Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar
4.214.214.214.214.21
4.21 based on 313 reviews
#3 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (467)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Ahhhh Relaxation

, Sault Ste. Marie, HA
2023-02-02
A very relaxing week at Iberostar Playa Pilar. Staff are attentive and soon get to know you and are engaging and anticipate yor needs...sugar cane with your cafe madam? The oceanview junior suite in Building 2 had a breathtaking view and was quiet and tucked away from any activity. Found wonderful shells including conches on walk to Playa Pilar beach. Snorkeling was fun and easy right out front. Kids seemed to love the engaging staff for the kid's programs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The view, the staff, the breads by Julio, the serving staff like Dany and Jany, the gardeners making palm leaf hats and bowls and opening up fresh coconut for you. Yenia and many of the lobby staff including Oney in cigar bar
The weak points
Shortages faced by cuba that require you to be flexible and pivot in your requests(carry toilet paper off resort and sometimes on resort), need general maintenance of buildings and furniture as overdue. Electrical and internet unpredictable
Certified

Excellent Holiday

, Winnipeg, MB
2023-01-29
We returned for the second time to the amazing Iberostar playa Pilar resort Jan 7-21. We had previously visited the resort in 2019 for 2 wks. We had a fantastic vacation

We spent most of our time on the beach which always had plenty of beach chairs available and Basil was more than happy to accommodate us. We made it to Pilar beach twice: once taking the path and the other on the ocean shore. 15-20 min walk by path. Little longer by beach. Bring water shoes!!

The beach bar was always waiting with smiling faces from Frank, Yolenia and Maryland and let me tell you they make fantastic drinks! (Havana special and Rum punch were our favs!

The buffet was always offering chicken ,beef ,and pork at both lunch and dinner. There was always lots of cheese and sliced meat options as well. Breakfast was always welcomed with delicious omelettes. There was even lots of real bacon daily ! Hats off to Daria who gave us the best service!!

We visited all the a la carte restaurants; our favourite was the Japanese and our favourite chef there was Anatolli.

Lobby serving staff was very good early in the morning for cappuccinos from Daily and China.

We went to a few shows during our visit and I was really impressed with the talent!

You must stop by the cigar bar and meet Oney! He makes the best drinks and serves up the best wine! I discovered he is also a cigar sommelier!

The real “Pearl “ of this resort are the people who work there!! Everyone we encountered was always smiling! Special thanks to Yenia for her exceptional customer service! I cannot say enough about the way she goes above and beyond to help make her customers happy! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, customer service, Pilar beach

Definitely not 5 star

, Orangeville, ON
2023-01-26
We stayed there for 7 days. Its my 4 th visit in Cuba Its not more than 3 star resort. Food service at snack bar is worst I've seen in cuba. One of the bartenders was literally wiping off the froth of beer glass with his bare hands and the second bartender came and he literally blew the froth away with his mouth, it was disgusting and they were laughing about it.
At snack bar a vegetarian couple asked for fries and the cook there added ham sausages in the same oil in front of them .
Every time My wife get coffee at snack bar or reception bar...they don't have sugar lot of times... unbelievable....
Overall poor management
Extremely poor service....
Rooms : air conditioner panel not operating
Cold water in shower for days . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Clean pools
The weak points
Poor service by staff. No care of hygiene.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Poor Sanitary measures

Great Resort !

, Saint John, NB
2023-01-21
We travelled to Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar Jan 7th – 14th 2023. After 25 trips to Cuba this was our 4th time to this beautiful resort and as always it didn't disappoint!!
With beautiful surroundings and genuine people! you cannot go wrong with choosing Playa Pilar to spend your vacation! Very nice accommodations, great ocean views from most rooms, a good selection of food to choose from and of course the weather is much nicer than Eastern Canada at this time of year!
We found the effects of COVID to be minimal during our time here, a couple of supply chain issues like what we have at home but not a deal breaker. With that in mind just come prepared with condiments you like such as ketchup, mustard, relish etc. Maybe pack some tissue, an extra beach towel and you are good to go.
But as beautiful as this resort is it is the wonderful hard-working people there that make it a Gem in Cuba, folks such as Wilber, one of the bartenders at the Snack Bar, always a “Hola” and smile, quick with a special drink and a story. My friend Yadier on the front desk, funny, caring and always helpful to everyone. And of course, Yenia in customer service, she is one of the most caring persons you will have the pleasure of meeting here! A definite asset to the Iberostar Team and they are lucky to have such a person.
We will be back!!
Cheers!!

