Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
3.943.943.943.943.94
3.94 based on 493 reviews
#28 of 133 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (209)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Sandos

, Mission, BC
2023-01-30
The hotel grounds are beautiful. Well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was subpar. Nightlife mediocre. Definitely a family resort. Mexican night was fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff are great. The wildlife on the grounds make the resort a wonderful place to stay. The entertainers at .ain't pool are fun. Smoothie bar at pool a nice touch.
The weak points
The food is not great. Cold. No flavor. Need more options at snack bars. The smell of sewer in some parts of resort is concerning.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks are worn in buffet area. Definitely not needed.
Certified

Great Resort

, Brampton, ON
2022-12-21
Really good for a family with young kids [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Kids club, food, beach
The weak points
Check in and check out, TV
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good
Certified

Beautiful

, Battleford, SK
2022-12-07
Overall a great experience, would definitely go back. Very family friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy beds, lots of wildlife, nice pools.
The weak points
Check in staff is very minimal and takes a long time to check in.
Certified

Sandos family vacation

, Thornhill, ON
2022-07-19
Our overall experience was favourable. The kids enjoyed the water park. The food in the Al a cart restaurants were good although the Mexican restaurant was not our favourite. The first few days there was a lot of seaweed, fortunately it cleared up for the rest of our stay. Getting into the ocean was rocky and once the seaweed cleared we could better see a path to carefully venture into the ocean with water shoes. Once in the water was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The facility is lovely, greenery, variety of animals and the steps that were taken to make it an eco friendly environment. The facility was clean. despite fallen fruits from some of the trees on the walk ways were kept clean.
The weak points
It took 1-11/2 hr to be checked in with only one staff member processing. Not enough dishes available at the buffet at meal time. No spoons available at the cereal or yogurt station available only upon request.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good that masks required in buffet but adherence was Inconsistent. There should be a separate serving utensil for each dish in the buffet and there was not. Good that Tables were sanitized between users.
Certified

Parfait avec des enfants

, Québec, QC
2022-05-02
Le site est beau, beaucoup de choses à voir et d'activités sur le site . Beaucoup de nature, d'animaux (coatis singes araignées, pan), mini ferme, baignade dans la cenote et la riviera, la piste cyclable et sentier de ruines maya. On a fait des activités variées même sans avoir à acheter d'excursion. Il y a des piscines tranquilles et d'autres avec animation selon les goûts. Les glissades d'eau sont vraiment géniales et il y en a pour tous les âges, même pour les adultes et elles sont vaiment le fun! Les restaus et buffet sont ok. Je conseille le Mexicain. Seule déception, la plage vraiment erodée, énormément d'algues et des grosses roches dans l'eau donc peu invitant à se baigner. Mais le reste compense et on a beaucoup aimé l'endroit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Activités variées, nature, glissades d'eau
The weak points
Plage
Certified

Nice

, Québec, QC
2022-05-02
My wife and I were pretty disappointed on our first day. We had waited in line for our check-in for more than an hour only to discover that our bracelets would not open our room doors. At the lobby, we were told that we had to wait in line again. Thankfully, two employees, Esmeralda at the concierge service and Eduardo at the front desk, were very helpful in speeding up this process. The pools and the waterpark are beautiful, but the beach is a mess, with smelly algae everywhere. The food was hit and miss. In all, it was a nice experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Family Trip

, Pincher Creek, AB
2022-04-24
The hotel staff work very hard, however the resort was short staffed. Service was very slow, often waiting for drinks and sometimes never got them. Our Son is dairy and gluten free and the resort could not guarantee this, he ended up being on medication the entire trip. We also requested a room/bed upgrade and it never happened. The manager called our room the last day we were there to try to make things right and told us he would put a bottle of tequila in our room... that also never happened. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-01-19
The resort in general is great. So much free activities that u don't really need to go out for excursions and entertainments. The Resort has everything: nature activities, educational free tours, 6 beautiful cenotes, Mayan historical sites, snorkeling, water park, beach, kayak, romantic boat, all kinds of sports, fantastic unlimited ala carte restaurants, you name it they have everything. We enjoyed all they have to offer. Great vacation for all members of the family, young or old folks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amenities, Food, excellent services, great facilities
The weak points
Basic rooms are unpleasant. Old linen, towels, equipments, etc..Smelly too. Need to book for upgrade room to next level or more.
Certified

