Playa Costa Verde

Playa Costa Verde
3.873.873.873.873.87
3.87 based on 1219 reviews
#8 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Holguin
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (459)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

2 week stay with sun, sand and fun

, Halifax, NS
2023-01-24
We had a great two week stay, the staff were friendly and helpful. We definitely would go back again. The beach was beautiful. Snorkelling was great saw so many fish even a little octopus on our last day. The meat choices were very limited but we don't go for the food. Rooms were dated but clean and comfortable nothing fancy but everything you need. Limited choices in mixed drinks at times, but we always found something. Lots of shade at the beach if you needed it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Value was good, beach was amazing. Lots of beach towel for you to change.
The weak points
The bathroom has tall walked tubs harder for some people to get in and out.
Certified

My stay at costaverde

, Embrun, ON
2022-12-20
The hotel staff we're nice food was ok for a 3 star hotel not for a 4.5 front desk and the customer service manager not pleasant.to the points i change hotel because of there arrogance and I was a multiple repeat guest over 7 times and will never go back to playa Costa verde [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff in general
The weak points
The bedroom bed and room look like the 1970 and management and front desk
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
None
Certified

Cuba

, Prince George , BC
2022-12-12
Excellent,weather,people [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Strongest part is staff, welcoming, friendly and genuine
The weak points
Food used to be great here but since pandemic there seems to be a lack of some staples. Japanese an Italian still great
Certified

It was good

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-29
The resort is very nice. The best part is gardening and perfectly maintained grass, trees, path ways and surrounding. The beach is sandy but there are blade like rocks in the sea. I injured myself. I saw several people and kids injured. There was the medical staff at spot. The food was OK but, some were recycled into other entries or given next day. By the way, we had fish, shells, shrimps, pork, beef, lots of veggies, local fruits and good bread. The serving staff was OK. Better than during previous visits to Cuba. The female prostitutes are all over with old, aged men. Shameful and disgusting. The staff changes US dollars, Euros and Canadian dollars, instead bank near front desk, The room cleaning was excellent. Internet covers most of the resort but, after 5 hours one has to go to the front desk to renew the access. The entertainment was average, except the pool show. Take with yourself anti bug repellents. The tiny bugs are all over. I saw many people with big red stain-spots after being bitten. All in all, it was OK to spend week or so at the Playa Costa Verde, Holguin. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Gardening and room cleaning service. Sandy beach.
The weak points
Prostitutes at resort. Pond between resort and beach. Beach-rocks in the sea.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
OK

Good

, Mapple, ON
2022-11-10
All the staff were very helpful.
Need more selection on alcohol drinks and food dishes.( Vegetarian diet) most of the dishes had pork. Need sanatory inprovment in the food section
Lots of flies on the food in the buffet
Overall experience Good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
All Staff were very helpful
The weak points
Not every one have a credit card to shop with.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Need upgrade. Flies on the food at the buffet.
Certified

Ranjan

, Scarborough, ON
2022-07-24
Beach, pool, cleanness, customer service all good. except food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
staff, common cleanness, are very good.
The weak points
Food is very bad, same food again again and long line up and birds are flying over food. Hotel rooms and toilet need Renovation. But kitchen staff are friendly.
Certified

Relax, Relax, Relax......

, Ajax, ON
2022-04-06
There is nothing stressful here! Beautiful beach, lovely pool, OK food and people who just want to make your stay the best. Not a fancy place, but very welcoming and comfortable. The resort wasn't full, so plenty of space, lounge chairs, tables for meals and space at the beach. The rooms are spacious and sounds didn't carry from one to another even with more than a dozen per unit. We had a lovely lady tending our room (Yanecsy) - she spoke English well and helped us with our Spanish. Have a massage - very reasonable and a wonderful lady to take care of us. Sweet little market just across the road and bus, cab or cart access just a stone's throw away. Please remember the workers make a living off the tips, not the wages, and the simple things like toiletries we take for granted are very much appreciated if we bring extra. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
One of the prettiest beaches, for sunbathing, swimming, and especially snorkeling.
The weak points
Needed softer towels for massage (shouldn't be the same as pool/beach towels), reasonable limits for grilled foods, more access to a la cart restaurants.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Cubans have had four vaccines to date (more than ours so far) and keep masked at all times. We had no worries while we were anywhere in the country.
Certified

