Bluebay Grand Esmeralda

Bluebay Grand Esmeralda
3.773.773.773.773.77
3.77 based on 939 reviews
#36 of 134 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (313)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

, New Westminster, BC
2023-01-27
I want to say it was a pleasant experience, but I can't. The staff is wonderful and we can't say enough good things about them.
The Time Share Sales people are really annoying as are some of the patrons who were very drunk and singing very loudly. Because they are Circle One members, bad behavior is tolerated and the rest of the guests tolerated 2 hours of obnoxious behavior. This included one of the Circle One guests dumping a ladies belonging from a poolside table onto the ground because "Those are for Circle One Members only. We pay for those. You don't." The attendant who witness it just shrugged and walked away.
There is a total lack of poolside and/or beach loungers.
The beach is not usable. Even on a calm day, the water is so murky and sand filled that wading into the water is treacherous. If you are willing to walk 5 hotels down the beach, there is a lovely sandy beach that is swimmable.

Food is less than mediocre. I suspect that a lot of the food is leftovers from the a la carte restaurants. It was dried out, overcooked and totally tasteless before it was even put out on the buffet tables. Even the bolognese sauce for the pasta was pretty much Heinz tomato paste without any flavoring what so ever, poured over penne.
The 24 hour snack bar they tell you about in the lobby does not exist.
Food is packed up by 10:30 pm and nothing is put out until 11 am the next morning. Also, be prepared to pay $ 8.00 US for a package of gummy bears,or bag of potato chips at the gift shop. And make sure you have exact change. A lot of times they don't have change, so you need to leave them a "tip" because they don't have change.
Because the recommended for field is mandatory to submit a review, I chose clubs and partying. I did neither so have no idea what it is like. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff is wonderful. I can't praise them enough. If not for them the stay would have been abysmal. Rooms are clean.
The weak points
The rooms are dated and in need of maintenance. The food is terrible. Very bland without any seasoning. Constant harrassment by the Time Share sales people is also a bit annoying.
Certified

Meh

, Portage La Prairie, MB
2023-01-24
Hotel is old, outdated and smelly.

Water pressure is really weak for shower (water stopped on me in the middle of shower).

Building is old and outdated (all the seals are breaking off) and smelly washroom to begin with. Towels you only get two, and they are old (thin and dusty). There is a sewer drainage pipe on washroom floor, guess where the smell is coming from??

Food is sub par, almost the same food everyday, except the dinner in different restaurant.

You have to make reservation everyday in order to get a seat in the restaurant for dinner (there is an app you can use, but 90% of the time it does not work).

Most of dinner restaurants are good.
Do not go to Italian restaurant though, food is terrible there, they will serve you frozen pizza for pizza menu.

When you check in, you are dragged into this VIP service desk and the staff will tell you that he will pick you up for breakfast, etc.
They pick you up in the morning, take you to breakfast, but turns out, it was 3 hours of waste of my vacation time to listen to the sales person trying to sell you this VIP ticket for $15,000 USD. What a waste of time (the sales person is very aggressive, and as soon as you express your lack of interest, they will change their mood very quickly).

Other service staffs were nice though.

Wifi. Where do I start.. it's there, but I hope you are patient person.

Beach is okay, they blocked off front part of the sea with some sort of stones or sand, guessing it blocks strong waves?? But it traps all the dirt and garbage, water is not desirable at all. I did not go into the sea water at all, just sat on the docks most of the times. You will understand why if you choose to go here.

If I was to go back to Mexico (though I do not think I ever will), I would spend some more money for adult only, more updated resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staffs (most of them)
The weak points
Everything else
Certified

Not a 4.5 star hotel

, Langdon, AB
2023-01-23
The stay was ok, the staff was very friendly. The service at the buffet was great all servers where nice and knowledgeable. The EL a cart was good they did a great job with adding the special detail to the food and service. The reason that I say it is not a four star not even close is the rooms and the black and white bar and bar service in all.