This place is paradise

, Surrey, BC
2021-11-15
We recently returned from a lovely 7 day stay in the Eco Family section in a superior room. We had a king bed and bunk bed, in a recently renovated room. We are 2 parents and 2 kids (9 and 12). The kids loved the animals all over the resort including coatis, deer, monkeys, 2 donkeys, bunnies, etc. We enjoyed the various pools and the waterpark. We barely left the resort because there was so much to do - swim in the cenote, Jade river tour, etc. The beach is rocky, we just wore water shoes. The wifi was spotty in different areas of the resort. I didn't enjoy hearing the DJ music loudly playing from far away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great pools, the a la carte restaurants were excellents (especially the teppanyaki, brazilian, and Los Lirios. The room was perfect. The staff all over the resort were very friendly. We enjoyed the fire show and Descendants, the rest were ok.
The weak points
The buffet food wasn't appealing, although we always found something to eat. My daughter was bored at the kids club, maybe too old at 9. The water slides were in poor repair (sagging stair treads). Check in took 1.5 hours on a Friday evening.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff was mostly wearing masks. Mask wearing was encouraged indoors for guests, people were asked to put one on at the buffet and at bars. But we were still serving ourselves at the buffet, sharing utensils. Beach/pool chairs did not have any spacing.
Certified

Amazing Trip

, Leduc, AB
2020-12-12
The resort is such a beautiful place. You can see many workers working around the grounds to keep it looking clean and well kept. the only downsides were that the room smelled like mold and there was some mold in out bathroom but if we left the bathroom door closed the room didnt smell as bad. the food was amazing in the restaurants however the buffet was not the greatest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
entertainment crew was amazing and loved to chat with the guests to get to know them. my fav place to eat was the Italian restaurant. cleaning staff was awesome as well as the drink services.
The weak points
Dinner Buffet had not so great food. rooms smelled like mold.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
masks are warn by all the staff, guests have to wear them while inside buildings, all tables are sanitized after each use. the reception has class between you and them.
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Monks Head, NS
2020-03-17
Myself, my husband and my parents stayed at this resort. Lots of eco tours that are included with your stay. The bellboys were very helpful with getting us to the restaurant that is furthest away from the main lobby (my Dad has mobility issues) by taking us on the golf cart.
We stayed in the adults only section. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, helpful staff. The landscape of the resort is well kept. Lots of activities to do that are included in the stay.
The weak points
The beach is rocky but this is the only weak point to this resort.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Dawn, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Fabulous family resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-18
We had a terrific time at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort! We stayed for 7 days but felt that we were not ready to leave and would do 10 days next time. Lots to do on the resort but everything is still very walk able. We visited Sandos Playacar as well for the day, beautiful beach bu the resort was huge and seemed that there would be a awful lot more walking than Carocol. We also loved the amount of jungle on the Carocol property. It provided for a secluded feeling and also provided reprieve from the sun when needed.
The facilities were all very clean and the kids club was top notch!! We loved all the wildlife as well. The monkeys and peacocks were favourites for sure.
My only recommendation would be to consider carefully where you put the designated smoking areas. While the people who smoked were very consider for the most part to smoke in the designated areas, the one located by the main pool near the kids section was located beach side and the breeze off the water placed the smoke directly across the kids pool.
Other than that we loved our vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Toni, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Great Family Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-10
We all enjoyed the wildlife and vegetation on the property. There were lots of activities for the kids. The waterpark was fun for the kids.

The rooms were clean and staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The kids loved the animals on the property, especially the monkeys and turtles. The dining rooms were spacious
The weak points
Poolside food would have been nice as in other resorts. The beach was very rocky, disappointing. The quality of the food was just ok.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Dear Guest, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Eco Resort

, Cranbrook, BC
2020-02-01
Got upgraded to a nice room. The pool was under construction even after I emailed the hotel before my trip and they said no construction. Our daughter loved the water slides. We did a snorkel trip from the dive shop and it was really windy. My daughters snorkel was broken and the boat left no where to been seen. It was very scary to say the least. I filed a complaint but never receive anything compensation. The bartenders were great and very friendly. Kids club was fun. The romantic boat ride was nice. It was a really cool resort with lots to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to see and do. Many animals and a cool jungle feel. The shows were awesome. Water slides were fun. They let kids participate in the Fantasy show and my daughter loved it (age9).
The weak points
The water park pool area was under construction and I had emailed the hotel before I came and they said no renovations. The food wasn't that good. No soap in the room. The resort is hard to navigate.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Jeremy, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

