Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa
4.144.144.144.144.14
4.14 based on 696 reviews
#2 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (243)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

New Years in Royalton!

, Lakeville-Westmorland, NB
2023-01-10
Just spent 9 days in Varadero, Cuba and the Royalton Hicacos. What an amazing trip!! Staff is just absolutely amazing, caring and kind. Hermes and Yanira from the buffet; Yuni, Eduardo, Christian, Barbara, Julito, Laura, Jennifer and many others from the lobby bar; Yuniel from the bistro; José from the beach; ALL the entertainment/show staff, the scubadiving instructors and finaly, Yosvany, Elieser and all the others from the beach bar are just some of the people that made my trip worth it, by their kindness and joy. I am definitely missing some, everyone I spoke to was simply great and friendly. All smiles and laughter troughout the week. I will definitely be coming back I was also surprised and happy to see that canadian, Cheryl Ponee. Her fitness classes help keep me fit during my vacay mode. She is so energetic and her classes are always fun. Looking forward to my next new years trip, and may it be just as good as this one was! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff

Great Pro instructor & Entertainment

, Montréal, QC
2023-01-10
We had a great trip with no complaints. Front desk ladies are AMAZING & will help you with anything you need! The lobby bar staff don't stop day & night and always pleasant. Tip them please!!

MANY BIG THANKS to Cheryl from NS, Canada who taught zumba/aqua. We have never been to a resort where a fellow CDN was teaching so this was a great surprise. Her classes were so full of energy even my hubby joined in! She is a great PR person for the hotel as she has been there many times and raves about it!

Buffet was fabulous. Shrimp, lobstres, pasta, shushi...I can go on. We only tried the Italian and had a great meal.

We will return in fall 2023!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach, staff
The weak points
N/A

Another great trip in the books!

, North York, ON
2023-01-10
We are already planning to go back in the spring. We especially want to thank all the amazing staff and most importantly Cheryl from Canada - the fitness instructor there during our stay!

She made every class so fun with all her energy and she stated she has been going to this resort for many years. Good job Royalton adding to your entertainment team!

Diamond club beach staff Yosvany/Roberto...many thanks! Reception ladies...Yuliza, Annie, Jennifer....big HUGE thanks to always smiling and being helpful.

See you soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach and staff
The weak points
none

Beautiful Hotel

, Wiarton, ON
2023-01-09
We had a great trip with friends again for New Years. We found no shortages and no issues with food. Lobby bar staff as always the best - Barbara, Laura & Yuni!!

We loved the fact this year they had a Canadian Instructor there - Cheryl. She taught aqua Zumba and at foam parties and was the best! She provided so much energy to the foam party on New Years eve the pool was packed! Their entertainment staff is great but having an experienced instructor makes a HUGE difference!! Hands down!

We ate at Italian twice and had amazing meals. buffet was excellent with lots of variety and Hermes is the best waiter! We all love him.

The trip went by way too fast but we will be back for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Beautiful Hotel

, Wiarton, ON
2023-01-09
We had a great trip with friends again for New Years. We found no shortages and no issues with food. Lobby bar staff as always the best - Barbara, Laura & Yuni!!

We loved the fact this year they had a Canadian Instructor there - Cheryl. She taught aqua Zumba and at foam parties and was the best! She provided so much energy to the foam party on New Years eve the pool was packed! Their entertainment staff is great but having an experienced instructor makes a HUGE difference!! Hands down!

We ate at Italian twice and had amazing meals. buffet was excellent with lots of variety and Hermes is the best waiter! We all love him.

The trip went by way too fast but we will be back for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great accomodations!

, West St. Paul, MB
2022-12-22
The hotel was lovely and clean. The beach was beautiful. The staff were amazing and accommodating. The evening entertainment was top-notch! The MC (Binga Binga guy) was annoying. The food was the best at the buffet. The restaurants were hit or miss. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, staff
The weak points
MC for evening entertainment. He talked too much and too long, and kept saying "Binga, binga, binga binga BIN-GA!"
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Seemed fine.
Certified

A wonderful vacation !