Simple yet excellent

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-06
From the arrival to departure it was all great. If you have even been to Cuba before you know what to expect. Now with COVID and the new embargo expect a bit less. But that's what makes Cuba and the resorts so good. Easy going ppl, simple delish food, clean rooms and common areas. Nothing but good things to say and the resort and it's workers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Wish there was a fish offering daily and there was a place to eat on the beach, like a grill etc.
Certified

Great vacation

, Burlington, ON
2022-03-30
Had a great time at Playa Costa Verde. Resort. Large resort on a spectacular stretch of white sand beach. Staff are all very friendly and work hard to make sure one has a good time. Large room was spotlessly clean with a King size bed and daily maid service.Grounds are beautifully maintained. They have their own nursery to supply landscape plantings.
Food in the Buffet and Ala Carte Restaurants was very good with lots of choices.
Huge pool with daily activities, nightly entertainment was well done and professional.
Good selection of excursions available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, well maintained, friendly staff, beautiful beach, good food Free internet
The weak points
Mosquitos, long distance from airport
Certified

Worst hotel ever

, Ingersoll, ON
2022-03-25
this was my 1st time coming to PCV and my family and I came because of the reviews but the experience we had and along the way we met other canadians who felt the same way as us.
but my major concern was that on my 2nd day I was robbed !! someone went through my suitcases and took all the medication I brought to give to the locals along with 8 pairs of gardening gloves I brought for hotel staff. when I noticed on 3rd day the pills I brought were missing and went to talk to Director and met with all these managers absolutely NOThing was done!! they Said without proof they couldn't do anything. obviously there's a complot inside the hotel..
for breakfast buffet we never saw bread or butter or ham. everything was finished early
for snack bar they didn't have pizza or hamburgers or hot dogs for kids . eveyrime we went they ran out of everything
hotel was always dirty around the pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I dont recommend this hotel at all.
The weak points
with the hike in prices to travel don't waste your money .
Certified

Beautiful Resort but Locals

, Bridgetown, NS
2022-03-09
The resort is beautiful and clean . The staff are friendly and helpful most speak and understand English very well. The food was amazing. My only complaint is the local Cubans come in to the resort with big families for the day or even a few days . They butt in front of the line and are rude and order 6-8 items at a time which make your wait longer. Our first day of arrival we had a long day so we went to the 24 bar to order pizza we waited over an hour and still no pizza . Families were coming in and getting food that sat down after us as they were friends or family with server. As the week went on they seemed to notice we were not happy and got served guicker. The beach was beautiful and thats why we travel to Cuba. I would definitely go back to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Group loved it and will return.

, Cambridge, ON
2022-01-22
We recently stayed at Playa Costa Verde with a group of 23 people ages 6 to 76. Some members of this group were returning guests to this resort. Everyone in the group had a fabulous time. The service was outstanding and the food was very good. Many felt this was the nicest beach they had ever been on. The only complaint was that they allow smoking in the buffet restuarant and lobby area. Smoking needs to be limited to designated areas and enforced. Would have liked to see slightly stronger covid protection measures; such as guests not sitting/standing at bars and a requirement to screen temperature and hand sanitize before entering eating areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach is exceptional. The layout of resort is easy to get around. Most notably the staff are fabulous!
The weak points
Smoking in the lobby and buffet.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Room for improvement. Suggest not allowing guests to sit/stand at the bars. Temperature screening and enforced hand santizing before entering eating areas could be helpful in reducing the risk of passing covid.