A perfect stay

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-22
I could not recommend this resort any more highly. It was the perfect place for the whole family, with something for everyone. It was safe, clean and felt like a home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful wildlife, very clean, wonderful food, superb shows and activities, beautiful, great value.
The weak points
None.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-04-16
Hi Robert, Thanks for having taken the time to share your comments and opinions of your stay with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort. We really appreciate hearing about our Guests experiences and we will be forwarding them to our Management for their review. We look forward to welcoming you back at your earliest convenience. Always at your service! Warren B Web Relations Manager Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort is just OK

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-19
1. Beach: the worst!
Well, we read reviews and most of the travelers were saying, beach is the worst, but we could not imagine how right they were: rocks, huge and small are everywhere. O wait, half of the beach is prohibited to use due to motor boats but I tried it once in the morning (7 am) and o God, no rocks where, so hotel cleaned the part to make sure motor boats are not damaged and left us, people struggling with it...
DON'T GO THERE IF YOU ARE BEACH LOVER (we are and we are never coming back!).

2. FOOD: just average
Buffets were OK.
A la carte: they have no idea how to cook stake or see food, period.
Mexican food was just average
Drinks? Watery everything, beer, tequila, coke, mineral water, etc.

3. STAFF: just OK
Unless you tip them in advance, machine is broken to prepare pina colada, Don Julio Tequila is not available, coffee machine is without coffee, etc.
We do tip staff all the time every time, but this was close to non sense.
Same for the room cleaning/feel in the fridge: despite the tips they barely made the bets, to feel the fridge with new set of beer/soda you had to call the reception DAILY!

4. Elite Club aka Time Share: just terrible
We made a note during the booking, please do not try to sell/give us any Time Share presentations, and yet again, after the check in (oh, by the way, lady at reception tried to sell us "upgrade" for 500 US$ in cash!!! No thank you!) the time share selling lady tried to push to listen for 2 hours presentation, we politely declined, so she literally become aggressive! We had to find the bell boy, our luggage and navigate to our room ourselves!!!

So long story short: we are never coming back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Aqua Park - Multiple Pools for Kids - Kids friendly jungles
The weak points
- Literally, it's impossible to swim in the ocean: ROCKS, rocks are everywhere, does not matter you do have swim shoes or not, IMPOSSIBLE TO ENJOY THE BEACH! - Ocean Water is so dirty and muddy, impossible to enjoy the waves
Certified

Mostly a great time!

, Ayr, ON
2019-12-18
There were a few nuisances that we were aware of prior to travelling; mosquitoes, smells and the rocky beach but we weren't bothered. We had planned to visit Sandos Beach Resort to experience the great beach but were happy enough so didn't bother.

The inconsistent quality of food was annoying (overdone hotdogs, cold nacho cheese, recycled meals) but we always found something to eat. Waiting in line to get into the buffet isn't ideal either. The staff were generally pleasant but not overly friendly. We often were kept waiting at the very busy buffet. We were reluctant to try the a la cartes as our kids are fussy so perhaps there was some better food that we missed out on. We were regularly asked about purchasing massages or braids but they were never rude when we politely declined. Same for the timeshare meeting. They asked and offered us money for a cab ride to the beach resort but were still friendly when we declined.

Overall, the stay was great though.

There were so many shows, pools, activities and kids club options so we were never bored. Our kids loved seeing cats, monkeys, birds, coati, raccoons, pigs and more!

I found the grounds and buildings/bathrooms were regularly cleaned and well maintained. We had no problems with our room. We needed bedding for the trundle bed so called reception and didn't need to wait too long.

I enjoyed a massage at the spa and was given birthday cake and champagne in my room.

We choose this resort for the variety of activities and the eco-aspects. In those areas we were not disappointed. The resort is beautiful and unique. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was clean, our room was great, lots of activities to keep the family busy. Most staff were pleasant. Ice cream machines at several locations! Animals and eco activities. The spa was lovely, including the eucalyptus steam room. Wifi. The cenote.
The weak points
The food at the buffet was repetitive and often poor quality. We often had to wait in line to get into the buffet (10-15 minutes). Part of the waterpark was closed for a few days. Limited food options at certain times.
Certified

Family friendly resort

, Mississauga, ON
2019-12-18
Beautiful resort with lots of activities for the kids and adults. Front desk check person Mary was awesome she upgraded our room to Superior room that helped us a lot with 2 kids. However, food and entertainment were bit disappointing. Would be nice to have music all the time near bar, beach and pool. Most of the time it will be quiet. I am bit disappointed by alcohol quality as well.
Still I would vote 4 because of nature experience and house keeping service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club is awesome. Front desk was helpful. House keeping is good.
The weak points
Music, food and drinks are disappointing.
Certified

Not great, not horrible

, Parkland County, AB
2019-12-14
As a whole, the resort was okay. It was decent enough and the kids had fun. I would not however book it again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment was good. Very kid friendly Family room was good. Environment was nice. Waterpark was nice.
The weak points
Service was hit and miss. Food was mediocre No wow factor Food labels at buffet were not great for anyone with allergies.
Certified

Great time

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-11-17
The rooms were really nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were always beach chairs and plenty of towels. The shows were very good. I liked the water jug in the room just be sure to bring your own bottle to refill if you'd like to carry it with you. There was a lot to do right on the resort. All of the wildlife was really cool as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great room. Good food. Great beach. WiFi was excellent.
The weak points
Reservations at the restaurants would be better. There were two we didn't get to because the wait was too long. Also we got tagged for the Sandos buy-in presentation. Don't do it. They say 90 mins but took 3 hrs. Bathrooms at kids waterpark not good.
Certified

Family vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-15
The resort is well kept and grounds are beautiful. Water park is perfect for the little ones and adults can join in on the fun too. Beach was nice, clean and not too over crowded. Pool side was not over crowded either could always get a shady lounger. The down side is the food. Very repetitive and I even got really sick. Vomiting diarrhea cramps the works! I've recently found out that this resort has had these problems in the past. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

7 days in Paradise!!!!

, Bathurst , NB
2019-05-24
We were extremely EXTREMELY happy with our stay at the Sandos Caracol Eco resort!!!! We went as a family of three and could not have asked for better all around experience. The staff was absolutely unbelievable, the Kids club was a sure bonus and the amenities were all you can want and need. The access to room service, laundry service, night entertainment, sports bar etc. made this trip the best we have ha so far!! We regretted not having sat for the time share presentation as we will seriously be considering same as we will be back again and again !!!! I would be more than happy to speak further to how awesome this place is to anyone who will listen !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Pools -Night Shows -Staff -Animals -Shopping on resort -Literally everything !!
The weak points
- Nothing to really complain about, this place is an 11/10
Certified

Perfect family vacation destination

, Airdrie, AB
2019-04-29
A true all inclusive! So many on site free activities, we did not have to do excursions as there was never a shortage of eco tours included. Food was great, was a large resort, but never felt too busy. You can visit the sister resort just a short cab ride away and enjoy a beautiful beach day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great food, easy access to amenities, great pools with lots of lounging areas. Great variety of food and activities. Room was spacious.
The weak points
Not the nicest beach to swim, bring water shoes as is naturally rocky. Balcony was very small.
Certified

Mexico 2019

, Fort Saint John, BC
2019-04-27
I was traveling with my wife and 7year old daughter. If you have younger children this place is amazing. The three buffet restaurant are decent food very kid friendly the steak & seafood , Brazilian , Mediterranean & Japanese Job restaurants were amazing.The animals running around the resort was awesome my daughter especially loved the monkeys we would have to go to the bridge by the Mexican restaurant every morning to see them. The staff were great especially the lady's at the kids club. I was a little Leary of leaving my daughter by herself in a different country but after meeting the girls all I can say is wow especially Liz we hired her as a nanny for my daughter for a few hours so my wife and I could go to 5th ave. She was absolutely great with her she made my daughter feel comfortable right from the start. Lots to do and see at Sandos. All in all I would give a 4.5 star for this resort. The other half star was lost because of a little hiccup with the cleaning staff the second last morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
If I had to pick a weak point of this resort would be the beach. Very rocky out in the water but still beautiful. I didn't mind it because I didn't have to worry if my daughter was in the water.

Getting away from winter

, Cobourg, ON
2019-03-23
Our overall experience was great. We stayed in the adults only section, approximately 10 minute walk to the Select Club adult only beach. Our ground floor room was roomy enough for 2 with a very firm Kingsize bed. The food was excellent with a variety of buffet and a la carte restaurants, including a vegetarian restaurant on the ocean front. As an Eco resort, obvious care is taken to preserve natural vegetation with lots of shaded walkways and avoid disposable water containers. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Just be aware that there is a membership sales plan that you will be invited to sit through. Though not as high pressure as some “time share” experiences the real time commitment is 2 hours start to finish. There was lots for families to do onsite and would recommend the resort for all ages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

11 days in paradise!