, Brossard, QC
2022-12-04
The best hotel in Varadero! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach, the services, the staff, the location .
The weak points
Internet access / Wi-Fi
Certified

Amazing vacation

, St Catharines, ON
2022-11-20
Had little expectations from previous Cuba visit. This place blew my mind! The property is beautiful. The staff was outstanding. The restaurants were great service and great food. Compare this resort with previous best vacations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff. Amazing our butler Gabrielle was amazing.
The weak points
Buffet was weak!
Certified

Royalton Hicacos Varadero

, Vancouver, BC
2022-11-13
Always very good. 4th time at this resort. I'll definitely be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very friendly staff, beautiful resort. Nice to see some of the rooms getting renovated. Looking forward to staying in a renovated room when I come again.
The weak points
The only issue I have is that the bar staff at the Diamond beach is feeding the large white birds, and now guests are doing the same there, making for alot of bird feces and them coming after your food. I see it's only an issue at the Diamond beach.
Certified

Royalton Hicacos

, Red Deer, AB
2022-09-15
We had a great experience at the Royalton as always with every Cuba visit we enjoyed the beautiful beach and the kind Cuban people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful white sandy beach with clear ocean waters. We were able to snorkel off the beach with many non motorized boats available for use.
The weak points
Poor wifi signal which is not uncommon for Cuba.
Certified

Great time

, Saint-Lazare, QC
2022-07-01
It was our second time a 2 couples.. great experience. All great the variety of the drinks .. the service.. my favorite restaurant was the Beach Grill .. the food very testy .. in general is great place to relax .. as a tip try to get room near to the lobby.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
service
The weak points
food variaty

Amazing hotel!

, Saint-Lazare, QC
2022-06-14
This was my first time at Royalton Hicacos. My husband and me enjoyed every day in the resort. The food is fine, we are not demanding, the Caribbean restaurant is very good, we loved the restaurant by the beach for breakfast and lunch and of course at night because they have lobster in the menu.
Rooms are fine, with a small living room, bedroom and a big bathroom.
Thank you Albis and Jenifer at the lobby bar for the best piña colada ever.
Thanks to my butler David for been so nice with us.
If you are looking for the perfect beach trip just decide to spend your holidays at Royalton Hicacos. Highly recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
None

Great Vacation

, Burlington, ON
2022-05-27
This was our first trip to Cuba and this resort in a few years and we were blown away by our time there. The food, amenities, staff, beach and resort were all top notch.

Despite supply chain issues affecting other resorts on Cuba, you never felt any issues here. The food was amazing, fresh and offered a wide range for every palate.

The rooms were well kept, as well as the other buildings and beach area. We met the GM Jose Martin the first night and he was so kind and friendly. We would meet him every night for drinks and he always had a smile on his face. He was always great with guests and staff alike, and his passion for the job and resort is evident everywhere.

We were with the diamond club and our butler Betty was phenomenal. She would always go above and beyond to make sure our every need was met.

We cannot say enough good this about this resort and look forward to our next visit! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food is great, the staff is friendly, the resort is stunning, and the beach is perfect!
The weak points
No Baileys/select liquor, wifi is spotty/inconsistent

Royalton Hicacos Resort and Spa Varadero

, Boudreau Ouest, NB
2022-05-02
Very friendly ,good food ,everything great five times their. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach,food,friendly ,price,helpful
Certified

Cuba 2022

, Stoney Creek, ON
2022-04-19
Our experience was tremendous. We were treated like Royalty. Every person working here went above and beyond to make our stay an experience to remember. We will definitely be coming back to the Royalton Hicacos. We had a few tiny glitches that were taken care of on the spot. Wherever you are from in the world the staff try their best to speak in your language. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

The Royalton Resort in Varadero is a dump!

, Ottawa, ON
2022-04-05
This facility is a run down dump! Much of the construction is in wood with much it in deteriorating conditioning. Railings are in some cases about to completely fall off. Walkways are irregular and get ready to handle way too many stairs!

The tub and showers are unsafe because they are hard to enter and slippery.

There are three floors and no elevators. My safe did not work and neither did the air conditioning which they eventually got to run after four try's including banging around at 2 in the morning.

The beach is excellent and so are the staff but the buildings and facilities are not 5 stars, not 4 stars not even 3 stars but barely 2 stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Beautiful beach holiday

, Port Colborne, ON
2022-04-04
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The pools and resort quite beautiful. The water was clear and turquoise blue. A great beach for walking, swimming and sunbathing.. Be aware that the bank and hotel exchange rate is a rip-off. You can get 4x more from businesses on the street. Another problem was that you cannot charge your electronics in the room as they don't have conversion plugs. You have to charge with your butler or at the front desk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort itself was very nice and the service was very good. The Cuba day lunch was very good, but the line-up for food was long and hot. The evening entertainment was quite good as well. The best restaurant was the Pearl and it was exceptional.
The weak points
The food was sub-par in many cases and the restaurants were hard to get into because the Diamond Club members could make advance reservations and there weren't many tables. They don"t have real juices for mixed drinks.
Certified

Best Resort & Fitness Classes

, Greenwood, NS
2022-03-21
Just returned with a group! We had the BEST time ever. Beach and weather were perfect. WE loved the food..beach grill for lunch and buffet at dinner were are favs. We also loved the Mexican.

Lobby bar staff was beyond good. drinks never empty...thank you Yosvany, Yusy, Barbara, Julio, Guillermor & Eduardo!

We attended aqua and Zumba classes hosted by pro instructor from Canada - Cheryl. We can honestly say this was a HUGE bonus to have this at a resort. Keep this up Royalton

We are returning in May and October. This should say how much we love this. We will coordinate our trips around when Cheryl from Canada is teaching!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach, staff

Outstanding

, Ottawa, ON
2022-03-01
The Royalton Hicacos Resort and Spa is a superb facility. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and found pretty much everything to be beyond our expectations, especially in Cuba during a period of particular austerity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Exceptionally clean and well-maintained facility, situated on a truly amazing beach. Great food and diverse eating venues. Courteous and friendly staff. Top-flight entertainment.
The weak points
The facility is well-established and undergoing some repair work in sections. They are on top of it and working to maintain a common high standard. Occasionally, some information was a bit difficult to obtain wrt specific requirements, but a minor point.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Really well done - staff constantly cleaning and sanitizing. They realize that they cannot afford any risks. Very impressive.
Certified

Zircon Club

, Toronto, ON
2022-02-01
Ordinary would be the best way to describe the Royalton. It should be stated up front the people in the service positions were generally warm and a delight to interact with while the managerial level were at best breathing.
I booked the Diamond Club expecting better then average service and ended up with no service starting with arrival. I requested a twin when I booked and on arrival told they did not receive the request. The receptionist suggested that since the room came with a large king size bed, that I should share it with my brother. It was also pointed out that there was no difference other then the location from one room to another. It should be noted that the property is very large and spread out so location is everything so at least the Diamond Club rooms were centrally located. We spent the first night in a room with 2 beds then were moved to a ‘Diamond Club' room. A rollaway bed was placed in the sitting area with the furniture pushed aside. The room needed refurbishing and a good paint job.
Butler? What butler service? I was booked for an orientation at the Diamond club lounge for 9:45 am the first day. I arrived and the door was locked and no one showed up, finally Alex the concierge? Butler? Showed up, did not apologize and was annoyed when I would not commit to making dinner reservations in the specialty restaurants at once. The best word to describe Alex was arrogant and dismissive. No orientation was scheduled so for the most part we bumped along never quite knowing what events were taking place or what services were available. From my experience, the Diamond Club doesn't offer any value to make the expense worthwhile.
You don't go to Cuba for the food. In the end, the buffet was the best option. The specialty restaurants ranged from awful to terrible. Inevitably, we ended up at the buffet for cheese and fruit.
The internet is only in the main bar and restaurant pavilion and times out in 32 minute blocks. You cannot do back to back sessions so be sure to plan exactly what you want to do when on-line particularly if you have to fill out the return forms for your gov't.
If you have never experienced a 5 star resort or hotel then this would probably be better then the average stay particularly in Cuba. Have no expectations and this could be a good experience but the advertising of the Diamond Club and listed amenities nowhere meets the brochures promises!
In conclusion, regardless of what anyone tells you, take U.S. dollars. Plenty of 1$ bills. I took 100 in ones and ended up with many happy staff. For those servicing you daily, tell them you will take care of them at the end of the trip and give them one tip in an envelope. Make sure you know which day they are off so it's not on your leaving day. They need everything so leave behind anything you do not need. Lotions, meds etc. they are most grateful. Do not buy pesos! No one what's them.
The beaches and country as a whole are lovely. But not ready for prime time or lux holidays. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach and warm lovely people.
The weak points
Tired hotel. What's with those empty moats through the property, weird! Managerial staff and reception cold and indifferent. Diamond club does not deliver. No value!
Certified

Pleasant holiday

, Richmond Hill, ON
2021-12-21
Among the best features were the beach (really beautiful, clean, safe), the staff (helpful and pleasant), the pool and the nightly entertainment (among the best we have experienced, both in the theatre and the live music at the bar). We were less positive about the food - the buffet and the Italian restaurant were OK, the Caribbean, the Bistro and the Tex Mex restaurants much better, the International and the seafood ones much worse. We liked walking around the resort and the bungalow style buildings are very attractive. The rooms themselves and the restaurants are somewhat dated and need major upgrading but everything worked and was clean. Having stayed at a few all inclusive resorts elsewhere in the Caribbean, we were surprised at having to tip nonstop all day long (if the staff needs some income supplement, maybe a collective tip surcharge when booking would be less tiresome). We would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach, the pool, the daily entertainment, some of the restaurants, the staff. The Diamond Club extra charge comes with some useful services but may not be worth it depending on your activities.
The weak points
We understand that Cuba has difficulty importing many items but the food selection and quality could be improved. The rooms could also use some upgrading.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
In most areas with large number of people, mask wearing was not consistent.
Certified

Our Stay at the Royalton Hicacos, Varadero

, Burlington, ON
2021-12-06
Our stay was just days past the official Nov. 15th reopening of Cuba Tourism Returning. This resort is exceptional. Catering to Adults only. It was at approx. 45% occupancy so we totally enjoyed every moment. There was 3 of us , one was with a walker so mobility was an issue, The layout of the resort was perfect, there were no issues as all the walkways were mostly rmps so , easy peasy. With it just at reopening, the resort had pretty much everything that you need . the food was , well it is Cuba, so you need to have the open mind, but overall, 8 out of 10. The resort, 9 out of 10. There was some issues with (slight odours) during certain times and in certain places, they were brief, and isn't a deterrent. I would assume it will have been due to the length of time they were shut down and because of the ramping up. The resort was spotless, the grounds were spotless, the people went way beyond the necessary need to ensure you were having a good stay. All the staff were so pleasant that just that alone earned 5 stars.
As it was during the pandemic, the staff of this resort, applied every protocol that there was to ensure health and safety, 5 stars. The beach was as perfect as it gets, we were in November so there was the trade winds and had the waters moving but not a day was there a worry that you couldn't swim in the ocean. I could go on forever but will leave that to you to decide as everyone has their own opinion. We definitely will be returning. Things to make your trip better. Bring lots of US 1:00 , bring lost of 5 dollar Canadian for tipping. Everything is in US or Canadian dollars, everywhere in Cuba now. "Don't exchange your money for Pecos . With government changes to just now 1 money "The Cuban Paso" 50 % of the people are limited where they can shop. They can't use the Peso, they are starving for the Hard Currency..Cdn. or US. So that they can buy cheaper at larger stores that only cater to this Hard Currency.
We loved this resort. For Cuba...5 Star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful resorts -Amazing staff -Amazingly clean -Good Food -Plenty of food 5 stars for Cuba resort
The weak points
- Cold Pool Water -There was random -Age/water Odor
Certified

Loved the resort

, Brights Grove, ON
2021-11-21
We loved this resort and hope to return next year. The food was incredible, the best I have ever had in Cuba. Staff were very friendly. We loved the nightly shows and ended every night at the Piano Bar. Rodney was an excellent bartender and very friendly. The only disappointment was that the lazy river was not filled with water. Still the pools and beach were amazing. We would highly recommend. The Diamond Club was well worth the extra cost as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Resort accommodation