The rooms where very poor they had a horrible smell(in several room we had a group of 30 plus people and three rooms need to be changed do to model and smell). The paint job was horrible paint everywhere the room was ok cleaned but no extra things or special items. Service like safe problems took hours to get any support and you had to stay in your room and wait for them to come. So waiting hours to get that service mad us waist a whole night out. The bathrooms where out dated and the repairs where horrible. The repair in the whole hotel where horrible patches and model everywhere. The wall in the hallways where dirty not just dirty but gross they had what looked like poo on the walls and was not cleaned the whole time we where there.

Booking Elacarts was horrible the on line app was hard to use and you could not get in to any unless you stayed up until 1am. The front desk would not book for you and it was hard to get anything from them.
The biggest problem we had was the push for Time Shares!! Every morning they would attack you on the path about coming for a free breakfast it made the trip very unrelating . I don't need to be attacked even morning same people it sure made us want to leave.
Know the bars first off there is only three for such a large resort this is unacceptable. also by 8pm there is only two option black and white or swing bar. The premium liquor was not premium in anyway. it took for even to get a drink any where!!
Also the night entertainment was sub par, the Black and white bar where everything was held was not executable smoking in side!! It smelt bad, line ups out the door to get a drink and the sound that the speakers made was horrible.
The night life was horrible there we had to hunt down someone to find out where we could get food or snacks. Once found it was ok but again there should be an option for 24hr food should not be a closed time.
There was no I say no coffee shop at all the coffee was the worst I ever had it was like coloured water. And if you wanted coffee at night or other times of the day it was a machine like at a convent store. Mexico coffee no where to be found in this hotel.
The front entrance of the hotel was dirty and not impressing at all for a first impression it was gross.
Be aware they dont tell where your travel agent is they try to get you to buy from the Day people out front. The travel agents are hidden behind the black and white club and are only there a few days threw your stay. Also unless you are a time share they kind of treat you sub par.
The beach is good but they have these barges in the water so in blocks the ocean view all the way big black barges. They tell you to go for about a 15min walk down the beach to find snorkling but when you get there they don't let you on the place because it is a private beach.
All in all if this was not for a wedding we went to I would have left the hotel the first day we got there. It was not great at all. The hotel is very out dated and damaged no way it this even close to a 4 star hotel maybe a 3 star.
would not recumbent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2023-01-23
Was a good hotel overall. And we enjoyed ourselves as a family of 4 (2 kids, 5 and 7)
Beach was fine. Nice sand, lots of chairs. Water was mostly okay, there are some barriers that break the waves (I guess) that are a bit on an eye sore, who cares, but they seem to trap in murkiness and seaweed whenever there is any. There can be a lot at times. Fortunately the hotels just to the right of it have a great open beach and you can walk there in about 2 minutes. The one on the left (4min walk) has a beautiful river dumping into the ocean and is a must see. Google map it check the pics.
Pool area, excellent.
Bars, good, liquor/beer quality good. Good brands and not watered down.
Restaurants, buffet was great lots of good tasty selection, loved it. Didn't do a la carts as buffet did it for us.
Kids club, very good. Attentive staff good programs, kids absolutely loved it.
Animation/poolside entertainment and activities very good, lots to do if you want it.
Grounds are well kept and rooms are cleaned efficiently.
Room was great, beds were hard. Oh well. But overall room was great clean, spacious everything worked fine.
Nightly entertainment… shows were decent, great dancers etc, the area where the shows were lacked a bit of character. It turns into the only place to get a coffee or drink after it's done and doesn't really make you want to stick around. Not a complaint, just an observation. But it's fine. A couple of bar stools at the bar would probably be a good idea because if you are by yourself it's pretty awkward standing against a wall or sitting at a table for 5 all alone.
All in all we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Great time! If the price is right, as it was, I'd definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pool area, buffet, kids club
The weak points
None
Certified