Dapa81 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The people

2022 Christmas Vacation

, Leduc, AB
2023-01-15
We travelled here over the Christmas holidays (Dec 17-31). My wife, mother-in-law and myself. I've waited a while to post my review. We arrived at the resort around 3:00 pm after a long day of travel and had to wait for our room (no problem). Got our wristbands, sat in the lobby bar and had a coffee. Once our room was ready, we had the pleasure of riding in the golf cart with Niuvar (Cuban Vin Diesel). He made sure our luggage was looked after, including my MIL's walker. We were in a suite in building 6 – exactly the room that we had booked. We had asked for a second bed to be brought in for my MIL. No problems there. The rooms were set up for 2 (2 towels, beach and bath, etc), however, all you had to do was ask for extras – they were more than happy to provide additional, if they had it. Our maid, Disney, was very detail oriented and always graced us with a towel animal (highlight for my MIL).
Yes, I've read the reviews about no towels, can't exchange the beach towels, etc. Instead of complaining, did you bother to take the time to ask and find out exactly what the issue is/was? The laundry facility is in Moron (1.5 hours away). Electricity, fuel and water are being rationed. In August, there was an explosion at the island's fuel storage facility in Matanzas. To see the magnitude of this event, you can refer to this link https://www.cnn.com/2022/08/09/americas/matanzas-cuba-worst-fire-intl-hnk/index.html
I drove by the explosion site, on my way from Varadero to Havana – so seen it first hand. The line ups at the gas stations, rolling black outs, water being diverted. These resources, or lack of, are not the fault of the resort. They do the best they can with what they have.
Our vacation was what we made it – we loved the boardwalk at the beach, the snorkeling (saw all sorts of sea life, including starfish, sting rays, barracuda's, needle nose fish etc). The 4, sometimes 5 pelicans were a joy to watch, so much so that we named them – George, Henry, Frank, Carl and Dave. There was also a 1-legged seagull that we named Larry. We saw Steve the salamander daily in our room. The lady's (Maryland and ?) and Abel at the beach bar were absolutely fantastic. Maryland always had a smile and greeted me everyday with “Mi Amor”. Andres and Basil at the beach always asked us if we needed loungers. The big issue around the beach was that guests would take up the beach beds and not utilize them for hours – even worse, they would take up a bed at the pool also.
The buffet – you always found something eat. At breakfast, you had 2 egg stations and could have eggs done to your preference. Pastries were exceptional – all made in-house. Fresh bread, assortment of cheeses, meats and fruits. We were always greeted with a “coke” and a smile by Anna and Vanessa – they were our lovely servers at breakfast and lunch. For lunch, you had a choice to eat at the buffet or at the snack bar/beach grill. The service at the snack bar was slow(er) – perhaps an area of improvement. Most days you could get fries (bring your own ketchup), ham/cheese or tuna sandwich, chicken strips, hot dogs and cheese pizza (usually after 1:30). Dinner buffet had similar options – 2 grill stations (one for meat and the other for seafood). Another area of improvement would be for the buffet items to be labelled. As a non-pork eater, I found the labelling of dishes to be hit or miss. Having said this, Leo Silla (Food and Beverage Manager) and his team did a fantastic job every day, including the spread that was put on Christmas Eve. Leo was not afraid to get his hands dirty – always with a broom or mop when needed. You also had a choice of 4 a la cartes for dinner – Japanese, Gourmet, Cuban and Mediterranean. Our faves were the Japanese (x2) and Gourmet (x2). We always finished off the night playing a game of crib and a drink from our fave bartender Oney at the cigar bar or a latte, Spanish coffee brought to us by either Mabe or Chyna. Oney makes the best cheladas and espresso martinis.
We didn't get a chance to meet a lot of the pool entertainment group, however, Michael and his crew (including Babo) did a fantastic job keeping the guests entertained, even during the four days of rainy weather.
And last but not least – Yenia Rodriguez Batista – she goes above and beyond. Handles all complaints and issues with a smile. Her smile is infectious. Extremely polite and has a genuine care for the guests.
Overall, my family and I had a great experience at the Iberostar Playa Pilar. Would we return, yes. Why? For the people and staff at this resort. They work hard. Always have a smile. Go the extra mile (at least that was our experience). Treat them well. Always say please and thank you and you will get that in return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Bon séjour