Playa Costa Verde Resort

, Barrie, ON
2020-02-17
Second time visiting this resort. Very relaxing....no vendors walking the beach trying to get you to purchase excursions or merchandise. Secure feeling walking about the property. Little souvenir market across the street.
Other than the couple weak points, one can muddle along quite well.
All in all a wonderful comfortable resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large clean rooms. Friendly staff. Quiet rooms. Willing to accommodate foods that contain "allergy " types. Large variety of foods to choose from at buffet and nice choices at the 3 restaurants.
The weak points
Coffee pots could use replacement....very slow to brew. Bathroom lighting could be brighter for the wifes makeup use. Wifi usage is limited to certain areas of the resort.
Certified

O La Sun

, Toronro, ON
2020-02-12
This our 9th time at Play Costa Verde in Holguin Cuba,we enjoyed every minute of it,cause the people are fantastic,the food especially at the restaurants,also at the buffet,and the snack bar.I recommend this resort,the service excellent .clean rooms ,all kinds of drinks and a great lobby,the weather was fantastic,that's wy we been here 9 times,we were in Varadero ,Caja Coco and caja Santa marija,but this is the place for us,this was our 12 times in Cuba.Alfred and Doris Fenech [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

I will not go there again

, Etobicoke, ON
2020-01-09
Checkin:

I checkedin at 12:00 mid-night. Resort does not provide a map. When I asked for room direction, person at reception point me where bunglow is located. It is a big resort. There is not much light on the street. So it was very hard to find my room in the dark without a map. I came back and ask for bellboy to drive me there. The point is, there is no map provided and they don't offer bellboy unless you ask specifically. I was not happy with checkin process.

Rooms:

Room was ok. It was far away from the reception. On very first day, Bellboy was not able to open door for my room with key card. If Bellboy was not with me, I would have to walk back to reception to re-program my key card. I did have issue with key card 3 times during my 7-days stay. There was another issue with room. Bed room light was not working. Electrician fix the issue but next day, it stops working again.

Beach:

It is white sandy beach. Water is turquoise but it is full of rocks. If I did not have beach shoes, I might have got hurt. I recommand beach shoes to be safe. There are lots sand fleas. Lot of peoples warn me about sand fleas before I went there.

Beach activities includes beach valleyball. Most of the time I played valleyball with tourist from neighbouring resort Fiesta Americana.

Beach Bar:
I was very disappointed with Beach bar. When I was there, they did not provide a plastic glass for drink. So if you don't bring your own mug, you don't get a drink. Shame on management. They should advertise in bold letter with their vacation package "Bring your own mug to get drink on beach"

24 hour snack bar:

When I was there they closed 24 hrs snack bar for people on resort to entertain private party for tourists outside of the resort. When asked, they told us that snack bar is moved to cuban restaurant near the beach. When we went there, they don't serve anything from snack bar menu. So there was not 24 hrs snack bars during my stay. Very bad management.

Nightly Entertaintment:

There were no shows couple of nights. Other nights, shows were very poor, not interesting. Most of shows were empty. Very few people.

Staff:
Staff are good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Hotel Responsibility

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-22
Staff was wonderful as usual as this was our 9th time at this resort. Weather was amazing as usual.

We were disappointed in the change of menu at the snack bar, especially if you are arriving very early or very late. You show up hungry and there is now, not much to choose from.

Biggest Disappointment : THE BUGS..... It used to always be - resort would fog for the bugs, and staff would spray the rooms as needed/

My last 2 visits, as a result of this not being done..... 34 bites to the tops of my feet, to the degree of not being able to even wear my sandles. Last trip, 13 huge bites to my face on the first night while in the room in bed. This resulted in not a very good start to my vacation.

This will not stop me from returning, as we like it so much, BUT, it would be in your best interest to address this major problem, if you want new people to come and also want to return., as there were many others that were bitten as badly as well, and like me, had to pay medical fees in order to feel better.
No one wants to pay for their vacations and also have to pay medical bills in order to be able to enjoy their vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

It's OK if you are not picky

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-21
PLAYA COSTA VERDE

A family of 4 stayed here for 10 days from December 11, 2018. My husband, our teenaged daughter, 8 months old son and I. This is a place we would consider to return due to the location and the sea itself. We didn't really encounter any big problems on our trip except some things.

However, I would like to mention some pros and cons of the hotel.

Room:
Pros:
Our room was ready when we got there, the additional bed for the older child and a portable crib/playard for the baby were also ready to use. It was far from the pool and main trail with a balcony outlooking for the hotel's fence. It means we lived in a quiet zone with a good view.
Our maid was very nice and knew her job. Every day the room was cleaned and our beds were decorated with towels.
And we liked how the room itself was separated from the entrance, the small den with the wardrobe and the washroom.