BLUEBAY GRAND

, Burlington, ON
2023-01-13
The hotel was amazing. The "VIP" greeting was a horrible experience. Very high-pressure sales-pitch that we gladly opted out of. When we opted our treatment from the VIP staff changed dramatically - they were very rude.
Aside from that experience - our stay was amazing.
Suggestion from others who were coerced into the 90 minute meeting ....DONT GO!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amenities and resort staff.
The weak points
VIP greeting - terrible!!
Certified

It's an OK resort, won't return though

, Coldstream, BC
2023-01-05
It's a very large resort, lots of walking. We did on average 9km walking just in the resort lol

Lots of partying, but may be due to its new years weekend. Lots of restaurants and has a 24 hour bar. The neatest town is a 450 Pesos cab ride each way $30 Can

There are 2 large pools and a smaller pool at the other end. It's right on the beach, but isn't very nice, small and a lot of seaweed, as of all of that area right now. It's located in Playa del Carmen, about a 45min ride from the airport, so make sure you have a shuttle with the package.

All and all, I'd say it's an ok resort. I just prefer to be closer to a town for the food and seeing the culture. The room is a typical Mexican room, nothing special.

There was some areas that had a weird smell, our room was one, smelt like stagnant water...

The power went out the day we left as well as the running water. There is a water shortage in Mexico right

The store on sight is crazy expensive! For 12 advil it was $20 Canadian and the sunscreen was $36 Canadian for 1 can! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food was good Staff very friendly Resort was cleaned daily
The weak points
Room smelt horrible, made all our clothes smell so bad we couldn't wear anything we didn't air out outside before flying home! Shops in resort very expensive Expensive ride to Cancun or Playa del Carmen
Certified

5 stars, ok

, Burnaby, BC
2023-01-04
Very good loved the week there, the interaction with the staff was very good pool area bars and the party on black and white [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great Staff, clean Good food
The weak points
Better reception is a bit confusing and disorganized. Needs a better maintenance
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
ok
Certified

Smells like sewage

, Middle Sackville, NS
2023-01-02
We had to request a new room twice before we could get away from the sewage smell. The smell was so overwhelming that we couldn't sleep.
The resort is very rundown and needs extensive repairs.
This is definitely not a 5 star facility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Smell of sewage Rundown and in disrepair
Certified

Holiday

, Brandon, MB
2022-12-31
All in All, resort was okay. toilets/washrooms away from main restaurant areas were a little unsanitary and a few were missing toilet seats.
This was are 4th time to this resort in the last 6 years and it seems to be not kept as well as the first time we were there.
Was surprised that , being a repeat client, there was no upgrades like we have had from other resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
good staff-good food.
The weak points
unsanitary washrooms.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
did not see any
Certified

Bluebay cancun

, Peterborough, ON
2022-12-30
Our experience at bluebay. When we arive at the airport there's no available private hotel transportation. The hotel is ok clean and good service. The food is always the same everyday. They should have more activity or event everyday that will be more fun and enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great Vacation

, Lasalle, QC
2022-12-23
First off check in was easy, then a man took us aside and explain on a map where everything was which made things easier.
Got to our room by golf cart with all our luggage and room was very clean, good a/c and fully sticked mini fridge.
Buffet restaurant had many choices even for a picky eater like my son, specialty restaurants need to be booked 1 day before, you can reserve them by your concierge who sits at the entrance of your building or in the lobby, but best option is to download the app My blue bay and you can book through the app. Mexican restaurant is very good just make sure to order your meat well done, italian was good as well, these are the onoy 2 we tried.
Pool is beautiful make sure to get up early if you want a good lounger as they get reserves fast, just put your towel on it and go about your day, no one will touch it.
Beach is not the best and not really swimmable so you will spend most of your time at the pool unless you walk 5-7 min to the left where you will find a little lagoon that is good to swim in, watch out for sand flees as they will attack your feet and legs but they only seem to be attracted to certain flood types like 0.
Entertainment staff at the pool are great, very friendly and have lots of energy, there is a foam party in the pool on sat, bingo everyday at 3, beach volleyball, lots of other games.
Nightly entertainment is not the best and is very loud but at least it gives you something to do it is usually held at the black and white bar.
convenience store on site is super expensive so bring medical kit from home or any other necessities.
Went on a tour to playa del Carmen, lots of shopping looks like a sidewalk sale, ate at one of the local restaurants it was fantastic. You can find starbucks's and a few other name brans stores to shop at there.
make sure to get a room in building 1-5 closest to the pool and beach otherwise if you don't mind walking to the pool or beach everyday stay and the higher numbers, there are golf carts that drive around just sometimes a little difficult to get one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful pool, good food, lots of slushy drinks, clean room friendly staff
The weak points
bad beach with lots of sand fleas, basic drinks
Certified