, Lévis, QC
2023-01-08
Séjour globalement agréable et très amélioré par Yenia, une employée formidable, en charge du service client.

Resort en très bon état, propre. Bons restos à la carte et chambres agréables. La piscine est également très bien.
Playa Pilar est à 15-20 minutes de marche.

Le point à améliorer est la disponibilité des chaises à la plage durant les vacances scolaires. Il faut y aller vers 7:00 pour avoir des chaises pour la journée. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-01-12
Cher Mathieu, Nous voulons avant tout profiter de cette occasion pour exprimer notre gratitude pour votre évaluation amicale lors de votre dernier séjour. Nous vous sommes également reconnaissants pour vos commentaires constructifs, et, toujours heureux de recevoir des suggestions sur la façon dont nous pouvons améliorer nos prestations pour intensifier la satisfaction de nos clients chaque fois que possible. Nous espérons avoir l'honneur de répéter cette expérience avec vous très bientôt. Cordialement, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Super vacances

, La Prairie, QC
2023-01-05
Nous avons passé une incroyable semaine à cette hôtel !! Je recommande sans hésiter. Personnel acceuillant avec le sourire, dévouer. Endroit très propre et bien entretenu, malgré la situation de Cuba nous avons manqué de rien, il font beaucoup avec peu. Restaurant à la carte très bon, réserver le japonais délicieux !!! Beau setup de trottoir pour ce rendre à la mer avec escalier qui nous amène directement dans l'océan, bref nous serons de retour sous peu. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Fun Trip

, Brantford, ON
2023-01-05
Friendly staff, great snorkeling, clean and quiet spa area. Lots to do off the resort- hike along the beach to Playa Pilar. The small catamaran trip to snorkel off the island was awesome. Kayaks and paddle boats are free. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Lots to do off the resort- hike along the beach to Playa Pilar. The small catamaran trip to snorkel off the island was awesome. Kayaks and paddle boats are free. Ocean view from the room was beautiful.the bread in the buffet was fantastic.
The weak points
Some issues with supply of toilet paper in common bathrooms. Long line ups at the buffet.

Playa Pilar review

, Paris, ON
2023-01-04
We returned to Iberostar Playa Pilar because we loved our visit there in April of 2017... I can't say the resort physically is in the same condition as it was then but it is still a beautiful location to go to, there were a few things lacking but the worst was pool towels so maybe bring a couple of those thin kind you see online (they would be light to pack and very useful for you)...

Yenia was wonderful any questions we had or help we needed she was on it and very sweet.
Oney who works in the cigar bar makes the best cocktails! I was impressed with his services and he was also very kind.

All the servers were lovely and happy to see us but we were always kind to them and cared how their day was going too. I think the resort is short staffed at the moment so people complaining about waiting and slowness its really not their fault they are doing the best they can. I would suggest to bring a book to the snack bar, relax and enjoy a drink and the view while you wait, you are on vacation after all..

We always over pack incase anyone is in need of anything this time I didn't and should have, I wouldn't normally pack ketchup or mustard or any sauces but the country is in a different place these days and I'm sure having a hard time getting some basic things so bring toilet paper, hot sauce or anything basic that you can't live without each day.

