-22nd November

The Staff were amazing, The food was OK 3* but there was plenty of variations to suit everyone, The pork and Chicken were great. The three Al A carte restaurants were very good. The chineese restaurant and the Shrimp was fantastic. The Coffee Bar was Second to none, There was no pressure to tip ! Unfortunetly it rained while we were there for 3 days and there is nothing to do !! We lost all the US TV Stations due to the weather. Entertainment was limited. Not a place for KIDs One of the 3 lifts were broken and the other 2 were a little on and off !!! Beach and Pools were Great.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Coffee bar, Pasta and Egg Bars, Al A Carte Restuarants, Hamburgers, Beach and Pools, Room & Bathroom

The weak points
Entertainment, Lifts, TV reception, Cost and Lack of Internet/ Wifi, Bathroom towels, Buffet fish,

Monarc.ca Certified

Daniel Morton
Seaforth, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-15 to 2014-11-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-25

 Need to improve in some areas.

no hot water in bathroom,sliding doors hard to open and close,no deadbolt room door,kepted running out of food,no currency exchange at resort,get what you pay for, did have a good time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
good staff, clean rooms,nice beach

The weak points
cold water in rooms,noisey,more selection in buffet.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cynthia Glutek
Duncan, BC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-04 to 2014-11-19 (15 days)
Written on 2014-11-21

 No surprises.

Food was so so, peoples are exceptional, service was great, and they worked hard to keep hotel clean. We booked at Playa Caleta but were sent to Puntarena...don't get tricked like us cause Puntarena is a lot worst than Caleta where they renovated rooms.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The workers.

The weak points
Too far from city, beach isn't sand but corals, rooms need upgrade.

Monarc.ca Certified

Diane V.
L Ile-Bizard, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-11 to 2014-11-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-20

 A eviter a tout prix!

Juste deux mots : NEVER AGAIN! Je voyage beaucoup mais l’expérience que j’ai eu dans cet hôtel m’a donné envie de réduire ma semaine de vacances a un weekend end ! (et j’en ai pourtant que 2 dans l’année…) D’apparence extérieure correcte mais vieillotte, cela semble être du standard d’un 3.5 étoile. On déchante vite quand on découvre la chambre qui pour moi ne valait même pas la cabane ou j’ai résidé au fin fond de la Birmanie pour 5$/nuit. On voit qu’aucune maintenance n’est effectuée dans cet hôtel qui part en poussière. Nous avions une chambre qui semblait avoir été construite des matériaux inutilisés de l’hôtel, a l’aspect sal et vétuste. Le pire étant les installations mises pour faire « jolie » dans la chambre. Nous avions une télé qui ne fonctionnait pas, un sèche-cheveux non plus et la clim n a fonctionné que le dernier jour de notre séjour (on ne sait pourquoi). Le pire étant la horde de cafards qui remontaient la nuit et envahissait notre salle de bain, toujours très agréable quand on se lève en pleine nuit de se retrouver nez à nez avec des « intrus ». le deuxième jour, semble qu’ il y a eu des problèmes avec un tuyau, on avait l’impression d’être à côté d’une cascade toute la nuit. Je ne parle pas non plus de la chambre avec porte communicante fermée ou les fumées des gens de la chambre d a côté envahissait tous les soirs notre chambre, de sorte que nous avions l’impression d’être à l’intérieur d’un fumoir de country club. Je ne parle pas non plus des 3 jours ou j’ai été constamment « indisposée » par la diarrhée. C’est aussi une malchance d’être dans un hôtel qui néglige de remplir de papier ses toilettes. C’était le fun de trimbaler un rouleau de PQ avec moi constamment pendant mon séjour. Hélas, j’étais loin d’être la seule à être tombée malade. Le positif : je n’ai pas pris les kilos que je pensais prendre mais j’en ai même perdue… Quant au personnel, du moins souriant, je n’ai que peu apprécié leur constante « proposition » pour acheter des cigarettes, cigares ou rhum a multiples reprises lors de nos repas au restaurant principal, même après avoir refusé à de nombreuses reprises. Je suis en vacances, j’estime pouvoir manger en paix et non être au marché de touristes ! Mais il semble que le service soit « a la carte », dépendant de combien tu donnes…bref, ça ne donne pas envie de donner le moindre tip au final. Moi qui pensais passer des vacances tranquilles et romantiques en couple, ça a bien gâché une partie de notre séjour. Heureusement qu’on ne passe pas son temps dans sa chambre ou dans un hôtel en une semaine
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
la plage a coté, proche de l aeroport,

The weak points
chambre médiocre et vétuste, personnel de l hotel te demandant constamment de leur acheter cigarettes et autres, hygiene limite car j ai été malade 3 jours sur 7 en mangeant la bas.