Blue Bay GE

, Hardisty, AB
2022-12-16
Overall the hotel was above average. The language barrier was a challenge when requesting room service etc. but not a game breaker. Better comprehension of the english language from the room service call operator would be appreciated. The al a carte restaurants and buffet food and service staff was excellent. The room and patio was cleaned very well daily and the bed and bedding was clean and comfortable. The swim-up pool was cleaned daily and the resort entertainment and lobby staff were above average. We would recommend this resort to our friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

1 star horror show

, Calgary, AB
2022-11-16
Definitely not as advertised. Run down property with many many safety concerns, including shower doors that don't close, live wires, electrical outlets hanging out of the wall, handles missing on patio doors, the list goes on. Elevators & air conditioning not working. The incompetence & consistant confrontational interaction with the Concierge was unacceptable. Everything was a fight from an allergic reaction to the latex wrist band (told to carry passport & band everywhere on the property), arguing & fighting to have our name on the room we were in (we were staying another week while the other 2 rooms were checking out). We made & paid for special extras which were not produced (it was our granddaughters 21st Birthday). Restaurants not open. The food was ok. The room housekeeping was great, to bad the public areas were not maintained. We tried thru the wholesaler Sunwing to change properties for our second week (didn't happen but that's another story). Believe me you don't want to stay here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I have nothing good to say, other than the weather was good.
The weak points
Incompetence of check in & concierge staff. Old unmaintained property. Closed restaurants, with just ok food. STAY AWAY!!!!

Good but not the best

, Saskatoon, SK
2022-11-16
Overall this was a nice hotel I really enjoyed the grounds and all the wildlife you got to see. it's a very large resort so be prepared for a lot of walking but they do have trolley to drive you around if need be. The buffets were decent not the best I've ever had but not the worst either and the ala carts were actually quite good. The part I did not enjoy was the fact that there are parts of the beach and certain areas that are for Members only and you are subjected to a presentation to try and convince you to become a member which is really just a new name for timeshare. At one point we got kicked off a certain part of the beach because it was for Members only and it was the nicest part of the beach with all the shade huts I would have enjoyed this hotel better if I had gone at a lower season it was very crowded and if you didn't get to one of the pool areas by 8:00 in the morning you didn't get a chair they don't stop people from putting towels on chairs and walking away to reserve their chair, so half the time you got to the pool or beach and all the chairs had a towel on it but no person. I did find all of the staff very nice and helpful our concierge was especially nice. The entertainment at night wasn't the best but we did have a couple of fun nights but leaving resort was expensive and being that it's not in town I did tend to get bored towards the end, it costs approximately $30 usd. Per couple to go into town on the shuttle that's there and back but you have to go at 11:00 and come back by 4:00 if you want to go at any other time a cab is $25 each way and that's usd, considering I am a Canadian traveler well do the math. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful grounds nice staff
The weak points
Too crowded not enough beach or pool chairs, restricted areas.
Certified

Not for me thanks

, Vancouver, BC
2022-11-11
The hotel is really beautiful.
The staff was great - except for a fellow behind the bar (not bartender) who didn't realize I understood Spanish.
The beach was strangely muddy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff were wonderful.
The weak points
The Circle One (vacation club) made for areas that regular guests weren't permitted. The best (empty as well...) cabanas were reserved for the Circle One people. This made me feel 'unwelcome'.
Certified