I enjoyed the food very much! I never went hungry nor did I have a bad meal there.

We went to Pillar Beach 2 days and had lunch at their restaurant and its a must try!

The first day we arrived at the resort we walked down to the beach and it was a sight for sore eyes. I was sad to see garbage and dishes left everywhere from tourists! Please its not hard to bring your dishes back up when you are done with them and when we did that the servers recognized us for doing it and treated us extra nice to us. Keep the beach clean and beautiful! If you can travel to the snack bar to retrieve yourself some lunch why can't you take another walk back and bring empty plates and garbage where they belong.

The pool was beautiful, clean, and fun... it is hard to get loungers by the pool we had to get up early to save some which is annoying but manageable.

If I see a good deal for this resort come up again I would mostly likely go back but come more prepared. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

A wonderful vacation

, Sault Sainte Marie, ON
2023-01-04
From the sip of the first full-bodied coffee of the day in the hotel lobby to the last Spanish Coffee made in the evening this resort staff goes beyond its duty to please it's guests.
A wonderful well-kept pool area, a unique beachfront and exceptional a-la-cart dining options make this resort a great choice to visit. Family friendly and very accommodating staff. Great buffet options daily at each meal. Will definitely return for another visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great staff, amenities and food choices. Wonderful pool and unique beach.
The weak points
Public washrooms could be cleaned and supplies refilled more often.

Hotel Review

, Scarborough, ON
2023-01-03
This hotel exceeds our expectation. We had a wonderful time during the holiday break. I could say that this is one of the best travels we had after the pandemic. The food, entertainment, resort and amenities are really the best. The only thing missing is the napkins and ketsup which my kids find very essential during meal time.
The people working there are absolutely the best specially Yemia who is super friendly and attends to all your needs and questions. We also met beautiful people specially the night performers who became friends to us already. We enjoyed the games in the pool and the night entertainment with dance lessons after the show.
Over all experience deemed a perfect score for us!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Christmas Hiliday

, Duncan, BC
2023-01-03
Spent 2 weeks here from Dec 17-31 with my daughter and son in law.
I'm 81 years old and had my walker with me, so everything was very easily accessible.
We stayed in building 6 which was very local to everything so not a lot of walking.
The boardwalk beachfront was a truly nice experience, could sit there and enjoy the day watching all the wildlife, pelicans, other birds and all the fish
Access to the water was easy as well, water shoes were a good thing to have as some areas were rocky, but there were a lot of sandbars and very many shallow areas that ere very calm and easy for me to navigate.
We had a wonderful suite for myself and daughter and SIL I had my own toilet and sink, they even brought in an actual bed(not a cot) which they put in the living room with still plenty of room, my daughter and SIL room was separate and spacious and we shared the shower.
Our maid Desnay did an amazing job keeping our room clean, and supplying us with all our needs, even got cute little blanket animals in my bed daily
Yenia our customer service rep, did an AMAZING job of helping us and making sure things were going smoothly she really is an asset to the iberostar team.
As a very seasoned traveller who has been to many tropical places, and to Cuba more than once. It's the people of Cuba that set this place apart.
Everyday we were greeted with smiles, kindness,and care. From our waitresses in the Buffet Ana and Vanessa, our morning coffee waitress China, to The ladies at the beach bar, who knew how to make the perfect strawberry smoothie.All the entertainment staff especially Babo. The Christmas Eve Gala was spectacular… Leo( food and beverage manager) and alllll his staff really went above and beyond.
Were there some issues, yes of course, the people there are doing the best they can with the supplies they have.
So Thank You staff of Iberostar Playa Pilar for some great memories
Show less [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Experience of a lifetime

, Badger, NL
2023-01-03
Had the best time with my girlfriend on this trip, was so much to do and the staff were so amazing , would 100% go back here. The energetic crew definitely makes this trip worth the time and money , 10/10 would recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Rooms are great, food is amazing , and the drinks are always cold , the staff is phenomenal