Cons:
The room itself would be nice but the ugly bolted door to the next room in the middle of the wall. It wasn't hidden by anything and spoiled the view.
The wardrobe was quite big and almost impossible to use - the sliding doors didn't slide, we had to push them with all our weight and always kept them open. There was a chest of drawers inside the wardrobe, I am pretty sure it was hand made many years ago, so it was difficult to open and close it as well.
The washroom was the main disappointing - ugly looking old white tiles, old hardly working shower and extremely smelly toilet. Moreover, on the third day water started dropping from the selling into the bath during the nights, so I had to put towels inside the bath to muffle the sound. So, in my opinion, the room, especially the bathroom desperately needs renovation.
By the way, the toiletries were not restocked at all and we ran out of shower gel and shampoo very quickly. Of course I had my own shampoo but I didn't have any shower gel as I was expecting to have it in the room. So, I don't understand why they were not restocked, we stayed for 10 days by the way…
The fridge was very noisy, it was put inside the cabinet, but it didn't help. So we turned it off at nights. Anyway, it was not restocked, but with water. So, we actually didn't need it at all.

The villa itself is quite noisy, you can hear when your neighbours come and go, what do they speak about, how they slam the doors.

Buffet:
Pros:
Plenty of food, variety of seafood, lots of tables, nice looking, clean enough. Waitresses were very polite, smiley and helpful.
Cons:
Same food every day. People were hunting for fruits on the first come first served basis as the plates were not replenished often. There were a lot of cakes, but it seams all of them tasted the same, as the cook used the same cream for all.

Restaurants:
We booked all three restaurants: Cuban, Italian and Japanese. Food was good. My advise - order shellfish in Cuban restaurant; beware that Italian restaurant has very small portions; and be hungry for the Japanese one. It's not really Japanese, but they made a lot of effort to entertain while cooking in front of you and I personally liked everything, but sushi (they don't know what sushi is).
By the way, during the lunch time the Cuban restaurant is open but it's almost impossible to get there. We were there twice in ten days, first time we were served pretty fast but second time we waited at the table for more that an hour to order. To be fair, they pour you wine/beer/coke every time when your glass is empty while you are waiting.

Beach:
Nice view, clean, great. Enough space under the trees, not enough space close to the shoreline. But if you like to come after 10.30, you are at risk to sit on your beach towel, as all the beach chair would be taken; so, you would have to wait till people start going for lunch to have some.

We were bitten by small insects on the beach, they are really small, almost transparent but the bites itch vigorously and the spots are visible for the long time. They are not bed bugs or mosquitos, don't worry, but beware.

The sea is great and the small reef close to the beach is a nice and picturesque addition. Don't forget to take the mask. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Over-rated and would never go again

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-25
Staff is non-attentive and rude. Hotel is generally dirty. The pool is dirty. Beach is dirty. Food is tasteless and no selection. Have to walk over a swamp area to get to the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool Bartenders Jesus and Dila are great.
The weak points
Waiters are all new and inexperienced, ... they often bring the wrong drinks. Staff is rude. Plumbing leaks. Cockroaches in the rooms. Birds all over the buffet area. Tables and areas dirty. Dirty ashtrays everywhere.
Certified

Vacation at Playa Costa Verda, Jan 2019

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-18
In general, we have a positive impression with this hotel. Staff is really nice, room service meets our expectation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly restaurant staff, adequate nightly entertainment.
The weak points
There are 4 tennis courts but only one is with the net. Even with that, the net is in VERY bad shape and its supporting posts almost fell down. The court surface is peeling . The badminton court is even without its net
Certified

Warm and wonderful staff!

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-27
Excellent value. Adequate meals, lots to choose from. Wonderfully friendly staff. Amazing beach with lots of palapas. Nothing to complain about.
Rooms could use some updates and slightly better attention to detail in cleaning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best beach, good food, great staff. Quiet and unassuming
The weak points
Really bad mosquitos, ran out of certain drinks (red wine). Fruit selection at breakfast was very weak for a tropical country.
Certified

Best trip ever!!