Ok, but I can not recommend this hotel

, Burnaby, BC
2022-11-07
During our stay, the main buffet closed down for maintenance for 2 days. We had to eat at other 2 smaller buffets and food was not good( noodles, soup, pizza and barely any meat served.
Our last day, I personally witnessed one of the guests slip and fall on the wet floor at the main buffet. Nobody even approached him and asked if he was ok, the gentlemen was hurt and very upset. All staff did is quickly wiped the spill away.
When I was stung by a scorpion walking back from black/white bar to my building, I had to pay for medical services out of my pocket all though the incident happened on resort's property. A crocodile spotted by another guests swimming in one of VIP building's pool. Bring extra insurance with you if you are staying at this resort as it may cost you a lot more than what I paid ($600 US) to fix your missing leg/finger if crocodile bits it off.
Drinks are ok but not great, lots of times I would order a coke and get diet or some fructose/glucose horrible tasting drink. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
-Staff is hard working -Place is clean and looks beautiful -Show is playing every day, very nice
The weak points
-Room: broken phone, sink broke on the first day, no hair dryer. However hotel fixed and replaced all deficiencies very fast once reported -Lack of first aid attendants during an emergency
Certified

Sun, Fun and my stay at the BlueBay Esmeralda

, Montréal, QC
2022-08-18
The experience at staying the Blue Bay Esmeralda was really fun, the ambiance was 5 stars, the food (from the Buffet to the individual restaurants) is a 5 star, the rooms were clean, and functional 5 stars. The hotel staff were always polite, helpful and kind 5 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great food, very clean, and wonderful staff.
The weak points
Lack of snack bar at the pool, and WiFi was weak.
Certified

Escape

, Toronto, ON
2022-07-22
the hotel is great! but it actually shows that there is a beach! but the beach sucks! dirty, impossible to shower! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Will not return to this resort.

, Oshawa, HA
2022-05-14
Staff was rude and not helpful and most of the staff spoke no English I was told I should learn Spanish
The sheets were soiled
Resort was run down
Food was horrible
Transportation around the resort was rundown [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Could not swim at beach Wifi was not accessible most of the time
Certified

Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda

, Calgary, AB
2022-05-02
The hotel was lovely. The lobby area is set back away from the beach. This area also has their bar, accommodation buildings, small shops, a pool with snack/drink bar, and one of the buffets. A five minute walk or a 2 minute shuttle ride will get you to the beach which has 2 pools, lots of beach chairs, a tiki swing bar, and the other buffet. The paths to get around the resort are manicured and well cared for.
Buffet food is what's expected for a buffet - standard selection with some items rotated throughout the week. Staff was kind and accommodating. The other restaurants are great and give you a chance to dress up. The Mexican restaurant was the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I would go back again. Good location and easy to get to Playa del Carmen via taxi or shuttle.
The weak points
There are some buildings that are under construction which gives the impression of the resort being incomplete. I'm assuming this is from stalled progress because of Covid. However, the one or two buildings that weren't complete were the only "blemish".
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks in restaurants unless sitting at table. Gloves distributed before using the buffet.
Certified

Long Awaited BlueBay Vacay!!

, Winnipeg, Ma
2022-04-24
We found the resort to be the tropical paradise as advertised! The grounds were well tended, the staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable everyday and we found the food to be very good each and every day. We enjoyed the Mexican, Italian and Steakhouse al a cartes to be very good and the service to be exceptional. The service at the buffets was just as exceptional, very prompt, personalized. Special thanks to Benjamin, who was wonderful and as he said.. "everything is possible" when we couldn't decide , Joel at the beach bar, who remembered us and the drinks we liked and Alberto who found us pool loungers and brought us poolside bevies!
We enjoyed the abundant wild life...coatis just outside our balcony, beautiful birds and even deer. Just lovely!
The front desk was very efficient and friendly. The excursion reps did their best to accommodate the adventures we wanted and days we had to do them. They made them all happen!
Perhaps the only disappointment we had was the ocean was not swim-able during our stay. Certainly not the fault of the hotel or the hard working beach cleaners that worked most of the day, everyday.. Thankfully the pools were perfect for a dip.
All in all a very enjoyable stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Wonderful staff on all levels. Hilarious trolley operators. Entertaining wildlife.
The weak points
Hotel could use a little TLC...rooms could use an update, especially bathrooms. Ocean wasn't swim-able. Communication about evening events or daytime activities was almost nil, except for a activity board which we found on our 5th day there..
Certified