Great Vacation

, London, ON
2023-01-02
First time travel to Cuba and we absolutely loved it. The staff at this resort went above and beyond. Everyone was so friendly and helpful from the gardeners to the front desk staff. Big shout out to Yenia who answered all my questions before we even arrived and was very helpful during our stay.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well kept. All the gardeners do an excellent job at maintaining the grounds. The big selling feature of this resort was the boardwalk. My husband has mobility issues so the boardwalk was ideal. We found plenty of loungers at both the beach and the pool area. The whole resort is accessible.
Were there some issues, of course there were like with any resort you go to anywhere and we've been to Mexico, Jamaica and the D.R.. The issues we found were minor however and didn't take away from our vacation.
The best a la cartes were the Mediterranean and the Gourmet. If one bar didn't have something than another one usually did. Example the lobby bar didn't have pop but the cigar and sports bar did. We had no problem getting slushie drinks, the lobby bar always had some type of slush drink available.
The entertainment was good especially the dancers at the White Party.
The food was good but we did bring ketchup and mustard with us but they did have it at the buffet. Salt, pepper and napkins you just ask for and they bring them to you.
Overall we had a great vacation and would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Grounds, staff, boardwalk, cleanliness

Great Vacation

, London, ON
2023-01-02
First time travel to Cuba and we absolutely loved it. The staff at this resort went above and beyond. Everyone was so friendly and helpful from the gardeners to the front desk staff. Big shout out to Yenia who answered all my questions before we even arrived and was very helpful during our stay.
The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well kept. All the gardeners do an excellent job at maintaining the grounds. The big selling feature of this resort was the boardwalk. My husband has mobility issues so the boardwalk was ideal. We found plenty of loungers at both the beach and the pool area. The whole resort is accessible.
Were there some issues, of course there were like with any resort you go to anywhere and we've been to Mexico, Jamaica and the D.R.. The issues we found were minor however and didn't take away from our vacation.
The best a la cartes were the Mediterranean and the Gourmet. If one bar didn't have something than another one usually did. Example the lobby bar didn't have pop but the cigar and sports bar did. We had no problem getting slushie drinks, the lobby bar always had some type of slush drink available.
The entertainment was good especially the dancers at the White Party.
The food was good but we did bring ketchup and mustard with us but they did have it at the buffet. Salt, pepper and napkins you just ask for and they bring them to you.
Overall we had a great vacation and would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Grounds, staff, boardwalk, cleanliness

Great spot to relax and explore.

, Kingsville, ON
2022-12-31
Family vacation over Christmas. Resort was great. Staff was even better than great. Our concierge Yenia was over and above all our expectations. Bartenders Yulie and Onye were top notch, go visit them, the bar hut on the way to the beach and the cigar bar. The evening shows were very entertaining. Only thing I could criticize is the wait for food at the Snack bar, was a little longer than it should have been, not that we were even in a hurry.
The resort was very clean, our housekeeper was top notch as well, her name was Yudelkis. We were in Building #9, on the top floor. Great view of the ocean, beach etc. We stayed on the resort for the most part, one day we walked through the water to beach Playa Pilar, that 30 min walk was worth it, or you can take a bus. That beach is beautiful. But bring cash, drinks and food aren't cheap. Still worth the time to go see and enjoy.
Trip type
Vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Phenomenal Staff and Beautiful Resort

, Carp, ON
2022-12-31
We just spent a week at the resort and it was nothing short of amazing!! The resort is beautiful with lots of areas to lunge wether that's by the pool or the beach. The staff also kept the grounds very clean and in good shape! The rooms were very nice, we stayed in a junior suite. The housekeeping staff made sure the rooms were clean everyday and always left decorations with the blankets.