, Angus, ON
2018-11-26
i would return again and again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, rooms, staff, pool, snack bar (24hr), drinks, excursions

Cycling Holguin

, Saint Leonard, QC
2018-11-22
Enjoyed traveling and discovering the area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Too boring for use

, Collingwood, ON
2018-11-13
Ok, you cannot knock the resort for appearance. Lovely resort to the eye.

The front desk staff are not accommodating regarding changing rooms. Had to get my room key card reactivated about 9 times for a 7 day stay.

They know we are not to drink their water but in the buffet and at the lobby bar they use there local water to make ice cubes and the jugs of water in the buffet is not bottled either, so when ordering a drink like rum and coke with no ice the drink comes to you room temperature. Do not even keep the soft drinks cold at the bar. Too many flies in the lobby. I guess if you are someone who is happy just sitting around at the pool or lobby or sand filled flea beach it is perfect. But for us we need more entertainment thru the day and the pool activities and games are just stupid with stupid cheap prizes.

The buffet restaurant, you need to get something freshly cooked at one of the 3 grills to make sure it is cooked properly and hot. The trays of food that should be hot are kinda warm if that and you do not know how long it has been around or fresh. The deserts are very nice, lots of variety. Not accommodating with the alacart reservations. Booked solid a good 3 or 4 days ahead. Went to the VIP dinner and you do not even get a chose on what you want. Do not consider that VIP treatment.

When booking an excursion the sheet you are given says excursions are daily but when the rep calls it is not so. Also the reps do not explain what you will be going thru on the excursion. We went on an excursion call "Paradise Island" the bus ride to the dock for the boat was 2hrs (Too long) the boat ride was about 2 hrs to the island (Too long) when getting off the boat there was a dock but the boat just pulled up to the shore and we had to get off into the water to the beach. The water was nice on the legs and feet but when crossing the beach did not know till after we got back, I got approx 50 sand fleas bites on my legs and arms which drives you crazy. The lunch was very good. Now 2 hour ride back to the dock and 2 hour bus ride back to the resort. If we were aware of these facts we would not have gone and the excursion was not cheap. Will not go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Playa costa verde

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-22
overall a three star not a four star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff were fantastic, excellent pool, grounds very clean
The weak points
disappointed with the room, patio door extremely difficult to open, front door ;lock not operating properly, food maybe a five out of ten
Certified

WE RECOMMEND !

, Pierrefonds, QC
2018-04-04
This is our 9th trip to Cuba, we are a family of 5 with young people from 10-13-16 years old. First time in Holguin. We enjoyed this resort for its calm, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and the profile of travelers (cyclists, retirees and families). Very few young people on the party during our stay. Many customers are faithful.

The place is small, everything is very easy to walk in 5-10 minutes. A large pool is in the center of the complex, the vegetation is beautiful and maintained. Those who complain against the lagoon do not appreciate the beauty of nature. The rooms are dated but big, clean, the mattresses are new everywhere. These are blocks of 16 rooms, on two floors, and the way we run on the stairs, makes trips quieter than other places. No hallways and very few doors slamming.

Thank you to all the staff who strive to satisfy us, with a smile and a good mood. Special attention to Janet, Annie, Vivianne, Katisleydis and the director of the dining room and our maid. Special mention for the Cuban Air Transat representative, the customer service manager Alexei Remedio Mederos.

The buffet is open concept, which we feared before our arrival from the comments. Finally, no disappointment, on the contrary, we live outside all week under this tropical charm and it's less noisy. Smokers are forbidden !! There are very few birds ... a hawk constantly watches over them to keep them away. In January, we did not see any fly. The food in general is good, you will find no problem a dish to enjoy: dough station, pizza, fried rice, grilled meat, monday there is lobster, shrimp every night, a variety of vegetables, cheeses, fresh bread, pancakes, donuts, omelets. The fruits are canned. We had access to bottled water all week.

For the beach, it is not Santa Maria but the water is beautiful and without seaweed, white sand, you can take a short walk. YES! bring water shoes, there are a lot of corals. Apnea is nice.