My Opinion

, Edmonton, AB
2022-04-16
This hotel is definitely a bit too far away from Cancun and if want to do any excursions. We were moved to a different room as the first one didn't not have working ac. The rooms smelt musty. The service and staff were great, but to book an a la carte dinner you had to go through the concierge and the line up was always long. This line up never got better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Not a 4.5 star

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-03-22
The overall experience at Blue Bay was ok. It was far from excellent but not the worst place I've ever been. However I've stayed at 4.5 and 5 star resorts in the area and this did not meet expectations.

Here's my honest review:

The grounds and the rooms are very tired and are in need of some maintenance and upgrading. The beds were not comfortable and neither were the bricks with pillow cases they called pillows.

The experience and customer service was not what I would deem a 4.5 star. Outside of the restaurant staff and the one bar by the pool, most of the staff were not very friendly. There was also very limited pool side or beach side service. And by very limited, I mean none.

When you tried to ask a question or need assistance you were left feeling like you've interrupted their day or are a burden to them somehow. In addition, we had an ant infestation in our 4th floor room which we asked to be moved and they wouldn't. They “fumigated” by spraying Raid everywhere including over our belongings. I get it, we're in Mexico, bugs happen but an option to change rooms would have been courteous, and what I'd expect from a 4.5 star hotel.

Also, the walls. The walls are paper thin. You can hear everything that goes on in the rooms next to you, as well as the hallway and I mean everything. The tv, children screaming, music, conversations and all the afternoon or late night adult shenanigans that are going on.

We were told upon check-in that there is a late night snack bar open until 1am. When we tried to go get a late night snack at 12:45, it was already closed and we were told we aren't allowed to eat.. imagine that, not allowed to eat at an all inclusive? one of the staff did let us have what appeared to be a 4 hour old hot dog (which tasted like spam) while another staff member stood behind us and stared until we were done and grabbed our plates from under as as we ate our last bite. I understand there was only 15 minutes left, but to close early and not have food for your guests at a resort after they've been in your bar all evening is not an example of service. It's not like we could hit a drive through and grab a quick Big Mac. There is room service you can order with a limited menu, but it wasn't free. Again, having to pay for food at an all inclusive after spending $3500 doesn't seem very “all inclusive”.

Lastly, the beach. Not good. This my fourth time in the area and by the far the worst beach I've seen. Also, there are a lot of broken and ripped beach chairs. Which is not the end of the world, but not what I've seen or would expect at other 4.5 star resorts.

The food was fantastic at the buffet and the a la cartes we're great. So that was a pleasant surprise.

I don't mean to be all negative, I was in Mexico with drinks and sunshine! However having stayed in the area at other 4.5 and 5 star resorts, this would honestly be a soft 3 star at best. I can understand the times and that recovering from the pandemic is hard, however customer service is something you can offer for free and would have completely changed the experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food
The weak points
Customer service Grounds and guest rooms
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Some sanitizer around and you had to wear masks inside the dining halls.
Certified