Monarc.ca Certified

Sand.
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-10 to 2014-11-17 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-19

 The best, the staff

Any deficiency in the physical part, is surpassed by the friendliness of its staff.
This has only come back for the third time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach and all staff

The weak points
Nasty smell in the bathroom and closing some areas

Monarc.ca Certified

Jose Moreno
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-10 to 2014-11-17 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-19

 Varadero and beyond...

Absolutely no complaints! Hotel also has a contact point for "Not Just another Tourist" which instilled the sense that my trip contributed somewhat to the community too.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, atmosphere, service. Even the resort pets were great! Hahaha great fishing, clean clean beaches, streets, very very safe, family friendly. I will absolutely go back and highly recommend this place to family & friends. towels We're shaped into swans

The weak points
The free shuttle into town never had enough room and no other was scheduled to take the remaining passengers. Elevator was "casually slow" haha

Monarc.ca Certified

Terry Spence
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-11-01 to 2014-11-08 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-10

 Voyage plein de surprise

Mon premier voyage seule et j'avais tellement peur de m'emmerder.
Mais surprise.Dès mon arrivé à l'hôtel, j'ai rencontré des gens super cool.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
J'avais demandé une chambre avec vue sur la mer. C'était WOW

The weak points
Il m'était impossible de rejoindre la personne de la compagnie aérienne et aucun retour d'appel. J'ai pas aimé

Monarc.ca Certified

Lise Narbonne
Valleyfield, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-09-26 to 2014-10-03 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-08

 Une semaine splendide

Semaine reposante. Hors saison donc, peu de monde et peu d'animation. C'est ce que nous recherchions. L'hôtel est bien, le personnel attentif et souriant. Un plus, la navette qui nous amène au centre ville chaque jour sans frais. Aussi l'hôtel est assez proche de la ville pour y aller à pied si on est en forme, à peu près 20 minutes. Les chambres sont rénovées et confortables. Nous avons bien aimé notre séjour et pourrions y retourner.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Emplacement. Navette. Chambre. Soleil.

The weak points
L'ascenseur qui mériterait une rénovation.

Monarc.ca Certified

Francine
Brossard, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-08-31 to 2014-09-07 (7 days)
Written on 2014-09-09

 Solo trip

I stayed at the Playa Caleta last year and had no problems. This year I stayed at Puntarena I had a horrible room location, very noisy, many things going on in the hotel. I asked for a new room 3 times and got the run around. I was traveling alone and was willing to stay in the other building but got no where and had to suffer through it. I would recommend they up the min check in age to at least 21 to avoid having a bunch of immature kids running around.
They should also have bracelets in a different color for underage kids so I would not have to run into to drunk kids under 18.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
I don't mind the location I like that it's close to the airport. Friendly staff some remembered me from coming last year which was memorable to me. Beach is lovely, food was not too bad I could always find something, fresh bread daily was awesome.

The weak points
Last year this hotel was closed for renovations, I am not sure what they did as the room I got was not great. Air conditioner barely worked, bathroom was very run down. You can hear everything all the traffic and shuttle buses in the a.m.

Monarc.ca Certified

Courtney Boudreau
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-04-06 to 2014-04-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-17

 AWESOME

I went to this resort by myself for a well needed holiday. Not knowing what to expect tavelling alone, I have never felt safer. I met awesome people and went a few times to the markets on my own. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely go back to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly. Beaches and pools were awesome. Close to downtown.

The weak points
Food and variety of food.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ursula Dredge
Freelton, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-26 to 2014-04-02 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-04

 Puntarena Resort

room was adequate, good ac. and marked 110 volt outlet. Didn't find fridge until late and then would not use as it had mold on front of door. I would recommend sign or notice for reason patrons not to flush toilet paper. provision of filtered water and working, useable fridge would be a plus.
Beach could have been cleaned better. I found the steep incline to the ocean made it difficult to access.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
clean, comfortable room. polite and friendly staff. Good activities and entertainment. Safe environment. Helpful to have free shuttle bus service to town.

The weak points
Food often overcooked and bland tasting. Beach incline awkward for seniors or children to access. Filtered water and fridge not provided. Often too many loud, drunken party ers disturbing events.

Monarc.ca Certified

R. Nicolucci
Brampton, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-21 to 2014-03-28 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-31

 Not going back to this resort

Requested non-smoking room - this didn't seem to exist as our entire floor seemed to wreak of smoke everyday (if you're a non-smoker this is not the place for you). The noise from the nightly entertainment was very loud every night until around 3pm (if you have kids this is not the place for you). On at least 3 days/nights the sulfur smell from the nearby refinery was extremely strong and very unpleasant. I, and a number of other tourists in the hotel, got sick from the food. I was sick for 3 days. After one day of rain, the potlight in the bathroom started to drip water.
The beach was pretty good, however and unfortunately, a male tourist from this resort drowned in the ocean while I was there. It was not the resort's fault - it was a tragic accident.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was ok.