We will return one day, a great choice for value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Compared to previous visits

, Borden, HA
2018-04-02
I have been to this resort four times and it has gone down hill to say the least. It it a quiet resort though which is nice to relax. All though this trip there were a lot of locals drinking and partying.. was bothersome for those of us that were not there to party. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were very friendly. The rooms and resort were kept clean and maintained. The Japanese restaurant was amazing!!
The weak points
If your going for great food, don't. The buffet was horrible! Not much to select from and everything had onions. Always the same items day after day. Entertainment was the same every day and thesupper band played same music daily
Certified

Playa Costa Verde

, Port Hope, ON
2018-02-24
Great time at this resort, beach and water were great, my second time here, and there seemed to be a bit more coral than I recall last time, but still beautiful if you like actually swimming in the ocean. Clean beach lots of shade if you need it. and once you go past a certain spot in the water the coral is not an issue. Weather couldn't have been better. Great small resort, where everything is close at hand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, good food, wonderful helpful staff and I asked for a king size bed when booking and actually got it!! lots of hot water for showers and my bathroom had been re done and updated.
The weak points
cant really think of any weak points, they didnt seem to have the same caliber of shows from last time i went, but they did have lobby entertainment every night that was very very good.
Certified

Best first time!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-12
February 2nd- feb 9th, was mine, my siblings and cousins first time in Cuba, Holguin... stayed at PCV! We arrived to the resort at midnight and were welcomed with some sweet beverages by a lovely staff member, cheers Zoila! We were then taken to our rooms by cart. The welcome was amazing!

As younger adults, we thoughts that there weren't many younger people, but you bet that didn't stop us!

From our first night in the disco and every night to follow, the music and company was top notch.

We spent most of our days by the pool... why, you ask? Thats where the party was at 24/7. The entertainment team was on point all day every day. We were bummed every time they went home after their shift. The entertainment team was our family for the week and for years to come. Thank you for including us into your family! From the activites during the day, playing pool, volleyball, ping pong etc... to disco nights, the carnaval that you put together and lets not forget, the beach party at the end of our trip! We cannot thank you enough for dancing with is all week long!

Evening shows were great too!! Every night was different and very entertaining. But sad we missed the water ballet the night we left.

The food! All i heard from people prior to this trip was negativity about the food. SHAME on you! The food was delicious. Soooo many options and nothing to complain about! There are options for EVERYONE! To the Chef, you are amazing!!

Rooms were clean! Have been cleaned twice a day. Our stuff was handled with care! Appreciate it all!

We hung out at the beach a couple of times amd each of those times were great too! Our parents hung out at the beach all week haven't complained once.

And the 24/7 snack bar... that was our main hang out with our amazing server Jose! He IS family! It took him 1 day to figure us all out and had it all ready for us everytime we came back! 

All our thanks goes out to the whole resort! But especially these people right here that we can't thank enough! Zoila, Jose (snackbar), Andy, Victor, Jose (entertainment), Fito, Tony, Ricoff, Mara, Susana, Yanet, Eduardo and Jesus (swim up bar) and all the others that have impacted our stay in the most positive way possible. Our farewell was hard and we hated saying goodbye, but we CANNOT wait to go back and party with our new friends!

One last comment, to those who complain, its not the place... its you. You cannot have crazy expectations when you're going on vacation. Appreciate what is around you and make the best of it.

#worthit #dontbelazybecrazy #gohome

Salute Amigos! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

PLAYA COSTA VERDE, HOLGUIN, CUBA

, Burlington, ON
2018-01-10
The staff went out of their way to make sure everyone was happy & requests were dealt with immediately. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants, staff. My cleaning girl Elizabeth was the best caring girl. I had an awesome time & would go here again.
The weak points
SMELL OF TOBACCO coming through the air conditioning vent was not good.....did not make my room comfortable.
Certified

The BESTEST ever

, Alliston, ON
2017-12-31
The FANTASTIC staff from every department could not do enough! From the lovely ladies who past out the plates at the buffet to front desk and down at the beach ALWAYS smiled and wished Thomas my husband two sons Tristan and Kieran a happy day .FAMILE are room lady never lets us go without anything !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
THE STAFF they all work so hard
The weak points
coming home!!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023