Excellent Service

, Coquitlam, BC
2021-12-29
This was our second time staying at the Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. We were there from December 6th - 16th, 2021. They still remembered us after 3 years. We love the atmosphere at this resort and the friendly staff. The resort was not yet at full capacity due to the pandemic, which was perfect as it wasn't crowded. They followed all the protocols. Our room was cleaned daily which we weren't expecting due to Covid. We would like to thank Baltazar Arcos & Felipe May for the personal service at Black & White, as well as Gilberth & Santiago for you exceptional service at the buffet. You always had our table ready for us in the morning. The food was amazing and the extra charge for the lobster was well worth it. We are looking forward to our next visit hopefully in the next few months now that we became Circle One members. JD thanks for setting us up with an amazing room with a great view. Hopefully we will end able to come back in March depending on the pandemic [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff and excellent service
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
They followed all Covid protocols

Terrible hotel

, Montréal, QC
2020-11-28
Where to begin? From the bartender on the beachside that doesn't even try to clean the glasses, but simply rinse it with water and serve new cocktails in?

Their staff doesn't pick you up at the airport even if you pay the fee (ohh yes, they send a 3rd party to pick you up (VR experience) but apparently you have to guess it cause they don't even try to look for you. So you end up paying a taxi to the airport and you can already forget the idea of getting a refund or even talking to someone that cares.
Room cleaning? Maybe, if in your book it only includes passing the broom. Changing toilet papers or cleaning the patio doors is too much to ask for.

They claim that they care about Covid and their guests, but actions speak louder than words [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
They are friendly
The weak points
They don't care about their guests. When you ask to speak to a manager, they are never or try to contact you back

Bluebay

, Montréal, QC
2020-11-17
The hotel went through a hurican so it wasnt very clean , they were still working on it and thats why the prices were low , the food is really OK ... tge beach isnt very clean but if you walk on the right for about 5 to 10 min youll find better beach , cleaner water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Music at the bar b&w is really bad , they put local music cz most of the guests are local , not eveyone dances salsa or bachata and not everyone likes this type of music
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-24
Everyone is very friendly. Food is pretty good. Lots of selection of food. The resort is absolutely gorgeous. The pools are amazing. Alejandro the pool entertainment guy was super fun. Actually everyone is amazing for the entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Beds are tiny for 2 people. If possible, get an extra room.
Certified

O'Donnell's visit to Cancun Mar 11,20-Mar 18,20

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-21
Generally, everything was well organized. Lots of SunWing representatives on hand at our arrival. Reception at the Hotel went smooth.

All was well from Day 1 to departure (except week points). All staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location. Facilities are good but not new.
The weak points
I am handicapped and I need a walker to move around. The staff were good about this and the bus drivers were very accomodating, but nevertheless... there was a LOT of walking between room, to meals and pools. My feet were literally bleeding!
Certified

Bad experience

, Gatineau, QC
2020-03-19
We were very disappointed in general.
Food was average even below average for a resort that claimed to be 5 stars.
Animation was good but no enough Latino music in my point of view and too much american music.
Hygiene was below average as 3 out of 4 were sick during our 7 days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sun
The weak points
No slides in the pools for kids. Kid's club not very attractive and my kids were sick after Restaurant à la carte are not very good as you can except in a resort that claimed to be 5 stars.
Certified

Blue Bay Grand Esmerelda is Great!

, Vancouver, BC
2020-03-17
We've stayed at 6 different all inclusive resorts, and Blue Bay has been the best so far! The buildings are clean & well maintained, the food was the best tasting and quality we've had so far, the staff were excellent, from the cleaners to the management. The bugs were almost non existent. The beach is not good though, too much sand erosion and the water just in front is brown from the water eroding the ocean floor in the immediate area. The pools were clean and well maintained, but quite cold. Great visit overall! Wifi was good, got it almost everywhere, but slow at certain times. The toilet in our room didn't flush well, more of an annoyance than a real issue. Close to Playa del Carmen and only about 50 minutes away from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness and helpfulness were great. The food was flavorful and fresh. The buildings clean and well maintained, room service and assistance from the front desk for an issue in our room was almost instantaneous. Bugs were almost non existent.
The weak points
The shows were not enjoyable, bad sound & not very enthusiastic dancers. The drinks (only at the Black & White bar) were watered down, both the pop and the liquor. The Beach was eroded and the water brown.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023