The weak points
Everything else.

Monarc.ca Certified

Not Impressed Traveller
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-23

 Pour le prix,c correct

c etait mon premier voyage et je ne m'attendait pas a grand choses.pour 750$,loger nourrit,alcool,aller retour,transfert...je dirais que jen ai eu pour mon argent.la plage etait belle,la femme de chambre tres gentille et souriante,l'hotel est vieille et les chambre ont besoin d'etre renove du cote du puntarena,la bouffe etait...correcte.jai jamais essayer ailleur auparavant donc je ne peux trop en dire a ce sujet.le service,correcte mais des fois un peu long,certain(e)n'etait pas tres souriant.bref,pour le prix,faut pas s'attendre a grand chose pi apres on est satisfait!!!la plage contient beaucoup de coquillage casser.des fois des odeurs de petrole et d'egout,il fesait des reparations pas tres loin..
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
au fur et a mesure que la semaine avancait,le staff etait de plus en plus souriant et amical.la plage,le prix

The weak points
la nourriture du snak-bar et du resto de la plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

tom
Laval, QC
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-23

 Don't eat, and be happy

I wish to warn you of a medical safety problem at this hotel. I am a doctor.

One after another, both of us contracted moderately severe gastroenteritis during our week at Puntarena, lasting about 3 days. (One of us was then reinfected, with a faster recovery.)

Of the people we mentioned this to during the trip, about half had also experienced gastroenteritis during this trip. Others were very surprised, saying they had been to this hotel several times before, and not heard of anyone being infected.

From the symptoms and course, this was almost certainly a coliform infection. It receded when we avoided all possible contaminated food and drink, returned when we ate and drank normally, and disappeared immediately when we returned to Canada.

The infection was not acquired from the sea or the swimming pool (one of us got ill before swimming). It could have been the local water. We never drank the water, but (a) we cleaned our teeth in hotel tapwater, (b) the milk and soft drinks are made from local water with milk-powder/syrup and CO2, (c) the salad greens are probably washed in local water. Avoiding all of these ended the infection.

We have no wish to complain. From the fact that vacationers at Puntarena were unaffected in previous years, we strongly suspect that something has gone wrong with the water purification system at this hotel, and hope this note will assist you.

Apart from the water infection, we enjoyed our holiday very much. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the hotel is well-designed (but getting old). The weather is PERFECT – hot but nice breeze to blow away insects. The beach is beautiful, with even a volleyball coach. Your own safe in the room, your own fridge, fantastic coffee free on every floor, beautiful pool, excellent day-trips, prices low, local people very friendly, wow!

We have three criticisms.

First, the level of drunkenness among the guests was very high indeed: very loud, clumsy people make poor company. We realize it is very hard to control this on an “all-included” trip.

Second, the food was varied but not very good. Again, we suspect Canadians are hard to please!

Third, there was loud latin music EVERYWHERE, all day long! Some quiet periods would be nice?

A. Carr and M. Taylor, 23 March 2014
carrt7@gmail.com, taylorm18@gmail.com
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, facilities, friendly staff, relaxed hours, amazing coffee all day, good security for valuables

The weak points
Contaminated water (or something), food varied but not great

Monarc.ca Certified

Tony Carr, Matthew Taylor
Dundas, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-14 to 2014-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-23

 Third Time Back

This is our third time back to this resort - because we love Cuba and you can't beat the price at this resort. Don't expect 5-star, because it's not, but the pool area and beach are fabulous, the hotel and food are acceptable, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, albeit getting a little run down.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and water are second to none - absolutely beautiful. We also like the location - miles of beach to walk, and you can also walk into downtown Veredaro.

The weak points
The room are getting quite old, and could really use an update.

Monarc.ca Certified

Harvey and Linda
Spruce Grove, AB
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-03-03 to 2014-03-10 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-12

 Disappointed

Cockroaches in our room,the buffet cooking area was not clean, the food had no taste and it was reheated and the same everyday.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and close to downtown

The weak points
Needs a reno and a good chef

Monarc.ca Certified

David Belcastro
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Bellevue Puntarena Playa Caleta Resort
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-11
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Blau Varadero

Blau Varadero

Varadero


415 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


473 reviews


Beaches

Club Los Delfines

Club Los Delfines

Varadero


199 reviews


Families

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Couples

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Singles

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Seniors

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry