Wyndham Alltra Cancun

Wyndham Alltra Cancun
4.014.014.014.014.01
4.01 based on 122 reviews
#8 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (48)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Very nice hotel

, Nepean, ON
2023-01-12
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

The only downside was the guest check-in experience. We had paid for a premium suite. This meant we were whisked aside to a private check-in area; however, that process was not smooth. We had to put down a security deposit, which I have not had to do elsewhere. I was charged for the tourist/hotel tax and paid in cash; however, this was also billed to my credit card, so be careful and watch charges carefully. This was refunded to me when we checked out.

Our room was not ready upon arrival. We had nowhere to leave our valuables, so we had to carry around our bags for a couple of hours. We were sent to the spa area to change. Upon arrival, there were workers in the room, which we had to send away. The changing area was tiny and awkward.

The 'premium' suite we were assigned to did not feel 'premium' at all. It was on the 6th floor, overlooking a building, a child daycare area and tennis court. The 'ocean view' was only accessible by standing on the balcony and looking to the far left. We went back to the front desk and they found us an oceanfront room in the two-floor section on the other side of the resort. Everything was fantastic from there onwards. Amazing room, amazing view, food was great, room service was efficient.

Everything at the shop is very expensive. There is a pharmacy and small store across the street. I would recommend paying cash there though.

The Alltra VIP lounge was not really worth paying extra for. There were a lot of children in it, and although the food was good, there were many evenings where there was nothing left around 7:00 pm onwards.

The service and drinks were amazing throughout the resort. The staff work hard and greet you with a smile. Special mention to Rubi and Jorge at the beach who served us and looked after us well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff and food, clean. comfortable rooms, fantastic shower, close to the ocean. Amazing beach. Lots of seating and shady spots on the beach.
The weak points
Premium suite guest check-in was not smooth. No space to leave valuables if room not ready. No welcome drink or special attention to guests without a room. A number of beach cabanas were available for a fee that we found too expensive.
Certified

Wonderful vacation overall!

, Toronto, ON
2022-12-18
We had an awesome time! Couldn't have asked for better weather or service - both were phenomenal. After reading many reviews prior to booking, I took notice of a lot of things that others mentioned, but by no means did we let any of the negative feedback get in the way of us having a great time.

- Drinks were delicious! There was a HUGE variety of mixed drinks available and each one tasted amazing. Also LOVED the cafe! Flat white every morning and it was really good!

- Food was also really good. We tried the Asian, Italian, and American restaurants. Asian was okay, Italian was good, and the American was our fave. We actually went there twice. We didn't try the Mexican. The chicken or fish/seafood dishes were REALLY good, but the beef was questionable at times. Buffet was also good and throughout the day they had a BBQ on the pool deck, a hamburger/hotdog stand at the family pool, usually another small food stand set up that varied each day, and they had a taco stand on the beach. No shortage of food and most of it was really good! We enjoyed the tacos the most during the day, but the BBQ chicken and ribs were great too. They also had a little ice cream parlour which was super cute! We went there twice for an ice cream cone but they also had candy, chocolate covered pretzels, cookies, donuts, etc.

- Our room was spacious, clean, and had an amazing view! Lagoon on one side, ocean on the other. On the 2nd last day, we had a minor issue with ants in the room, but we called the front desk and asked them if they would send someone to clean them. They were prompt and came with ant spray. Helped a lot but didn't completely get rid of them - not their fault. We also noticed the AC was really loud at times, but again, not a huge issue. When it went on, there would be a big blast of air for up to a minute, enough to wake my family up a couple times in the night. Again, not an issue but I know I read this in one of the reviews so figure I'd mention it.

- I'm usually a pool person, but I sometimes enjoy the beach if the ocean is calm and I'm able to swim in it. While looking at the ocean was beautiful, unfortunately it was very rough every day so we didn't really hang on the beach. No big seaweed issue though! It was pretty clean. It was busy on the beach too - definitely the most popular spot. Having said that, we hung by the main pool almost every day. The other pool was mostly where the kids/families hung out and the sun only hit one side of the pool deck based on where it rises over the building so there aren't a ton of sunny spots, but great if you're looking for shade. In the reviews someone mentioned the pools were small, which I certainly agree with, but I didn't ever feel they were overcrowded. There were always chairs available too, but could definitely use more umbrellas cause the sun was HOT! We had no issue though - went out between 10 and 11 AM and found a good spot to hang for the day.

- Service was excellent! Every employee was pleasant, eager to help, and always smiling. Hard to beat the phenomenal service.

- We didn't go to any of the evening shows, but their entertainment crew on the pool deck during the day was just that - very entertaining. At times, the music was really loud but I know that can be the case when going to a family resort - you're signing up for the music and entertainment. Personally, I would probably go for adult-only next time as I usually prefer less music/noise/stimulation when I'm on a relaxing vacation, but by no means is this a complaint - just something to consider for the next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing staff/service - always smiling, very helpful, drinks were delicious, food was very good, weather was perfect!
The weak points
Pools were small / music was very loud on the pool deck, noisy AC unit
Certified

Experience

, Surrey, BC
2022-06-10
The hotel was alright we felt it could have been better. The photoshoot we had with Abarham inside the resort was phenomenal he did an awesome job and we had to purchase all the photos. The restaurants inside the resort were alright we were expecting better quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

I would not hesitate

, Kelowna, BC
2022-01-23
If you are considering this resort, just do it.
If you enjoy all the amenities in one easy compact package this is it.
I have been to 8 other resorts, and this one is one of the top 3.
Easy access to the airport, the beach is beautiful, staff top notch and the size of the resort is perfect for those who don't want to shuttle to beach/dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
20 mins from airport, clean beach, excellent service
Certified

Super family/friendly Resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-21
We loved this resort!! The size was perfect, the entertainment is phenomenal and the servers at the pool were going over beyond to satisfy your needs whether it was beverage or even ice cream for the kids. Super clean, very friendly, check in and check outs were very efficient and well organized. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fantastic

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-11-07
Had an absolute fantastic time, from the moment we arrived at the front door till we got back on the bus to go home. The front door staff, to the bar and restaurant staff, the cleaners, just everyone was a pleasure to deal with. The food was great, the entertainment was great, the drinks were fantastic and the onsite photographers also did an excellent job. I will be back again soon! (I may even bring the kids next time) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great time! the worst part was going home.
The weak points
Nothing bad to say. No alcohol after 1:30 am is kind of a bummer but when you start drinking at noon, it's pretty much time for bed at 1 am.

Highly recommend Panama Jack Resorts

, Mississauga, ON
2018-07-31
When we first arrived at the resort, we were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and how everyone was very kind in the way they greeted us.
The resort was very nice and very very clean. We were very impressed with the cleanliness all of the resort and the rooms. Each day the rooms were cleaned as if it was our first day at the resort. This made us feel comfortable.
The smell each morning of the Cinnamon rolls at the Panama Jack Coffee club was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness was excellent!
The weak points
Food options at the restaurants became quite monotonous.
Certified

Best resort so far

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-21
The food and stuff were amazing. Full service for everything. Not huge resort but big enough for us especially for those with small kids. Rooms are starting to wear out but very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was the best. Lots of choices.
The weak points
Lots of seaweed along the beach. The whole week that we were there we couldn't use the beach that much. It was very windy with big waves. Not suited for small children under 5 years.Also the umbrellas on the beach are very far from the water.
Certified

Cancun 2017

, Beaumont, AB
2017-11-23
No issues with the Hotel it was going under renovation's but this will only make it better for the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was excellent around the pools & restaurants.
The weak points
Our room was a little bit noisy at night time being not to far from the Lobby.
Certified

Not really oceanview

, Minto, NB
2016-10-29
we paid for ocean view room 2371 if we stood in left corner of deck you could see a small section of ocean. rest of deck all you could see was roof of building.Pool is very small [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best experience

, Brampton, ON
2016-09-13
7 days were the best time we had at gran caribe the staff were amazing specially bartender Fernando and the Bellboy Francisco and Angel they were courteous and professional at Gran Caribe and definitely will come back to the resorts [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly
The weak points
It's little hot in the lobby
Certified

VACATION TRIP

, Anjou, QC
2016-03-09
It is nice and clean resort hotel. The beach is good. Restaurant have plenty of good food and service.
Staff so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good for the beach and food
The weak points
The pool is limit with the bad weather, when can not play on the beach

Cancun in November

, Toronto, ON
2015-11-11
Nice lobby and building. Rooms a bit dated. Staff friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
One of the few beaches that were cleaned every day to remove seaweed. Great restaurants and due to off season no reservations required. Instead of bedspreads, they have fresh duvet covers. Great value.
The weak points
No wifi in our room. Rooms facing road/west are super noisy due to outside A/C turbines. We had to upgrade because of this. They push deal similar to timeshare
Certified

Not good

, Toronto, ON
2014-08-14
Went for a wedding and we all got very ill with TD from the food for 2 days straight. One friend went to emergency when she landed in california because her stomach pains were so bad. Night life is minimal. They do not serve alcohol past 1 am. So your all inclusive is not fully utilized at this resort because you have to go to downtown and pay $13 American for 1 shot of what seems to be juice if you want to continue drinking. No adult entertainment at all. No shows. Only a few singers will come to the resort. The waterside is old and dirty [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wifi was available as far as the beach. The resort had a nice wedding chapel
The weak points
Horrible food, no alcohol served past 1 am
Certified

Beyond Expectations at Gran Caribe Real

, North Bedeque, PE
2014-03-04
This hotel is marvelously clean, easy to navigate (wheel chair accessible even to the beach), has top flight friendly service, good food in all venues especially at the al la carte restaurants and is located on a fabulous beach in the hotel zone.

While we were there last week five chapel/beach weddings were held with the hotel creating a special beach layout for each. We were impressed.

We spoke with many one, two and three week visitors to the resort. The high level of satisfaction with the physical resort, services and employee interactions dominated the conversations. Two couples mentioned a minor maintenance issues which, when brought to the attention of the Front Desk staff, were dealt with quickly and satisfactorily.

Well done, Gran Caribe Real. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Firstly: When you find a resort where employees are happy and speak well of their employer you know you will be well looked after. The Gran Caribe Real is one of those places. Secondly: The resort was immaculate.
The weak points
None
Certified

Great experience!

, Montreal, QC
2014-02-06
We are very happy with our choice. The price was great for the service we had.The view from room 2518 is absolutely amazing (ocean view all around the room). The best restaurant is Sunset Grill, you do not need reservation and the service is very, very good(the Manager Gabriel Reynoso is very professional and friendly).We had the best Cordon bleu ever.
The location is perfect, you can walk to several shopping centers (Plaza Flamingo, Plaza Kukulkan etc.) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1. The beach 2. Restaurant Sunset Grill 3. Location
The weak points
The reception
Certified

Great experience!!

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-27
All in all, no complaints for this resort. Staff were very accommodating, rooms were nice and clean, food and drinks were good. The beach was amazing ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, entertainment, cleanliness
The weak points
None
Certified

Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-11
Excellent hotel with excellent staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service in all areas of the hotel
The weak points
Food was so so, same everyday mostly Mexican style
Certified

It was OK

, Calgary, AB
2013-12-03
I'm not one to complain, but you pay for what you get! We upgraded to the Hyatt next door and had a relaxing and fabulous stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great, beach is beautiful. Upgrade when there and use the amenities of the Hyatt (adults only….well worth it)
The weak points
Loads and loads of local families! Busy place.
Certified

Cancun November Wedding

, Surrey, Br
2013-11-28
Great Location to Markets & Beach was great. Reception slow & frustrating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel had lots of activities & choices.
The weak points
Reception
Certified

Worst vacation

, Codys, NB
2013-04-17
Very POOR staff front desk rude would not ever go back !!!!!! , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
wedding at Royal next door was nice
The weak points
airconditioning no good staff rude everything is an up sell never again
Certified

Good time

, Mackin, SK
2013-03-19
pretty good went for a wedding. fricken windy. Loved Daniel the waiter at the beach & pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
workers were very friendly
The weak points
being there during spring break
Certified

The Best Choice

, Breslau, ON
2013-02-14
We would highly recommend this hotel. We had the perfect room, the perfect location on the beach where we could watch the beach, the water and the sunrise. The food was great and we tried every restaurant. Service was fast and very courteous. On the beach we didn't have to wait long to be asked if we wanted a drink and it was delivered within 5 minutes. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have been to. Their motto is to Exceed Your Expectations and they did just that! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, beach, food, friendly, helpful staff.
The weak points
There really were none.
Certified

Pleasently surprised.

, Castlegar, BC
2013-02-12
The staff is amazing. Room cleaned twice a day! You really feel that your patronage is appreciated.The standard of the 2 rstaurants were top notch. We travelled to Mexico for 30 years and this is the first place we had a GOOD steak. The only thing that is keeping the Gran Caribe from a 5 star status is the poor quality pillows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff approachability. Nothing was minor, they would go out of their way to help. Adequate security. LOts of staff for our convenience! Heated pool
The weak points
Having to ask for water or getting it ourselves.Small pool.
Certified

Beautiful Beach

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-01-24
Great hotel & location. Stayed in a beachfront walkout room. Steps away from both the beach and the pool. It was amazing. Would definitely go back to this resort. Pay the extra for the beachfront walk out room. You won't be sorry. Tip: take a travel mug with you. At the beach bar, they wash the glasses in a sink, not in a dishwasher. Very unsanitary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Beautiful resort. Very clean. Amazing beach and crystal blue water.
The weak points
Food was just okay. Same selections everyday. Expected better at such a beautiful resort. Our package incl. 2 meals at the Royal Resort next door. The meals were much better there.
Certified

Would Not Be My First Choice in Cancun

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-14
For the price I expected a lot more, having been to Cancun several times and tried various resorts. I chose this place because my daughter is vegetarian. Her options were quite limited and, although the write up about the resort indicated vegetarian menu and sushi, other than the usual salads/veggies/fruits there were limited vegetarian choices. Many of the vegetable dishes contained small amounts of ground up meat in them and would be identified as vegetarian. We both did get sick, as did other people we talked to. The hot water did not work for 2 days and the beach beds were in poor repair so curtains could not be used on all sides. The upscale restaurants required reservations and, even though they were not busy at all, reservations were not easy to make. Both the 'fancy' Italian restaurant (Il Pescatore) and the Mexican restaurant (Maria's) were only ok. Drinks were made with low quality liquor, but the mojito's were still pretty good. Lots of people were drinking these over the slushy type drinks.

The beach was beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful. The resort was kept very clean. This resort is closer to downtown and is one of the last resorts at this end of the strip that has lots of beach beds/loungers for people to use. Very close to La Isla Shopping Centre. Nice lounge and lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was wonderful. Resort was clean. Beach was beautiful.
The weak points
Drinks were made with low quality liquor. Food was very cafeteria. 'Fancy' restaurants were nothing special.
Certified

GREAT HOLIDAY!!!

, North Vancouver, Br
2012-11-14
We had a great time at Gran Caribe Real. The check-in was super fast and the lady who was helping us was very very nice. We upgraded to ocean view room and it was the best option we made. Room was very nice, clean and modern. The pool was almost empty (we travelled in low season) Food was delicious- always plenty of options to choose from. Beach was awesome but on third day it got wavy- no problem for us adults but our 9 month old daughter wasn't able to go in.
Im the kind of person who likes clean and thats why I would definitely recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice and clean hotel
The weak points
None
Certified

Personal

, Saint John, NB
2012-04-02
People were great. We were there for a wedding and it was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we were very pleased with the resort
The weak points
Services such as hair appointment , use of computers were over inflated.
Certified

Not as good as it used to be

, Lindsay, ON
2012-03-07
This was our second time staying at the Gran Caribe Real, and will probably be our last. We really enjoyed it the first time we went in 2009, but felt it had declined somewhat since then. The food has become very mediocre; its plentiful, but the selection is pretty much the same every day and the quality is not as good. The first room they gave us was supposed to be "ocean view" but was in fact a ground floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool and bar/restaurant. There would have been a slight chance of seeing a small slice of the ocean if not for a palm tree in the way. A very nice employee named Jessie rectified the situation the next day and got us an acceptable room. The other thing we really noticed this time was how noisy it was in our suite. The doors to the rooms slam when you open or shut them, so all night long you hear the college bar hopping crowd going back to their rooms, then early in the morning, you hear all the early birds getting up. We did not get more than 3 hours of uninterrupted sleep all week. The beach is great, thank goodness, but forget the pool. Its really small for the size of the resort, the chairs are always "claimed" and don't even try to swim, there is usually a volleyball net over the middle and a game going on.

Not to say it is all bad, the rooms are kept clean, linens changed daily, and the maids are great. Most of the waiters and waitresses are nice and cheerful, especially Daniel, who seems to work in every bar and restaurant there and always remembers you. The front desk and bellboy staff were mostly pleasant and helpful. Found the staff at the in hotel store not very pleasant, and they follow you around the store as if you are a thief.

I would rate this hotel as a three and a half, not a four and a half, star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mostly nice staff, clean rooms, good maid service, nice beach with lots of chairs
The weak points
Little variety with the food, can't get near the pool to swim, very noisy hotel
Certified

Great experience

, Toronto, ON
2012-02-20
I highly recommend this resort.Good value for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach with lots of chairs and beds. Large and very clean rooms. Great service at bars and restaurants.
The weak points
At the buffet, food is just ok, not enough variety. Sometimes it's a long wait to be seated. A la cart restaurants are very good.The resort needs more entertainment at night, the music in the lobby stops at 11pm and the bar closes shortly after
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023