, Toronto, ON
2021-08-16
The accommodation has a problem with the air conditioner at night, the air conditioner is very loud and very cold, about 21 degrees. Lunch It's the same every day, no change. Dinner has few choices, few tables for guests. But the service is good everywhere. The swimming pool has no waitresses to serve. You have to walk to order your own drinks. The staff working at breakfast At some point the face doesn't smile. The room cleaning staff is very good. Right on the beach, very good service staff are waiting to serve drinks. This resort it well recommended for friend and family for relax
The restaurant at the beach alway close when we want to get dinner there not sure why
Over all it good for vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great hotel

, Rimbey, AB
2020-03-11
We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. Great staff and food. Lots of options for meals, but especially enjoyed the buffet as it had great variety and had a grill station serving fish, lobster, pork ect. Plenty of pasta and breads also. The food was very flavourful. The beach was so nice with crystal clear water to swim in. We had one day of wind and rough water, but otherwise great and perfect for a nice long walk. Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach and staff
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Amazing!

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-03
This hotel was absolutely amazing - the beach was beautiful, the à la carte restaurants were delicious and featured beautiful musicians every night who would come up to each table personally for a song, and the staff were absolutely amazing (and genuine): kind, enthusiastic, and they actually wanted to get to know you. Would 10/10 recommend staying here! My boyfriend and I stayed for 7 nights and found that it was a fun crowd, despite being a bit of an older crowd - was still a lot of fun, and the entertainment team always made sure to get the crowd involved. Definitely will return to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the entertainment, the staff, the beaches, the drinks.
The weak points
Wifi, no ATM at the hotel.
Certified

Royalton resort and spa

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-28
The resort was alright. Often had the odor of sewage in various spots on the resort. The staff were friendly and service was good. Our ac did not work very well and was never fixed, needed an adapter for power and that was never sent to our room either. The music shuts off at 11pm in the 24 hour bar..... that is truly rediculous. The resort was beautiful on the outside and very dated on the inside. The al le cart did not do reservations so if you were not the first wave of people present, you were turned away. We tried to eat there a few times and never did get a table, this we found to be very disappointing. There were others talking at the bistro that had been there 10 days already and had al le cart 9 nights, while we were there 7 days and only made it to one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was great Buffet was huge Pool side and beach well kept
The weak points
Rooms were run down a bit After 11pm it was quiet time yet bar was open so very boring Restaraunt almost impossible to dine at
Certified

Cuba Initiation

, Burlington, ON
2020-01-21
The hotel is nice but needs some updating. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the entertainment was very good. We were part of the Diamond Club which we were generally pleased with.The butler service was inconsistent. We were not offered a tour when we arrived which would have helped orient us to the resort complex. The butlers tried to help but got a number of our reservations wrong. They did however help us arrange a private tour of Havana. The driver and guide were excellent.
There was no information in the rooms or anywhere on the daily activities at the resort. We recommend that the resort publish a daily schedule posted in prominent places at the resort, such as the lobby and bar area, if for some reason it can't be delivered to the rooms daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff with great attitude. Beautiful location, beech and outside facilities. Large rooms (Diamond category).
The weak points
The rooms need repairs and updating but are clean. Food selection could be improved but this is affected by availability. The resort needs some repairs and updating but work appears to have started to correct this.
Certified

Amazing trip

, Barrie, ON
2019-12-14
This was our sixth trip to this hotel. The beach is amazing, white sand, extremely clear water and never a shortage of lounge chairs.
The rooms are clean and the air conditioning works well.
The food is good, there is lots of choices but remember this is Cuba so some things are not available.
The staff for the most part are great and some are outstanding.
The pool area last lovely and there is lots of entertainment available you can do as much or little as you want. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a fantastic Butler names Ronald, anything we needed he made it happen. We had some amazing servers in the dinning room Barbara and Lizandra these ladies were kind, friendly and proficient. We love that the resort is a nice size.
The weak points
This sounds petty but my big complaint is you couldn't get a daiquiri at the beach bar this year.
Certified

Varadero

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-12-02
Well experinced staff, efficient and professional. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
No ATM machine. Credit card not accepted every where on the resort. Tips expected at every chore. Have to buy wifi, it should have been included.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023