The staff were the highlight of the trip. The entertainment staff; Olexius, Leo, Babo, and Hasciel were super friendly and amazing to talk to! They always had fun activities going and there was lots of music and dancing when they were around! The bar staff as well were nothing short of friendly and welcoming and their service was quick, we would make frequent detours to the beach bar to go see Franco who took very good care of us as well as made the effort to get to know us throughout the week. Jose was particularly amazing as well and could be found at any bar throughout the day so we found ourselves searching him out for a nice conversation and quick service! The front of house staff were nothing short of amazing either, Yenia was in contact with us before the trip and assured to check in throughout the trip as well to make sure we had everything we needed! The kitchen staff at the buffet were always smiling and glad to see the guests, particularly Alexi on the grill who would make sure we were more than happy with our food everyday!

The dance shows every night were entertaining and to add to the fun they brought the guests up at the end of the show to teach us some dances!

The whole experience was one that we will not forget particularly because of the amazing staff like Olexius, Leo, Babo, Franco, Hasciel, Jose, Alexi and Yenia. They made our experience one that we will not forget and always made us feel welcome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Christmas Vacation!

, Kingsville, ON
2022-12-31
My family and I went on vacation for christmas holiday and had an amazing time. The beaches and pools were great and the people were so nice, Yenia, Judy and Oney especially.
We will definitely be booking another trip and recommending this resort to anyone looking to travel to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great Resort! Wonderful holiday!

, Hamilton, ON
2022-12-30
This hotel is super clean always. See Yenia for anything!!! She is the absolute best!!!!!! Buffet is above average. Best a La carte restaurant for us was the Cuban one. Friendly and knowledgeable staff!!! Amazing!! We will return again soon!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Yenia is the best. She will help with anything Food is above average for Cuba Super clean
The weak points
None

A dream location!

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2022-12-30
It is my first vacation in Cuba. What a pleasant surprise! What a beautiful location!!!
I went on this vacation without expectations after reading the comments on the Internet. But let me tell you one thing, you have to go and have your own experience.
It was amazing from the beginning to the end.
Staff:
- The community manager, Yenia- an amazing loving and caring person working long hours but always there for her team and clients with always a big smile on her face and hugs for those who wants them. Yenia you are an inspiration for me.
- The waitress, Dani and his assistant Surima. We were treated as family the entire time. Hugs ans kisses every day. They are so attentive and caring! They respect you so much. They are so humble! A behaviour example for many of us.
- The gardener, waiting for us with a coconut and taking the time to prepare it for us. The gardens are impeccable.
- The security staff always smiling and guiding you if needed it. Very worm and kind people.
- The clinging team is working hard and they are doing a great job.
I could continue.
Conclusion: THE BEST HOTEL!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
People - amazing!!!! Service- the best!!! Beaches- amazing!!! Clean and so well organized!! Food - super good good and amazing restaurants
The weak points
No weak points. Try it and let us know after.

Sea fun

, Halifax, NS
2022-12-29
Rooms need some TLC, but large and everything worked. We did our research on Cuba and weren't surprised by anything. Brought Tp for public Bathrooms as they were a hit or miss, seasonings, bug spray & masks n snorkels. Awesome beach and staff. Food is repetitive and not labelled but we didn't go hungry. All 4 of us had a wonderful time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
staff very willing & friendly, beach clean, main areas clean, AC worked great.
The weak points
Food not labelled, & repetitive, some hazards on the floors, main pathways at night aren't lit.