, Cochrane, AB
2019-03-03
I'm a single parent and traveled with my 9 year old daughter Feb. 17-28, 2019. The resort was well maintained and the staff were very kind and accommodating. The upgrade to the Signature Club and room upon check in was fantastic! Our original room type was Super Saver and I'm so happy we received the upgrade to take advantage of the updated room, WI-FI and room service. We stayed in building 23 which was great because it was close to the pool and beach. The resort grounds are huge and it did take a few days to figure out how to maneuver around. The wildlife were fun to watch and a great experience to get to see them in the jungle environment. The beach was nice but rocky so we didn't spend much time in the water. Water shoes are a must! The food was good and no issues with finding something to fill the gap. The Japanese restaurant was good, but not as exciting as I thought it would be. We enjoyed the International buffet, Italian, and steak and seafood restaurant. We really wanted to try the Brazilian restaurant but it was the farthest from our room and kids were only allowed after 8pm. We made the most use of the Tortuga pool that was next to our building but they didn't offer food service so we would have to leave the pool and search out food at another pool or back to the buffet. We did a lot of the activities offered by the resort and some of the nightly shows. The staff do an outstanding job! My daughter already wants to plan another trip back, but I'm not sure I would return only for the fact I like to experience different places. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and well maintained, good food choices, lots of activities
The weak points
Large property, rocky beach, limited food choices for lunch at the pool (hamburgers & hot dogs only)
Certified

Sandos caracol

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-02
Great resort, good food, good fun, clean and well run! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great experience, fun, clean, friendly!
Certified

Sandos Caracol

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-02
Great resort, well run! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort, well run, good food fun activities and shows!
Certified

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

, Leamington, ON
2019-02-20
Rooms were renovated and clean. Lots of trees and shade. Food was fairly good. Resort includes several experiences that you can sign up for. The pool tables, foosball tables and ping pong tables were nice for chilling in the evenings. Concierge were always helpful. The staff in the restaurants, cleaning staff, etc. know very little English but were always pleasant and helpful. The nightly shows were quite good. The Mexican Night was a lot of fun. There was a lot of selection for excursions in the area.

On the negative side, it was intermittently quite stinky. Sometimes when walking along the path to the rooms, it would smell like sewer. Other times it was something else - not sure if it was a jungle smell. The beach smelled like it too. They didn't clean the beach, so maybe it was the washed up seaweed. Going in the water was treacherous because of the rocks. Definitely bring water shoes and be careful.

The kids club leaders were great, however the scheduling was ridiculous. You have to wait until 6pm to sign up for the next day's activities and only 10 kids can sign up for each activity. A family resort should accommodate more than 10 kids for activities. Any child that wants to join, should have access.

I found it annoying that while we were inside the resort, we were getting hassled to buy, buy, buy from the vendors along the street and at the beach and pretty much everywhere else. I was asked for a massage several times a day. I understand getting hassled to buy if we went outside of the resort, but I wasn't expecting that on the inside. They even had people dressed up in Mayan costumes, Mexican costumes, with pretty umbrellas, etc. to get your picture taken with, for a cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Renovated, clean, helpful staff, good evening shows, resort experiences, tables for evening activities in sports area.
The weak points
Stinky, kids club sign up and # limit unrealistic, vendor haggling,
Certified

Another great winter vacation

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-20
This was our second trip as Royal Elite members to Sandos Caracol and we thought we explored lots last year, we still explored areas of the resort that we had not seen the year before. Absolutely enjoyed our time. Our room was in villa 6 overlooking main pool, was enjoyable to watch all at end of day. Food and service was excellent,premium drinks always enjoyable. Love meeting various people on royal elite side from all over the world. Animals all over resort were fun to watch and interact .
We did not go easily into becoming royal elite members last year, but in the long run, we are happy we did. As business owners, our time is precious when we go on holidays and we know exactly what to expect and what we will receive with our membership. Looking forward to exploring the other Sandos resorts and what they have to offer as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service-excellent, surroundings-beautiful, food-delicious,quality of rooms-comfortable. Even if its a bad weather day at beach, take a walk through jungle and you don't even notice the weather.
The weak points
As noted in other review, beach is little rocky and seaweed but is still enjoyable, besides, even a rocky beach is better than -30 C in Canada!

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023