Christmas Family Vacation

, Kingsville, ON
2022-12-29
We had an amazing Christmas vacation - we were here from Dec 20-28 2022 with our kids, 20&13 years old
I literally researched for weeks before choosing Iberostar Playa Pilar.
This was our first trip to Cuba and certainly won't be our last. The staff made us feel like VIPs from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
Our rooms:
We had two adjoining rooms so our kids had their own beds. This would not have been the case in Mexico or Dominican unless you book two rooms / twice the price.
Beds were comfy and clean
Our chambermaid was amazing, she kept our room clean and made the cutest towel animals. We had bottled water provided daily and always had toilet paper. Bring your own TP, Kleenex, etc. And bring twice what you think you need if you can.
The beach:
This was one of the reasons we booked this resort - the water is almost always calm. We brought floaties from home and floated in the ocean as much as we could. We did have a few rain days but this is their rainy season (better than snow!) I brought goggles too, my husband and son saw many tropical fish and star fish within few feet from the shore. You can walk out very far before it becomes deep. We also walked down to Playa Pilar which was incredible. We walked in the water at low tide, it was so much fun. Highly recommend water shoes for this resort. I'd also recommend to bring snorkel gear and pool floaties.
The staff:
I honestly feel like we have made family in Cuba. The staff were incredible, they will do anything they can to make you happy. Yenia was the best. A new lifetime friend. Judy was our favourite day time bartender and Oney in the evening (bring your Yeti's!) And our chambermaid was so incredibly sweet. I don't know how to pronounce her name.
Some visitors were not so nice. This was embarrassing to see, Canadians acting so disrespectfully. You have to expect that you are not going to be at a 5 star Canadian or American hotel. This is a poor country and the people are not treated well by their government. They do the best they can with what they have available. Please bring extra Advil/Tylenol or your children's smaller clothing and leave it with the staff. They are so grateful for anything that we can leave. I came home with one nearly empty checked bag!
The food:
Ok, the food at the buffet is not great. But, we didn't go hungry, there was plenty of pesto pasta, rice, bread and veggies to keep us full. If you are adventurous there was also seafood, chicken and pork. Sometimes the lines and wait times were very long, hopefully this is something that can be improved. The al la carte restaurants were very good. Our Christmas Eve buffet dinner was excellent. You could tell they had so much pride in the food they created for us that evening. My heart was touched.
The pools:
The pools were very nice and very clean. There were enough chairs to accommodate everyone. There were many rude tourists that leave their belongings on the chairs all day to reserve their spot both at the pool and at the beach at the same time. The staff is too scared to move belongings for fear of being accused of theft. Please, don't leave your stuff laying around if you're not using the chairs/day beds. It is inconsiderate to the staff and other tourists. We sadly didn't have access to a day bed once in our 8 day stay.
The spa:
My daughter and I both had an ocean breeze hour long massage. Highly recommend. We had use of the private pool at the spa for the whole day.
My son can't stop talking about how much fun he had at this resort. The memories we made together are priceless. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Christmas Holiday

, Leduc, AB
2022-12-29
Travel to this resort for two weeks from Vancouver Island, British Columbia, and Edmonton, Alberta,, it was my self, my husband and my 81 year old mother. This is a six-time to Cuba and our third time at an Iberostar, what keeps us coming back are the people, and this resort did NOT fail in that.
The Staff make this resort , from Yenia our customer service rep, who was AMAZING, to our breakfast and lunch servers Anna and Vanessa at the buffet, Babo and allll the entertainment staff, really make this resort stand out. Our sweet waitress at the lobby bar China in the morning, Mabe in the evening always with a smile [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great pool

, Bradford, ON
2022-12-28
Relaxing trip. Wonderful people and great service. The pool was awesome. Typical families hogging the chairs at 7am, but that seems to happen everywhere.
Beach was not what I expected with the board walk, but I ended up loving it. Don't forget to bring your mask and snorkel, so much to see right there at the resort. Bring down some bread or banana and go to the right near the rocky shore, you'll have lots of fish coming up to you. There are also a lot of starsfish.
Don't forget a converter for the room to plug anything in, power is 220v. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pool, beach, staff, evening shows
The weak points
Food, lack of paper products (toilet paper, napkins)

Paradise with beautiful nature and warm people!

, Etobicoke, ON
2022-12-27
My family just came back from vacation at this wonderful resort. It has beautiful crystal clear ocean water with abundance of different wild sea creatures including tropical fish, sardine, sting ray, barracuda, starfish, ocean birds etc. Unlike any other Caribbean resorts we have ever been to, this resort has very unique boardwalk above the shore, which makes walking along the beach extremely easy and convenient. The entrance to the ocean is a bit rocky, wearing water shoes will facilitate walking into sandy portion from the shore more easily. The food selection here is great with big variety of salad and vegetables, which matters a lot to me. The ice cream is delicious and very popular among the kids and adults. Due to the supply shortage in Cuba which is generally lagging behind rest of the world, be prepared to bring your own necessities e.g. napkins, tissue box, as most of time such things are just not available at Buffet or bars. If you set your expectation right, you won't be disappointed but just be pleased to enjoy all the positive experience this resort is to bring about.

The most impressive aspect about this resort is the genuine and warm people from front desk to bar tenders, from restaurant waiters/waitress to gardeners, from customer services (big shout to Yenia Rodriguez Batista) to repair technicians etc. Every one of them is so helpful, responding and solving issue if any in a very efficient manner.

We participated the free water spots every day during our stay at the Sports Centre including kayaking, pedal boat and catamaran. The staff at the sports center are very accommodating. Their pedal boats are very high quality and extremely fast compared to the other pedal boats we had been on at other Caribbean resorts! (Will definitely recommend.) The lobby bar makes great coffee such as Ice Coffee, Spanish coffee, Cuban coffee, lattes, and cappuccinos! The cigar bar will definitely present you with some high-quality and fancy-looking cocktails, must try!

We have never chosen to stay at the same resort more than once so far among Caribbean countries including Cuba, DR, Mexico, Bahamas, Jamaica, Panama etc. because we have always wanted to experience different resorts each time. But for the first time ever we may consider revisiting this special resort which has touched our heart in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Excellent resort!

, Kirkland Lake, ON
2022-12-22
I visited this resort last week and it was amazing! Not only are the staff friendly and helpful, but the travelers were great! I met so many terrific people and had so much fun! The Ala cart meals were delicious, and you can always find something you like at the buffet, I'm a picky eater but never went hungry. I recommend this resort to anyone. Big thanks to Yenia Rodriguez Batista for making sure we were comfortable and happy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Cuba 2022

, Barrie, ON
2022-12-21
This was an incredible family trip and experience! We are so impressed with the service and care we received. The rooms were beautiful, the grounds and beach pristine, an excellent selection of food & drink, with engaging entertainment every night - highly recommend this resort!! We will definitely back❤ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service, entertainment, people

Please,please,please read.

, Woodstock, ON
2022-12-20
I've just returned from this resort and was so disappointed. I did my due diligence and looked at the reviews,I don't understand how it was rated #2on the list. All the food was cold,no vodka,no tonic, no juices,no sprite or coke. I will admit the pool was fantastic but as for the beach ( I'm a beach person) it was non exsistant. I'll not return to this resort ever. The toilets were poor too. No toilet paper,admittingly they were clean well the ladies were,the Mens were a different story according to my husband. One afternoon I left my handbag at the pool and we returned to our room by mistake I might add, then realized what I'd done to return to the pool to find it was no longer there, I went to reception but with no avail, I also talk to our rep but all he could say was sorry lady. The receptionist didn't even take my room number or my name in case it was handed in. I did check with the receptionist for a few days after but no one seemed to care, just glad that there wasn't anything of importance in my bag. So please be careful if going to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pool
The weak points
Mostly everything.

Amazing Vacation

, St Marys, ON
2022-12-18
We had an amazing time here the staff is amazing and the beaches are to die for. Would highly recommend this place. Yenia in customer service,Jose at the swim up bar, and Oney in the cigar bar are the best!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Beautiful week, lots of sunshine and rest

, St Zotique, QC
2022-12-18
Beautiful week, sunshine and warmth were on the menu! This was our 5th stay at this resort, the grounds are well kept and the personnel are both pleasant and polite. The view on the beach is picturesque and the time spent in the ocean is never enough for my husband and me. It is clear that the staff do the best they can with what they have, it is important to keep this in mind and you will have a wonderful stay! (Tips: bring along a little extra TP and some patience) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pleasant staff Beautiful grounds the ocean, the ocean!
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Cayo Coco's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023